Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1883 | 3996 Binn (VS)

Hotel Ofenhorn

Historic mountain hotel in the midst of the Binn Valley's park-like landscape, idyllic valley of minerals.
Come with us on a trip back through time to the historic Ofenhorn Hotel in the wild, romantic Binn Valley. The spirit of the Belle Époque, when Swiss hotels first flourished, lingers in the rooms, corridors and restaurant.
Discover more
Come with us on a trip back through time to the historic Ofenhorn Hotel in the wild, romantic Binn Valley. The spirit of the Belle Époque, when Swiss hotels first flourished, lingers in the rooms, corridors and restaurant.

The creaking floors whisper many a forgotten secret. The restaurant offers regional specialties and a wide variety of other choice dishes. The Ofenhorn Hotel is the ideal starting point for a delightful voyage of discovery to the Binn Valley, a natural park with dozens of hidden treasures.

Location

In the country

Opening Hours

May to october, December/January

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly, Icomos Award,

Host

Having grown up in a family-run hotel in South Tyrol, hospitality was instilled in her from an early age. During her training as a qualified hotelier at the Swiss Hotel Management School in Lucerne (SHL), she gained the necessary expertise and experience to enrich the Hotel Ofenhorn with her refreshing hospitality, along with a great deal of motivation and enthusiasm for nature, culture and tradition.

History

Four years after the Ofenhorn mountain was conquered for the first time in 1864, the Binn Valley was included in Karl Baedeker's travel guide - although visitors still had to lodge at the vicar's. In 1881, Josef Schmid from Ernen and two kindred spirits began building a new hotel. After it opened in 1883, Schmid's wife managed the hotel. Under her guidance the Ofenhorn flourished splendidly in its first years; the Belle Époque was fertile ground for most tourist enterprises.
read more

In 1897, an annex was already added on the north side. In 1923, electric lights were installed. During World War II the hotel served as military housing; after that, it was completely renovated. The Walliser Stube on the ground floor dates from that time. In the 1960s central heating was installed so the hotel could stay open in winter. After three generations, the Schmid family left the hotel in 1968. The hotel was then closed for three years until Pro Unter- und Mittelgoms Ltd reopened it. After a series of new difficulties, the village decided to take on responsibility for the hotel in 1985. The Pro Binn­tal Cooperative, founded two years later, has managed the hotel with the help of lessees since that time. Following renovation of the outside façades in the 1990s, the Cooperative boldly decided to completely renovate the hotel with the support of the office for preservation of historic buildings and monuments in 2007. In several stages all of the public rooms on the main floor and a number of guest rooms were ­carefully renovated in line with historic standards. The original wall decorations were restored in the entrance area, while the dining room and a number of guest rooms were also refurbished in line with historic plans, and the rooms were wallpapered based on old samples. In 2013, the Icomos jury recognized this careful work by giving the hotel an award for its skillful search for traces of the past in an important Alpine hotel and for the ongoing restoration of the premises. The hotel has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2008.

Awards & Memberships

award-icomos-gold
Special price 2013
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Ouvrir la galerie
Depuis 1883 | 3996 Binn (VS)

Hotel Ofenhorn

Hôtel de montagne historique au milieu du paysage de parc de la vallée de Binn, vallée idyllique de minéraux.
Venez avec nous pour un voyage dans le temps à l'hôtel historique Ofenhorn, dans la vallée sauvage et romantique de Binn. L'esprit de la Belle Époque, qui a vu fleurir les premiers hôtels suisses, est présent dans les chambres, les couloirs et le restaurant.
Découvrir plus
Venez avec nous pour un voyage dans le temps à l'hôtel historique Ofenhorn, dans la vallée sauvage et romantique de Binn. L'esprit de la Belle Époque, qui a vu fleurir les premiers hôtels suisses, est présent dans les chambres, les couloirs et le restaurant.

Les planchers grinçants chuchotent de nombreux secrets oubliés. Le restaurant propose des spécialités régionales et une grande variété d'autres plats de choix. L'hôtel Ofenhorn est le point de départ idéal pour un voyage de découverte de la vallée de Binn, un parc naturel qui recèle des dizaines de trésors cachés.

Emplacement

À la campagne

Horaires d'ouverture

Mai à octobre, decembre/janvier

Type

Banquets/Mariages, Séminaires/affaires, Actif/sport, Parc/jardin, Adapté aux familles/enfants, Adhésions,

Hôte

Ayant grandi dans un établissement hôtelier familial du Tyrol du Sud, l'hospitalité lui a été inculquée très tôt. Pendant sa formation d'hôtesse diplômée à l'École hôtelière suisse de Lucerne (SHL), elle a acquis les connaissances et l'expérience nécessaires pour enrichir l'hôtel Ofenhorn de son hospitalité rafraîchissante, avec beaucoup de motivation et d'enthousiasme pour la nature, la culture et la tradition.

Histoire

Quatre ans après la première conquête de l'Ofenhorn, en 1864, la vallée de Binn figurait dans le guide touristique de Karl Baedeker, mais les visiteurs devaient encore loger chez le pasteur. En 1881, Josef Schmid, originaire d'Ernen, et deux âmes sœurs entreprennent la construction d'un nouvel hôtel. Après son ouverture en 1883, c'est la femme de Schmid qui gère l'hôtel. Sous sa direction, l'Ofenhorn connut une période faste au cours de ses premières années d'existence ; la Belle Époque était un terrain fertile pour la plupart des entreprises touristiques.
lire la suite

En 1897, une annexe avait déjà été ajoutée sur le côté nord. En 1923, l'éclairage électrique a été installé. Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l'hôtel a servi de logement militaire ; après cela, il a été entièrement rénové. La Walliser Stube au rez-de-chaussée date de cette époque. Dans les années 1960, le chauffage central a été installé pour permettre à l'hôtel de rester ouvert en hiver. Après trois générations, la famille Schmid a quitté l'hôtel en 1968. L'hôtel est alors fermé pendant trois ans jusqu'à ce que Pro Unter- und Mittelgoms Ltd le rouvre. Après une série de nouvelles difficultés, le village a décidé de reprendre la responsabilité de l'hôtel en 1985. La coopérative Pro Binntal, fondée deux ans plus tard, gère depuis lors l'hôtel avec l'aide des locataires. Après avoir rénové les façades extérieures dans les années 1990, la coopérative a décidé de rénover complètement l'hôtel avec le soutien de l'office de préservation des bâtiments et monuments historiques en 2007. En plusieurs étapes, toutes les salles publiques de l'étage principal et un certain nombre de chambres d'hôtes ont été soigneusement rénovées dans le respect des normes historiques. Les décorations murales d'origine ont été restaurées dans l'entrée, tandis que la salle à manger et un certain nombre de chambres d'hôtes ont également été rénovées conformément aux plans historiques, et les chambres ont été tapissées sur la base d'échantillons anciens. En 2013, le jury d'Icomos a reconnu ce travail minutieux en décernant à l'hôtel un prix pour sa recherche habile de traces du passé dans un important hôtel alpin et pour la restauration en cours des locaux. L'hôtel est membre de Swiss Historic Hotels depuis 2008.

Balises & Affiliations

award-icomos-gold
Prix spécial 2013
Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall