Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1852 | 8488 Turbenthal (ZH)

Gasthof Gyrenbad

Pure enjoyment in the local recreational area of Tösstal.
Located in the local recreational area of Tösstal, the traditional Gasthof Gyrenbad welcomes its guests with regional and modern cuisine, a unique view of the Glarner Alps, a beautiful garden and quiet and comfortable hotel rooms.
Discover more
Located in the local recreational area of Tösstal, the traditional Gasthof Gyrenbad welcomes its guests with regional and modern cuisine, a unique view of the Glarner Alps, a beautiful garden and quiet and comfortable hotel rooms.

The Gasthof Gyrenbad, which has existed since the 17th century, is one of the most original and beautiful country inns in Switzerland, situated in an idyllic location above Turbenthal in the Tösstal recreational area. Stylish, bright dining rooms and young, regional cuisine invite you to enjoy the historic ambience. Quiet and comfortable single and double rooms guarantee relaxing days and nights.

Location

In the country

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Park/garden, Icomos Award

Host

Gasthof Gyrenbad is managed by Polykarpos Papadopoulos and his team. Born in Cologne, he has been running the Gasthof Gyrenbad for two years. As a passionate gastronome, he brings a lot of experience with him, whether on a luxury cruise ship, stations in St. Moritz, Davos and Lenzerheide or a 5-star hotel in Zurich.

History

In the course of the 15th century, people began to use this quiet place in the Zurich Oberland for bathing; the Gyrenbad was first mentioned in 1464. The oldest bathing regulations date from 1602. At that time, bourgeois society from the city was among the best customers. In the 1620s, the owner at the time, Ulrich Bosshard, built what is now the main house as a half-timbered building, but even then the property consisted of several buildings.
read more

In 1777, the Zurich pastor Johann Rudolf Schinz (1745-1790) described 54 bathing boxes for 84 people in the Gyrenbad. In the early 19th century, the bath was given a new look for tourists: In 1826 the west wing was built with guest rooms and a bath house for water and whey cures, which were offered until 1968. In 1844, the access road to the baths was redesigned by the canton, and at the same time the Gyrenbad landlord built what is now the east wing with the viewing terrace in front. This was given a large dining room as well as common rooms, such as the elegant ladies’ room, which was preserved in its original condition, and guest rooms on the upper floor. The garden parterre led to a park-like area on the side, which breathed a touch of romance with its exotic trees and invited to stroll. The furniture in the Gyrenbad testifies to this lively spirit of the Belle Epoque, as suggested to potential guests in the brochures of the time. After the end of bathing operations, the Kunz family worked out a comprehensive renovation concept, which has been implemented in stages since 1990 with the support of monument preservation. The guest room, dining room and ladies’ salon, terrace and park garden have been preserved in their traditional form, historical furniture bears witness to a past of hospitality and last but not least the external, familiar face of the Gyrenbad has been preserved even after the comprehensive overall renovation. In 1997, the Gasthof Gyrenbad received the Historical Hotel of the Year award from Icomos Switzerland, which was presented for the first time. The former Kurhaus has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2005.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 2

Rooms

Seven quiet and comfortable single and double rooms guarantee relaxing moments and nights in a unique, historical ambience.
1 | 4

Gastronomy

Guests can expect passionate, modern, regional and seasonal gastronomy at the Gasthof Gyrenbad. The stylish dining rooms and spacious terrace invite you to enjoy the unique view of the Glarner Alps and the beautiful garden.

Region

Region

Steep Nagelfluh mountan faces with towering Gubeln, deeply incised, almost untouched side ravines with rushing waterfalls and wild forests make the Tösstal valley (or the Tössbergland) a recreational area in the Zurich Oberland that is worth protecting.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Gasthof Gyrenbad
Girenbad 133, 8488 Turbenthal (ZH)

+41 52 385 15 66
info@gyrenbad.ch
www.gyrenbad.ch

Arrival

The Gasthof Gyrenbad is easy to reach by car. Free parking is available. From Elgg, the Gasthof Gyrenbad can also be reached by post bus on weekends and public holidays. Use line 682 from Elgg.

Awards

award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 1997
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1852 | 8488 Turbenthal (ZH)

Gasthof Gyrenbad

Geniessen hinter historischen Mauern.
Mitten im Naherholungsgebiet Tösstal gelegen empfängt der traditionsreiche Gasthof Gyrenbad die Gäste mit einer regionalen und modernen Küche, einem einmaligen Ausblick auf die Glarner Alpen, einem traumhaften Garten und ruhigen und komfortablen Hotelzimmer.
Mehr entdecken
Mitten im Naherholungsgebiet Tösstal gelegen empfängt der traditionsreiche Gasthof Gyrenbad die Gäste mit einer regionalen und modernen Küche, einem einmaligen Ausblick auf die Glarner Alpen, einem traumhaften Garten und ruhigen und komfortablen Hotelzimmer.
Der seit dem 17. Jahrhundert bekannte Gasthof Gyrenbad gehört zu den ursprünglichsten und schönsten Landgasthöfen der Schweiz und liegt an idyllischer Lage oberhalb von Turbenthal im Naherholungsgebiet Tösstal. Stilvolle, helle Gaststuben und eine junge, regionale Küche laden zum Genuss in historischem Ambiente ein. Ruhige und komfortable Einzel- und Doppelzimmer garantieren erholsame Momente und Nächte.

Lage

Auf dem Land

Klassifikation

3 Sterne

Öffnungszeiten

ganzjährig

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Park/Garten, Icomos Auszeichnung

Gastgeber

Der Gasthof Gyrenbad wird von Polykarpos Papadopoulos und seinem Team geführt. Der gebürtige Kölner leitet den Gasthof Gyrenbad seit zwei Jahren. Als leidenschaftlicher Gastronom bringt er sehr viel Erfahrung mit, ob auf einem Luxus-Kreuzfahrtschiff, Stationen in St. Moritz, Davos und Lenzerheide oder einem 5*-Hotel in Zürich.

Geschichte

Im Laufe des 15. Jahrhunderts begann der Badebetrieb an diesem ruhigen Ort im Zürcher Oberland, 1464 wird das ¬Gyrenbad erstmals genannt. Die älteste Badeordnung datiert aus dem Jahr 1602. Zu den besten Kunden zählte damals die bürgerliche Gesellschaft aus der Stadt. In den 1620er Jahren errichtete der damalige Besitzer Ulrich Bosshard das heutige Haupthaus als Fachwerkgebäude, schon damals bestand die Liegenschaft aber aus mehreren Bauten.
weiterlesen
1777 beschreibt der Zürcher Pfarrer Johann Rudolf Schinz (1745-1790) im Gyrenbad 54 Badekästen für 84 Personen. Im frühen 19. Jahrhundert erhielt das Bad einen touristischen Anstrich: 1826 entstand der Westtrakt mit Gästezimmern und Badehaus für Wasser- und Molkenkuren, die bis 1968 angeboten wurden. 1844 wurde die Zufahrt zum Bad durch den Kanton neu angelegt, gleichzeitig liess der Gyrenbad-Wirt den heutigen Osttrakt mit vorgelagerter Aussichtsterrasse aufführen. Dieser erhielt einen grossen Speisesaal sowie Gesellschaftsräume, wie das im originalen Zustand erhaltene elegante Damenzimmer, und im Obergeschoss Gästezimmer. Das Gartenparterre leitete seitlich in eine parkähnliche Anlage über, die mit ihren exotischen Gehölzen einen Hauch von Romantik atmete und zum Flanieren einlud. Die Möbelausstattung im Gyrenbad zeugt von diesem regen Geist der Belle Epoque, wie er dem potenziellen Gast auch in den zeitgenössischen Prospekten suggeriert wurde. Nach dem Ende des Badebetriebes wurde unter der Familie Kunz ein umfassendes Erneuerungskonzept ausgearbeitet, das mit Unterstützung der Denkmalpflege seit 1990 in Etappen Umsetzung fand. Gaststube, Speisesaal und Damensalon, Terrasse und Parkgarten sind in ihrer überlieferten Form erhalten geblieben, historisches Mobiliar zeugt von gastlicher Vergangenheit und nicht zuletzt ist das ¬äus¬sere, vertraute Gesicht des Gyrenbades auch nach der umfassenden Gesamtrenovation erhalten geblieben. 1997 erhielt der Gasthof Gyrenbad von Icomos Schweiz die damals zum ersten Mal verliehene Auszeichnung als Historisches Hotel des Jahres. Seit 2005 ist das ehemalige Kurhaus Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 2

Zimmer

Sieben ruhige und komfortable Einzel- und Doppelzimmer garantieren erholsame Momente und Nächte in einem einzigartigen, historischen Ambiente.
1 | 4

Gastronomie

Im Gasthof Gyrenbad erwartet die Gäste eine leidenschaftliche, moderne, regionale und saisonale Gastronomie. Die stilvollen Gaststuben und die grosszügige Terrasse laden zum Genuss mit einmaligem Ausblick auf die Glarner Alpen und den traumhaften Garten ein.

Region

Region

Steile Nagelfluhwände mit hoch aufgetürmten Gubeln, tief eingeschnittenen, fast unberührten Seitenstobeln mit rauschenden Wasserfällen und wilde Wälder machen das Tösstal (oder das Tössbergland) zu einem schützenswerten Naherholungsgebiet im Zürcher Oberland.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Gasthof Gyrenbad
Girenbad 133, 8488 Turbenthal (ZH)

+41 52 385 15 66
info@gyrenbad.ch
www.gyrenbad.ch

Anreise

Der Gasthof Gyrenbad ist bequem mit dem Auto zu erreiche. Es stehend kostenlose Parkplätze zur Verfügung. Ab Elgg ist der Gasthof Gyrenbad an Wochenenden und Feiertagen auch mit dem Postauto erschlossen. Benutzen Sie die Linie 682 ab Elgg.

Auszeichnungen

award-icomos-gold
Historisches Hotel des Jahres 1997
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall