Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1873 | 6354 Vitznau (LU)

Hotel Terrasse am See

The lake hotel with steam trains and steamers right at its front door.
The Hotel Terrasse am See is situated next door to the steamer pier and the funiculars up Mt. Rigi. It was first built in 1873 by the Vitznau-Rigibahn, Europe's first mountain railway (1871), as part of the station complex.
Discover more
The Hotel Terrasse am See is situated next door to the steamer pier and the funiculars up Mt. Rigi. It was first built in 1873 by the Vitznau-Rigibahn, Europe's first mountain railway (1871), as part of the station complex.

Modifications in 1899 and extensions by an architect called Berger in 1929 later transformed the hotel in terms of both size and appearance. In addition to a holiday atmosphere and good food, the Hobby Hotel offers guests creative courses in arts and crafts as well as exhibition space for their works. The Restaurant Rondel built over the lake promises guests the awe-inspiring first-hand experience - weather permitting - of nature in all its manifold glory, including some beautiful sunsets.

Location

In the country, By the water

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport,
1 | 5

History

In 1873, two years after the train line opened, the Rigi Railway Company built the Hotel Rigi-Bahn at the valley station in Vitznau. It was meant to offer the many visitors to the famous lookout mountain an ideally situated place to eat and spend the night. The building, with walls made of exposed brick and decorated with various pilaster strips and moldings, had a main floor, one floor above that and an attic with more guest rooms.
read more

A semi-open garden area and a terrace with chestnut trees directly on the lakeshore provided a quiet place to wait for the train or boat. In 1901, another floor was added to the building and the façades were altered with new balconies while the window frames were simplified. The canted southwest corner was graced with a small turret with a pointed spire. In 1931, the side of the hotel facing the lake was completely transformed. The terrace and the lounge were torn down and replaced by an extension designed by Lucerne architect Arnold Berger. The skeletal, semi-circular rotunda in reinforced concrete, standing on supports and jutting out into the lake, is one of the finest examples of 'Neues Bauen' in central Switzerland. Simultaneously, the main building was 'purified' to fit the spirit of the times. The corner turret was removed, a hipped roof with skylights was added, the façades lost all decorative forms and were painted a light green. Since 1983, a public footpath placed in front of the semi-circular building has spoiled the elegant appearance of the overall complex. Following the renovation of the façades in 2001 by the previous owners, today's proprietors extensively renovated the interior of the hotel in 2011/12. Many rooms now feature restored parquet floors, historic furniture and wallpaper and colors in line with the past. The restored entrance hall with its historic terrazzo floor deserves particular mention. The Terrasse am See has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2008.

Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Ouvrir la galerie
Depuis 1873 | 6354 Vitznau (LU)

Hotel Terrasse am See

L' Hotel avec le train à vapeur et bateau à vapeur à sa porte d'entrée.
L'hôtel Terrasse am See est situé à côté de l'embarcadère des bateaux à vapeur et des funiculaires qui montent au mont Rigi. Il a été construit en 1873 par la Vitznau-Rigibahn, le premier chemin de fer de montagne d'Europe (1871), dans le cadre du complexe de la gare.
Découvrir plus
L'hôtel Terrasse am See est situé à côté de l'embarcadère des bateaux à vapeur et des funiculaires qui montent au mont Rigi. Il a été construit en 1873 par la Vitznau-Rigibahn, le premier chemin de fer de montagne d'Europe (1871), dans le cadre du complexe de la gare.

Des modifications apportées en 1899 et des extensions réalisées par l'architecte Berger en 1929 ont ensuite transformé l'hôtel en termes de taille et d'apparence. En plus d'une atmosphère de vacances et d'une bonne cuisine, l'hôtel Hobby propose à ses clients des cours de création artistique et d'artisanat, ainsi qu'un espace d'exposition pour leurs œuvres. Le restaurant Rondel, construit au-dessus du lac, offre à ses hôtes la possibilité d'admirer de près - si le temps le permet - la nature dans toute sa splendeur, y compris de magnifiques couchers de soleil.

Emplacement

À la campagne, Au bord de l’eau

Classification d'hôtel

3 Étoiles

Horaires d'ouverture

toute l'année

Type

Banquets/Mariages, Séminaires/affaires, Actif/sport,
1 | 5

Histoire

En 1873, deux ans après l'ouverture de la ligne de chemin de fer, la société des chemins de fer du Rigi a construit l'hôtel Rigi-Bahn à la gare de la vallée à Vitznau. Il s'agissait d'offrir aux nombreux visiteurs du célèbre belvédère un endroit idéalement situé pour se restaurer et passer la nuit. Le bâtiment, dont les murs sont en briques apparentes et décorés de divers pilastres et moulures, comprend un étage principal, un étage supérieur et un grenier avec d'autres chambres.
lire la suite

Un jardin semi-ouvert et une terrasse avec des marronniers directement au bord du lac offraient un endroit tranquille pour attendre le train ou le bateau. En 1901, un étage supplémentaire a été ajouté au bâtiment et les façades ont été modifiées avec de nouveaux balcons, tandis que les cadres de fenêtres ont été simplifiés. L'angle sud-ouest incliné a été agrémenté d'une petite tourelle à flèche pointue. En 1931, le côté de l'hôtel donnant sur le lac est complètement transformé. La terrasse et le salon sont démolis et remplacés par une extension conçue par l'architecte lucernois Arnold Berger. La rotonde semi-circulaire squelettique en béton armé, reposant sur des supports et s'avançant dans le lac, est l'un des plus beaux exemples de "Neues Bauen" de Suisse centrale. Simultanément, le bâtiment principal a été "purifié" pour correspondre à l'esprit du temps. La tourelle d'angle a été supprimée, un toit en croupe avec des lucarnes a été ajouté, les façades ont perdu toutes les formes décoratives et ont été peintes en vert clair. Depuis 1983, un chemin piétonnier public placé devant le bâtiment semi-circulaire gâche l'aspect élégant de l'ensemble. Après la rénovation des façades en 2001 par les anciens propriétaires, les propriétaires actuels ont rénové en profondeur l'intérieur de l'hôtel en 2011/12. De nombreuses chambres sont désormais dotées de parquets restaurés, de meubles historiques, de papiers peints et de couleurs dignes du passé. Le hall d'entrée restauré avec son sol en terrazzo historique mérite une mention particulière. La Terrasse am See est membre de Swiss Historic Hotels depuis 2008.

Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall