Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1883 | 7502 Bever - St. Moritz (GR)

Hotel Chesa Salis

Vacation in a jewel more than 420 years old
The Chesa Salis is located in Bever, a village in the Upper Engadine, where time seems to have stood still for a hundred years.
Discover more
The Chesa Salis is located in Bever, a village in the Upper Engadine, where time seems to have stood still for a hundred years.

The bed and breakfast is an insider tip, embedded in the old village center, surrounded by spacious gardens and a 360 degree view of the surrounding mountains. Whether you are planning a break in the mountains or would like to take part in one of the many leisure activities, a visit with us will make your stay in the Engadine an unforgettable experience. For all adventurous, we offer rides in the Upper Engadine in collaboration with the Engadin River Ranch. If you want to combine that with relaxation, we are the right place for you. For this we have various riding & yoga retreats on offer, where you can discover the beautiful Engadine on horseback and make a deeper connection with yourself on the yoga mat.

Location

In the country, In the mountains

Opening Hours

June to October, December to April

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Active/sport, Park/garden, Icomos Award

History

The Chesa Salis was built as an Engadine farm house in the late 16th century. It originally consisted of two buildings, the residence and the stable with hayloft. The owners were the well-to-do Moeli family, who had emigrated to Bergamo but spent their summers in Bever. In 1877, Rudolf von Salis-Muralt, son of an important Engadine and Bregaglia family, came into possession of the house.
read more

Six years later, Rudolf von Salis had the prominent Engadine architect Nicolaus Hartmann Sr (1838-1903) remodel the farm house into a splendid residence. Hartmann succeeded in combining the two buildings, aptly joining characteristic Engadine architecture with the Historicism then in fashion. He subdivided the façade by framing the windows and doors with house sayings and sgraffiti, creating an effect akin to ashlar masonry. He made skillful use of wrought iron and added wooden balconies with 'Swiss chalet' style decorations to the south elevation. Inside he created rooms and apartments with painted or fine Arolla pine paneling and stucco ceilings; each room had its own distinct design. In 1982, the house was converted into a comfortable hotel with 18 guest rooms. The former living rooms on the main floor (the Von Salis Stube and the Arven Stüvetta) became lounges, the restaurant and kitchen were set up in the former barn. Since 2003, the new owners have continued to renovate the hotel based on a carefully thought-out concept in line with a traditional Engadine style. The old floors, walls and ceilings and the historic furniture have been skillfully combined with new furnishings made of local Arolla pine. The Chesa Salis in Bever has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2006.

Gastronomy

1 | 2

Gastronomy

The respectful treatment of the environment and nature is at the heart of our philosophy. Therefore, as much as possible is produced in our restaurant Salis itself. Our ingredients are sourced either from our own vegetable garden or from local farms and certified suppliers who meet our high quality standards. The daily changing menu is designed by our chef Jachen Clavuot with a lot of love and creativity.

Awards & Memberships

award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 2015
member-swiss_lodge-gold
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1883 | 7502 Bever - St. Moritz (GR)

Hotel Chesa Salis

Ferien in einem über 420 Jahre alten Juwel
Die Chesa Salis befindet sich in Bever, einem Dorf im Oberengadin, wo die Zeit seit hundert Jahren stillgestanden zu sein scheint.
Mehr entdecken
Die Chesa Salis befindet sich in Bever, einem Dorf im Oberengadin, wo die Zeit seit hundert Jahren stillgestanden zu sein scheint.
Eingebettet in dem alten Dorfkern und umgeben von einer grosszügigen Gartenanlage, besticht das Haus mit seiner historischen Eleganz und der einzigartigen Architektur. Alle Zimmer sind individuell gestaltet und unser Restaurant verwöhnt Sie am Abend mit kulinarischen und einheimischen Spezialitäten.Ein Geheimtipp für alle die eine persönliche und intime Atmosphäre suchen und die Nähe zur Natur lieben.

Lage

Auf dem Land, In den Bergen

Öffnungszeiten

Juni bis Oktober, Dezember bis April

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Park/Garten, Icomos Auszeichnung

Geschichte

Die Chesa Salis wurde im späten 16. Jahrhundert als Engadiner Bauernhaus erbaut. Ursprünglich bestand sie aus zwei Gebäuden, dem Wohnhaus und dem Stall mit Heuboden. Besitzer war die wohlhabende Familie Moeli, die nach Bergamo emigriert war und in Bever ihre Sommerfrische verbrachte. 1877 ging das Haus an Rudolf von Salis-Muralt, Sprössling einer bedeutenden Familie im Engadin und im Bergell.
weiterlesen
Sechs Jahre danach beauftragte Rudolf von Salis den im Engadin bekannten Architekten Nicolaus Hartmann senior (1838-1903) mit dem Umbau des Bauernhauses in ein herrschaftliches Wohnhaus. Hartmann verstand es, die beiden Gebäude zusammenzuschliessen und die Gestaltung der charakteristischen Engadiner Architektur mit den damals vorherrschenden historischen Stilströmungen geschickt zu vereinen. Die Fassaden gliederte er mit einer Fülle von Haussprüchen und Sgraffiti, welche Fenster und Türbogen umrahmen und ein Quadermauerwerk vortäuschen. Viel Sorgfalt verwendete er auf die Schmiede eisenarbeiten und die südseitig angefügten Holzloggien mit Verzierungen im Schweizer Holzstil. Im Innern schuf er Zimmer und Appartements mit bemalten oder mit feinem Arvenholz getäferten Wänden sowie mit stuckverzierten Decken; jedes Zimmer besass eine individuelle Gestaltung. Im Jahr 1982 wurde das Wohnhaus zu einem gemütlichen Hotel mit 18 Gästezimmern umgebaut. Die ehemaligen Stuben im Erdgeschoss (die Von-Salis-Stube und die Arven-Stüvetta) dienen seither als Aufenthaltsräume. Seit 2003 wird das Haus durch die neuen Besitzer nach einem sorgfältig erarbeiteten Konzept im Sinne der Engadiner Wohntradition kontinuierlich erneuert. Dabei werden alte Böden, Wände und Decken sowie historisches Mobiliar gekonnt mit neuen Bauteilen in einheimischem Arvenholz aufeinander abgestimmt. Seit 2006 ist das Hotel Chesa Salis in Bever Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels.

Gastronomie

1 | 2

Gastronomie

Der respektvolle Umgang mit Umwelt und Natur steht im Zentrum der Philosophie. Daher wird in unserem Restaurant Salis so viel wie möglich selber hergestellt. Unsere Zutaten beziehen wir hierbei entweder über unseren hauseigenen Gemüsegarten oder über lokale Betriebe und zertifizierte Lieferanten, die unseren hohen Qualitätsanspruch gerecht werden. Das täglich wechselnde Menu wird von unserem Chefkoch Jachen Clavuot mit viel Liebe und Kreativität gestaltet.

Auszeichnungen & Mitgliedschaften

award-icomos-gold
Historisches Hotel des Jahres 2015
member-swiss_lodge-gold
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall