Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Ballsaal
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Junior Suite Rhein
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Suite Les Trois Rois
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Bar
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Brasserie
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Salon du Cigare
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Suite Napoleon
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Bibliothek
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Chez Donati
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Basel
    Lichthof
Book online
Detailkarte einblenden

Rich in history, young at heart.

The Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois lies at the very heart of the city of Basel. At the exact spot where, in the Middle Ages, the ships docked at the salt tower in order to transport that much sought-after product down the Rhine and out into the wide world. With a history stretching back over three hundred years, our Grand Hotel has one of the richest traditions in Europe. That obligates and inspires us: our guests experience hospitality and exquisite delicacies in a lively setting, which combines natural elegance with luxury. Discover Basel, the tri-border area and the charm of our region. Allow yourself to be pampered – to make your stay in our small cosmopolitan city unforgettable.

Geschichte Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

History since 1681

There are countless tales about Les Trois Rois hotel. Napoleon, Queen Elisabeth II, Pablo Picasso, Thomas Mann and many others have enjoyed the exclusive hospitality of the Basel grand hotel. And as long as the three kings have a place high up on the facade, many more famous names will have an entry the guestbook of Les Trois Rois. First mention: The first official record of the “Three Kings” or “At the Three Kings” at Blumenrain 8 in Basel dates back to 1681. The hostelry is located close to the main water and overland trade and travel routes directly at Schifflände. A new era: Des Trois Rois opens on 16 February 1844 and a number of different owners run this world famous hotel. In 1936, a new era begins: the owners appoint directors and are no longer personally responsible for the running of the hotel. The hotel undergoes many partial renovations. In 1976, Count Guy de Boisrouvraye’s company takes over Des Trois Rois and in 2000 his daughter sells it to the Richemond Group. Royal name: Three kings is a popular name for inns and taverns located near trade routes. It is a reference to the three wise men from the Orient: Caspar, Melchior and Balthasar, also known as the Three Kings. A rich history: The hotel is a hostelry for the nobility. The landed gentry and aristocracy all meet at the Three Kings. The Basel aristocracy holds its family events at the hotel and the most important state receptions are also held there. Crowned heads, diplomats, traders and leading personalities from the worlds of science and culture all lodge at the Three Kings. Over the centuries, the owners of the hostelry add various buildings, for the most part former homes of noblemen. In 1841 and 1842, the wealthy master tailor Johann Jakob Senn acquires the estate. Senn has the buildings torn down and has a hotel built according to the plans of Basel architect Amadeus Merian. Its façade and perimeter still define the building today. Comprehensive renovation: In 2004, entrepreneur Dr. h.c. Thomas Straumann acquires the historical hotel. He has it renovated back to the period around 1844 according to national heritage criteria. At the same time the hotel is also fitted with a luxury infrastructure to respond to the needs of the most exacting guest – as befits one of Switzerland’s leading hotels. On 20 March 2006, Les Trois Rois, the hotel with the richest tradition in Basel, opens its doors to the public once again.

General Manager Reto Kocher
  • Host
  • General Manager Reto Kocher
  • Hotel type
  • City Hotel, Rhine, Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl, Banquets & Conferences, Basel World, Art Basel
  • Hotel facilities
  • 101 rooms, free WLAN and Minibar, 3 restaurants: Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl (3 Stars Michelin /19 GaultMillau-Points), Brasserie, Chez Donati, Bar (Bar of the Year 2015), Banquet and seminar rooms
  • Hotel classification
  • Price range
  • > CHF 200 / EUR 192
  • Open
  • all year
View all Hotels

Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Bâle
    Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Bâle
    Ballsaal
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Bâle
    Junior Suite Rhein
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Bâle
    Suite Les Trois Rois
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Bâle
    Bar
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Bâle
    Brasserie
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Bâle
    Salon du Cigare
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Bâle
    Suite Napoleon
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Bâle
    Bibliothek
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Bâle
    Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Bâle
    Chez Donati
  • Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, Bâle
    Lichthof
Réservez en ligne
Detailkarte einblenden

Rich in history, young at heart.

