Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1873 | 6354 Vitznau (LU)

Hotel Terrasse am See

The lake hotel with steam trains and steamers right at its front door.
The Hotel Terrasse am See is situated next door to the steamer pier and the funiculars up Mt. Rigi. It was first built in 1873 by the Vitznau-Rigibahn, Europe's first mountain railway (1871), as part of the station complex.
Discover more
The Hotel Terrasse am See is situated next door to the steamer pier and the funiculars up Mt. Rigi. It was first built in 1873 by the Vitznau-Rigibahn, Europe's first mountain railway (1871), as part of the station complex.

Modifications in 1899 and extensions by an architect called Berger in 1929 later transformed the hotel in terms of both size and appearance. In addition to a holiday atmosphere and good food, the Hobby Hotel offers guests creative courses in arts and crafts as well as exhibition space for their works. The Restaurant Rondel built over the lake promises guests the awe-inspiring first-hand experience - weather permitting - of nature in all its manifold glory, including some beautiful sunsets.

Location

In the country, By the water

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport,
1 | 5

History

In 1873, two years after the train line opened, the Rigi Railway Company built the Hotel Rigi-Bahn at the valley station in Vitznau. It was meant to offer the many visitors to the famous lookout mountain an ideally situated place to eat and spend the night. The building, with walls made of exposed brick and decorated with various pilaster strips and moldings, had a main floor, one floor above that and an attic with more guest rooms.
read more

A semi-open garden area and a terrace with chestnut trees directly on the lakeshore provided a quiet place to wait for the train or boat. In 1901, another floor was added to the building and the façades were altered with new balconies while the window frames were simplified. The canted southwest corner was graced with a small turret with a pointed spire. In 1931, the side of the hotel facing the lake was completely transformed. The terrace and the lounge were torn down and replaced by an extension designed by Lucerne architect Arnold Berger. The skeletal, semi-circular rotunda in reinforced concrete, standing on supports and jutting out into the lake, is one of the finest examples of 'Neues Bauen' in central Switzerland. Simultaneously, the main building was 'purified' to fit the spirit of the times. The corner turret was removed, a hipped roof with skylights was added, the façades lost all decorative forms and were painted a light green. Since 1983, a public footpath placed in front of the semi-circular building has spoiled the elegant appearance of the overall complex. Following the renovation of the façades in 2001 by the previous owners, today's proprietors extensively renovated the interior of the hotel in 2011/12. Many rooms now feature restored parquet floors, historic furniture and wallpaper and colors in line with the past. The restored entrance hall with its historic terrazzo floor deserves particular mention. The Terrasse am See has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2008.

Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1873 | 6354 Vitznau (LU)

Hotel Terrasse am See

Das Seehotel mit Dampfzug und Dampfschiff vor der Haustüre.
Die Vitznau-Rigibahn eröffnete 1873 das Hotel am Ufer des Vierwaldstättersees. Wie einst rauschen die eleganten Dampfschiffe nur wenige Meter vor dem Hotelrestaurant Rondel zur Schiffstation, wo bereits Elektro- und Dampfzüge auf die Reisenden warten.
Mehr entdecken
Die Vitznau-Rigibahn eröffnete 1873 das Hotel am Ufer des Vierwaldstättersees. Wie einst rauschen die eleganten Dampfschiffe nur wenige Meter vor dem Hotelrestaurant Rondel zur Schiffstation, wo bereits Elektro- und Dampfzüge auf die Reisenden warten.
Der kühle Schatten unter den alten Kastanienbäumen lädt wie ehedem zu einer Rast bei Speis und Trank ein. Spektakulär sind die legendären Sonnenuntergänge und das Lichtspiel nach einem Gewitter. Seit 2003 restaurieren die heutigen Besitzer das Hotel liebevoll und mit grossem Respekt vor der alten Handwerkskunst.

Lage

Auf dem Land, Am Wasser

Klassifikation

3 Sterne

Öffnungszeiten

ganzjährig

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski),
1 | 5

Geschichte

1873, zwei Jahre nach Eröffnung der Bahnlinie, erbaute die Rigi-Bahn-Gesellschaft bei der Talstation in Vitznau das Hotel Rigi-Bahn, das den zahlreichen Besuchern des berühmten Aussichtsberges eine ideal gelegene Verpflegungs- und Übernachtungsmöglichkeit bieten konnte. Das mit Mauerwerk aus Sichtbacksteinen erbaute und mit verschiedenen Gesimsen und Lisenen verzierte Gebäude besass neben dem Erdgeschoss ein weiteres Stockwerk sowie ein ausgebautes Mansarddach mit Gästezimmern.
weiterlesen
Eine halb offene Gartenhalle sowie ein Vorplatz mit Kastanienbäumen direkt am Seeufer ermöglichten ein geruhsames Warten auf Bahn oder Schiff. 1901 wurde das Gebäude um ein Stockwerk erhöht, die Fassaden wurden mit einigen Balkonen versehen und die Fensteröffnungen vereinfacht. Zudem wurde der abgeschräg­ten Südwestecke ein kleiner Turm mit Spitzhelm angefügt. 1931 erhielt das Haus auf der Seeseite eine vollständig neue Gestaltung: Der Terrassenanbau mit Halle wurde abgebrochen und durch einen Vorbau nach dem Entwurf des Architekten Arnold Berger aus Luzern ersetzt. Der skelettartige, halbkreisförmig auf Stützen in den See ragende Eisenbetonbau gehört zu den bedeutenden Gebäuden des Neuen Bauens in der Innerschweiz. Gleichzeitig wurde das Hauptgebäude im damaligen Zeitgeist purifiziert: Das Ecktürmchen wurde entfernt, das Dach mit einem Walmdach mit Lukarnen ergänzt, die Fassaden wurden von allen Zierformen befreit und in einem hellgrünen Farbton gestrichen. Seit 1983 stört ein vor dem Rundbau angelegter öffentlicher Fussgängersteg das elegante Erscheinungsbild des Gesamtensembles empfindlich. Nach einer Renovation der Fassaden 2001 durch die frühere Eigentümerschaft haben die heutigen ­Besitzer das Haus 2011/12 einer gründlichen Auffrischung im Innern unterzogen. Dabei entstanden zahlreiche Zimmer mit restaurierten Parkettböden, historischen Möbeln sowie Tapeten und Farben nach historischem Vorbild. Besonders wertvoll erscheint der wiederhergestellte Eingangsbereich mit dem historischen Terrazzoboden. Seit 2008 ist das Hotel ­Terrasse am See Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels. (RF)
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall