Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1584 | 6370 Stans (NW)

Culinarium Alpinum

In the former Capuchin monastery you will experience and enjoy highlights of regional alpine cuisine.
Here in the former Capuchin monastery, the focus is on the culinary heritage of the Alps. In 2020 the CULINARIUM ALPINUM was opened after a gentle renovation. Guests can expect a hostel with 14 simple but stylish rooms with high-quality box-spring beds and bathrooms with showers.
Discover more
Here in the former Capuchin monastery, the focus is on the culinary heritage of the Alps. In 2020 the CULINARIUM ALPINUM was opened after a gentle renovation. Guests can expect a hostel with 14 simple but stylish rooms with high-quality box-spring beds and bathrooms with showers.

In the former refectory, today's restaurant, the regional credibility is in the foreground and authentic and genuine regional products from Central Switzerland are used, preferably from organic farming, enhanced with products from the culinary Alpine region. Other attractions are the Alpsbrinz cellar, the monastery store with regional products and the "Edible Landscape". Here visitors discover 250 old and new varieties of fruit and berries. Snacking is encouraged!

Location

In the city

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly, Art & culture,

Host

Peter Durrer La gastronomie et l'hébergement fonctionnent sous sa direction depuis l'ouverture en septembre 2020. Cet hôtelier expérimenté a déjà pris en charge le 1er janvier 2020 la direction du projet et la responsabilité de l'ouverture du Culinarium Alpinum de la planification et de la mise en œuvre de la gastronomie et de l'hébergement pour la fondation KEDA.
1 | 5

History

The Capuchin monastery was donated by Melchior Lussi (1529-1606), a landowner and knight from Nidwalden. At the time of the Counter-Reformation, Lussi, as an emissary of the Catholic towns, called the Capuchins to the country. In 1584, they moved into the monastery on the Mürg in Stans. The humble friars in their brown robes were not very welcome at first, but in time they were accepted and in 1683 the monastery church was built.
read more

100 years later the Capuchins opened a Latin school, which remained closed for a few years because of the "French invasion" of 1798. The "conversion" of the church by Napoleon's troops also occurred during this period: the church was used as a stable. In 1895, right next to the monastery, the College of St. Fidelis was founded, which was run by the Capuchins until 1988. In the nineteenth century, the first total renovation and expansion of the monastery took place. Therefore, the monastery has two attractive courtyards and a two-part cloister. In 2004, the monastery was dissolved and the last friars left their refuge; the monastery passed to the canton of Nidwalden. After a long period of vacancy and an unsuccessful conversion, the canton approved the innovation concept of the KEDA Foundation, Culinary Heritage of the Alps. A competence center for alpine culinary arts was to be created here. From 2018, under the direction of the Rothen architectural office from Winterthur, a gentle renovation with conversion was undertaken. The requirements of the preservation of historical monuments were strictly observed. Wooden and stone floors were left as far as possible, and the facades also remained unchanged. Corrections were only made to the interior. The refectory was turned into a restaurant, the library into a banqueting hall with a garden room, and some of the monastery cells into hostel rooms. Likewise, some rooms were converted into seminar areas. Former school rooms became a course kitchen for training courses and a terrace was created in front of the house. In the cellar, in addition to an attractive monastery store, a cheese cellar was set up, which from now on, as the home of the Alpsbrinz, should contribute to saving this rare cheese. From 2021, the "Edible Landscape" was created in the former monastery garden, which is home to many herbs and over 250 varieties of fruit and berries. The snack garden with rarities, new and old varieties, is intended to contribute to biodiversity and is deliberately designed as an experience garden.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 2

Rooms

The CULINARIUM ALPINUM has 14 stylishly renovated hotel rooms, all with views of the Buochserhorn and edible landscape. All rooms have a private bathroom with shower and a box spring bed. They have wooden floors and are simply furnished.

Gastronomy

At the CULINARIUM ALPINUM the focus is on the culinary heritage of the Alps. In the former refectory, now the restaurant, the regional credibility is in the foreground and it is worked with authentic and genuine regional products from Central Switzerland, preferably from organic farming, enhanced with products Switzerland.

