Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Ballsaal
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Junior Suite Rhein
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Suite Les Trois Rois
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Bar
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Brasserie
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Salon du Cigare
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Suite Napoleon
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Bibliothek
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Chez Donati
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Lichthof
Book online
Detailkarte einblenden

Rich in history, young at heart.

The Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois lies at the very heart of the city of Basel. At the exact spot where, in the Middle Ages, the ships docked at the salt tower in order to transport that much sought-after product down the Rhine and out into the wide world. With a history stretching back over three hundred years, our Grand Hotel has one of the richest traditions in Europe. That obligates and inspires us: our guests experience hospitality and exquisite delicacies in a lively setting, which combines natural elegance with luxury. Discover Basel, the tri-border area and the charm of our region. Allow yourself to be pampered – to make your stay in our small cosmopolitan city unforgettable.

Geschichte Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

History since 1681

There are countless tales about Les Trois Rois hotel. Napoleon, Queen Elisabeth II, Pablo Picasso, Thomas Mann and many others have enjoyed the exclusive hospitality of the Basel grand hotel. And as long as the three kings have a place high up on the facade, many more famous names will have an entry the guestbook of Les Trois Rois. First mention: The first official record of the “Three Kings” or “At the Three Kings” at Blumenrain 8 in Basel dates back to 1681. The hostelry is located close to the main water and overland trade and travel routes directly at Schifflände. A new era: Des Trois Rois opens on 16 February 1844 and a number of different owners run this world famous hotel. In 1936, a new era begins: the owners appoint directors and are no longer personally responsible for the running of the hotel. The hotel undergoes many partial renovations. In 1976, Count Guy de Boisrouvraye’s company takes over Des Trois Rois and in 2000 his daughter sells it to the Richemond Group. Royal name: Three kings is a popular name for inns and taverns located near trade routes. It is a reference to the three wise men from the Orient: Caspar, Melchior and Balthasar, also known as the Three Kings. A rich history: The hotel is a hostelry for the nobility. The landed gentry and aristocracy all meet at the Three Kings. The Basel aristocracy holds its family events at the hotel and the most important state receptions are also held there. Crowned heads, diplomats, traders and leading personalities from the worlds of science and culture all lodge at the Three Kings. Over the centuries, the owners of the hostelry add various buildings, for the most part former homes of noblemen. In 1841 and 1842, the wealthy master tailor Johann Jakob Senn acquires the estate. Senn has the buildings torn down and has a hotel built according to the plans of Basel architect Amadeus Merian. Its façade and perimeter still define the building today. Comprehensive renovation: In 2004, entrepreneur Dr. h.c. Thomas Straumann acquires the historical hotel. He has it renovated back to the period around 1844 according to national heritage criteria. At the same time the hotel is also fitted with a luxury infrastructure to respond to the needs of the most exacting guest – as befits one of Switzerland’s leading hotels. On 20 March 2006, Les Trois Rois, the hotel with the richest tradition in Basel, opens its doors to the public once again.

General Manager Reto Kocher
  • Host
  • General Manager Reto Kocher
  • Hotel type
  • City Hotel, Rhine, Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl, Banquets & Conferences, Basel World, Art Basel
  • Hotel facilities
  • 101 rooms, free WLAN and Minibar, 3 restaurants: Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl (3 Stars Michelin /19 GaultMillau-Points), Brasserie, Chez Donati, Bar (Bar of the Year 2015), Banquet and seminar rooms
  • Hotel classification
  • Price range
  • > CHF 200 / EUR 192
  • Open
  • all year
View all Hotels

Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Ballsaal
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Junior Suite Rhein
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Suite Les Trois Rois
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Bar
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Brasserie
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Salon du Cigare
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Suite Napoleon
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Bibliothek
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Chez Donati
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Lichthof
Online buchen
Detailkarte einblenden

Rich in history, young at heart.

Das Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois liegt im Herzen der Stadt Basel. Genau dort, wo im Mittelalter die Schiffe am Salzturm anlegten, um die begehrte Ware über den Rhein in die Welt zu bringen. Mit über drei Jahrhunderten Geschichte gehört unser Grand Hotel zu den traditionsreichsten Häusern Europas. Das verpflichtet und inspiriert: Unsere Gäste erleben Gastfreundschaft und erlesene Gaumenfreuden in einem lebendigen Umfeld, das natürliche Eleganz mit Luxus vereint. Entdecken Sie Basel, das Dreiländereck und den Charme unserer Region. Lassen Sie sich verwöhnen – damit Ihr Aufenthalt in unserer kleinen Weltstadt unvergesslich wird.