Le Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois est situé au cœur de la ville de Bâle, là où les bateaux accostaient autrefois à la Tour de sel pour charger cette précieuse marchandise et la livrer par le Rhin au-delà les frontières. La tradition du Grand Hotel est une des plus riches d’Europe, avec une histoire remontant à plus de trois cents ans. C’est à la fois un engagement et une inspiration, qui se manifestent dans l’accueil à nos hôtes dans la gastronomie que nous leur offrons et dans l’aménagement des chambres, qui allient luxe et élégance naturelle. Découvrez Bâle et le charme de notre région où se rencontrent trois pays. Nous nous chargeons de votre bien-être et feront tout pour rendre votre séjour inoubliable dans notre petite métropole.

Histoire Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

Histoire depuis 1681

II existe d'innombrables histoires sur l’Hôtel Les Trois Rois. Napoléon, Ia reine Elisabeth II, Pablo Picasso, Thomas Mann et bien d'autres célébrités ont apprécié l’hospitalité exclusive du grand hôtel bâlois. Aussi longtemps que les trois rois garderont leur place en haut de Ia façade, de nombreux noms prestigieux viendront s'ajouter dans le livre d'hôtes de l’Hôtel Les Trois Rois. Première mention : L’existence de l’auberge «Drei Könige» ou «Zu den Drei Königen» au Blumenrain 8 à Bâle est mentionnée pour la première fois en 1681. Elle est proche des voies de transport de personnes et de marchandises, sur terre ou sur l’eau, dans le voisinage immédiat du Schifflände. Un nom royal : «Drei Könige» – qui signifie «Trois rois» – est un nom très répandu parmi les maisons d’hôtes et les auberges jalon- nant les routes du commerce. Il évoque les mages de la Nativité venus d’Orient, dénommés «Gaspard, Melchior et Balthazar» dans le langage populaire, ou bien sûr: «les trois Rois Mages». Une riche histoire : Depuis toujours auberge noble, le «Drei Könige» accueille toutes les personnes portant rang ou particule, l’aristocratie bâloise y organise ses fêtes de famille et l’Etat ses réceptions officielles. Têtes couronnées, diplomates, commerçants, personnalités éminentes des sciences et de la culture se retrouvent à l’enseigne «Drei Könige». Au cours des siècles, les propriétaires de l’auberge ont annexé différents bâtiments, souvent d’anciennes résidences d’aristocrates. En 1841/1842, le riche maître tailleur Johann Jakob Senn fait l’acquisition des bâtiments. Il les fait raser, puis construit l’Hôtel «Des Trois Rois» selon les plans de l’architecte bâlois Amadeus Merian. La façade du bâtiment et sa silhouette sont celles que nous connaissons aujourd’hui. Une nouvelle époque : Le 16 février 1844, l’Hôtel «Des Trois Rois» ouvre ses portes. Aux mains de différents propriétaires successifs, il devient célèbre dans le monde entier. En 1936, la direction de l’hôtel est confiée à des personnes ex- ternes. Le bâtiment fait l’objet de plusieurs rénovations partielles. En 1976, la société du comte français Guy de Boisrouvraye reprend l’Hôtel «Des Trois Rois». Sa fille le revend en 2000 au groupe Richemond. Une rénovation complète : En 2004, l’entrepreneur Dr. h.c. Thomas Straumann achète cet hôtel historique. Il le fait rénover en respectant la protection du patrimoine et le restaure de manière à lui restituer sa splendeur de 1844. Il équipe l’hôtel d’une infrastructure luxueuse ultramoderne, répondant aux standards des meilleurs hôtels suisses. Le 20 mars 2006, cet hôtel bâlois riche en traditions ouvre à nouveau ses portes dans une ambiance festive, toujours sous le nom «Les Trois Rois».

General Manager Tanja Wegmann
  • Hôte
  • General Manager Tanja Wegmann
  • Type d'Hôtel
  • City Hotel, Rhin, Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl, Banquets & Conférences, Basel World, Art Basel
  • Équipements de l'hôtel
  • 101 chambres, WLAN et Minibar gratuit, 3 Restaurants: Cheval Blanc by Peter Knogl (3 étoiles Michelin / 19 points GaultMillau), Brasserie, Chez Donati, Bar (Bar de l'année 2015), Banquets et séminaires
  • Classification
  • Catégorie des Prix
  • > CHF 200 / EUR 192
  • Horaires d'ouverture
  • toute l'année
Tous les hôtels