Region

1 | 3

Region

Stans is located in the middle of Central Switzerland at the foot of the Stanserhorn, 15 minutes from Lucerne and Lake Lucerne. Discover mountains and mountain regions such as Engelberg, the Bürgenstock or visit the queen, the Rigi. The Culinarium Alpinum is located on the Way of St. James - make a pilgrimage to the famous pilgrimage site Flüeli Ranft.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Culinarium Alpinum
Mürgstrasse 18, 6370 Stans (NW)

+41 41 619 17 17
info@culinarium-alpinum.ch
culinarium-alpinum.com

Arrival

Motorway connection of the north-south axis A, 60 minutes from Zurich airport, 20 minutes to Lucerne and 40 minutes to Engelberg.

8 minutes' walk to Stans railway station, with connections every 15 minutes to Lucerne and hourly to Engelberg.

Awards & Memberships

award-gault-millau-gold
14 Points
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1584 | 6370 Stans (NW)

Culinarium Alpinum

Im ehemaligen Kapuzinerkloster erleben und geniessen Sie Höhepunkte regionaler Alpenkulinarik.
Hier im ehemaligen Kapuzinerkloster steht das Kulinarische Erbe der Alpen im Vordergrund. 2020 wurde das CULINARIUM ALPINUM nach sanfter Renovation eröffnet. Den Gast erwartet eine Herberge mit 14 schlichten, aber stilvollen Zimmern mit hochwertigen Boxspringbetten und Badezimmer mit Dusche.
Mehr entdecken
Hier im ehemaligen Kapuzinerkloster steht das Kulinarische Erbe der Alpen im Vordergrund. 2020 wurde das CULINARIUM ALPINUM nach sanfter Renovation eröffnet. Den Gast erwartet eine Herberge mit 14 schlichten, aber stilvollen Zimmern mit hochwertigen Boxspringbetten und Badezimmer mit Dusche.
Im ehemaligen Refektorium, dem heutigen Restaurant steht die regionale Glaubwürdigkeit im Vordergrund und es wird mit authentischen und unverfälschten regionalen Produkten aus der Innerschweiz gearbeitet, vorzugsweise aus dem biologischen Anbau, erweitert mit Produkten aus dem kulinarischen Alpenraum. Weitere Attraktionen sind der Alpsbrinz-Keller, der Klosterladen mit Regionalprodukten und die „Essbare Landschaft“. Hier entdecken Besucher 250 alte und neue Sorten Obst und Beeren. Naschen erwünscht!

Lage

In der Stadt

Öffnungszeiten

ganzjährig

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Park/Garten, Familien-/Kinderfreundlich, Kunst & Kultur,

Gastgeber

Peter Durrer Die Gastronomie und Beherbergung läuft unter seiner Leitung seit der Eröffnung im September 2020. Der erfahrene Hotelier hat bereits am 1. Januar 2020 die Projektleitung und Verantwortung für die Eröffnung des Culinarium Alpinum der Planung und Umsetzung der Gastronomie und Beherbergung für die Stiftung KEDA übernommen.
1 | 5