Geschichte Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

Geschichte seit 1681

Über das Les Trois Rois gibt es unzählige Geschichten. Napoléon, die Queen Elisabeth II., Pablo Picasso, Thomas Mann und viele mehr haben die exklusive Gastfreundschaft im Basler Grandhotel genossen. Und solange die drei Könige ihren Platz hoch oben an der Fassade innehalten, werden noch viele berühmte Namen im Gästebuch des Les Trois Rois ihren Eintrag finden. Erste Erwähnung: Die Herberge «Drei Könige» oder «Zu den Drei Königen» am Blumenrain 8 in Basel ist 1681 erstmals belegt. Sie steht nahe an den Personen- und Warenverkehrsadern zu Wasser und zu Land, in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zur Schifflände. Königlicher Name: «Drei Könige» ist ein beliebter Name für Gast- und Wirtshäuser in der Nähe von Handelswegen. Dieser erinnert an die Weisen aus dem Morgenland in der Weihnachts-geschichte, im Volksmund «Kaspar, Melchior und Balthasar» genannt – oder eben: «die drei heiligen Könige». Reiche Geschichte: Das Hotel gilt seit jeher als «Herrenherberge». Alles was Rang und Namen hat, traf sich im «Drei Könige». Die Basler Aristokratie hält dort ihre Familienanlässe ab. An der vornehmsten Adresse Basels finden bedeutende Staatsempfänge statt. Gekrönte Häupter, Diplomaten, Kaufleute und herausragende Persönlichkeiten aus Wissenschaft und Kultur logieren im «Drei Könige». Im Lauf der Jahrhunderte vereinigen die Besitzer des Gasthauses verschiedene Gebäude, meist ehemalige Adelssitze.1841/42 ersteht der reiche Schneidermeister Johann Jakob Senn die Liegenschaften. Senn lässt die Häuser niederreissen. Nach den Plänen des Basler Architekten Amadeus Merian lässt Senn das Hotel «Des Trois Rois» bauen. Dessen Fassade und Umrisse sind bis heute bestimmend. Eine neue Epoche: Am 16. Februar 1844 wird das Hotel «Des Trois Rois» eröffnet. Verschiedene Besitzer führen das inzwischen weltberühmte Haus mit grossem Erfolg. 1936 bricht eine neue Ära an: Die Eigentümerstellen Direktoren ein und führen das Hotel nicht mehr selber. Das Haus wird immer wieder teilumgebaut. 1976 übernimmt die Gesellschaft des französischen Comte Guy de Boisrouvraye das «Des Trois Rois». Seine Tochter verkauft es im Jahr 2000 an die Richemond-Gruppe. Umfassende Renovation: 2004 erwirbt der Unternehmer Dr. h.c. Thomas Straumann das geschichtsträchtige Hotel. Nach denkmalpflegerischen Kriterien lässt er es renovieren und in die Zeit um 1844 zurückbauen. Gleichzeitig erhält das Hotel eine mit modernstem Luxus ausgestattete Infrastruktur für anspruchsvolle Gäste, wie es sich für eines der führenden Hotels in der Schweiz gehört. Am 20. März 2006 wird das traditionsreichste Hotel Basels, fortan Les Trois Rois genannt, feierlich wiedereröffnet.

General Manager Reto Kocher
  • Gastgeber
  • General Manager Reto Kocher
  • Hoteltyp
  • Stadthotel, Rhein, Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl, Bankette & Konferenzen, Basler Fasnacht, Basel World, Art Basel
  • Ausstattung
  • 101 Zimmer, WLAN und Minibar kostenfrei, 3 Restaurants: Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl (3 Sterne Michelin /19 GaultMillau-Punkte), Brasserie, Chez Donati, Bar (Bar des Jahres 2015), Bankett- und Seminarräume
  • Hotelklassifikation
  • Preiskategorie
  • > CHF 200 / EUR 192
  • Öffnungszeiten
  • ganzjährig
Übersicht aller Hotels