Geschichte

Das Kapuzinerkloster ist eine Schenkung des Nidwaldner Landammanns und Ritter Melchior Lussi (1529-1606). Zur Zeit der Gegenreformation berief Lussi, als Abgesandter der katholischen Orte, die Kapuziner ins Land. Diese bezogen 1584 das Kloster an der Mürg in Stans. Die bescheidenen Brüder in ihren braunen Kutten waren anfänglich nicht sehr willkommen und doch, mit der Zeit kam die Akzeptanz und 1683 wurde die Klosterkirche erbaut.
weiterlesen
100 Jahre später eröffneten die Kapuziner eine Lateinschule, welche wegen des „Franzosenüberfalls“ von 1798 einige Jahre geschlossen blieb. In diese Zeit fällt auch die „Umnutzung“ der Kirche durch die Truppen Napoleons: Die Kirche wurde als Stall genutzt. Gleich neben dem Kloster entstand 1895 das Kollegium St. Fidelis, welches bis 1988 durch die Kapuziner geführt wurde. Im neunzehnten Jahrhundert erfolgte eine erste Totalrenovation und Erweiterung des Klosters. Deshalb verfügt das Kloster über zwei attraktive Innenhöfe und einen zweiteiligen Kreuzgang. 2004 wurde das Kloster aufgelöst und die letzten Brüder verliessen ihr Refugium; das Kloster ging an den Kanton Nidwalden über. Nach längerem Leerstand und einer erfolglosen Umnutzung genehmigte der Kanton das Innovationskonzept der Stiftung KEDA, Kulinarisches Erbe der Alpen. Hier sollte ein Kompetenzzentrum für Alpenkulinarik entstehen. Ab 2018 wurde, unter der Leitung des Architekturbüros Rothen aus Winterthur eine sanfte Renovation mit Umbau vorgenommen. Dabei wurden die Auflagen der Denkmalpflege streng berücksichtigt. Holz- und Steinböden wurden soweit möglich belassen, auch die Fassaden blieben unverändert. Lediglich am Interieur wurden Korrekturen vorgenommen. So entstand aus dem Refektorium ein Restaurant, aus der Bibliothek ein Festsaal mit Gartenzimmer und aus einigen Klosterzellen Herbergszimmer. Ebenso wurden einige Räume zu Seminarbereichen ausgebaut. Aus ehemaligen Schulräumen wurde eine Kursküche für Schulungen und vor dem Haus entstand eine Terrasse. Im Keller wurde neben einem attraktiven Klosterladen auch ein Käsekeller eingerichtet, der fortan als Heimat des Alpsbrinz zur Rettung dieses raren Käses beitragen soll. Ab 2021 entstand im ehemaligen Klostergarten die „Essbare Landschaft», welche viele Kräuter und über 250 Sorten Obst und Beeren beherbergt. Der Naschgarten mit Raritäten, neuen und alten Sorten, soll zur Biodiversität beitragen und ist bewusst als Erlebnisgarten konzipiert.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 2

Zimmer

Das CULINARIUM ALPINUM verfügt über 14 stilvoll renovierte Zimmer in hochwertiger, klösterlicher Einfachheit, alle mit Blick auf das Buochserhorn und die Essbare Landschaft. Alle Zimmer verfügen über ein eigenes Badezimmer mit Dusche, ein Boxspringbett und Holzfussboden.

Gastronomie

Im CULINARIUM ALPINUM steht das Kulinarische Erbe der Alpen im Vordergrund. Im ehemaligen Refektorium, dem heutigen Restaurant steht die regionale Glaubwürdigkeit im Vordergrund und es wird mit authentischen und unverfälschten regionalen Produkten aus der Innerschweiz gearbeitet, vorzugsweise aus dem biologischen Anbau, erweitert mit Produkten Schweiz.

Region

1 | 3

Region

Stans liegt mitten in der Zentralschweiz am Fusse des Stanserhorn, 15 Minuten von Luzern und dem Vierwaldstättersee. Entdecken Sie Berge und Bergregionen wie Engelberg, den Bürgenstock oder besuchen Sie die Königin, die Rigi. Das Culinarium Alpinum liegt am Jakobsweg – pilgern Sie zur bekannten Pilgerstätte Flüeli Ranft.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Culinarium Alpinum
Mürgstrasse 18, 6370 Stans (NW)

+41 41 619 17 17
info@culinarium-alpinum.ch
culinarium-alpinum.com

Anreise

Autobahnanschluss der Nord-Süd Achse A, 60 Minuten vom Zürich Flughafen, 20 Minuten nach Luzern und 40 Minuten nach Engelberg.

8 Gehminuten zum Bahnhof Stans, mit Anschluss im 15 Minuten Takt nach Luzern und stündlich nach Engelberg.

Auszeichnungen & Mitgliedschaften

award-gault-millau-gold
14 Punkte
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall