Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1932 | 3864 Guttannen (BE)

Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz

Like a castle, with a reservoir lake below.
The centuries old Grimsel Hospice is located in the midst of a bleak and rocky landscape, on the turquoise waters of an artificial lake. From the former defiant miner's home an extremely elegant hotel emerged after comprehensive renovations, a place made for aesthetes and lovers of nature.
Discover more
The centuries old Grimsel Hospice is located in the midst of a bleak and rocky landscape, on the turquoise waters of an artificial lake. From the former defiant miner's home an extremely elegant hotel emerged after comprehensive renovations, a place made for aesthetes and lovers of nature.

With a panoramic lounge, a fireplace lounge, bar, restaurant, seductive wine cellar and cosy rooms that include every possible kind of comfort. This inn, on the Piedmont-Burgundy trade route, was mentioned in documents as early as 1142. Built in 1932 between two dam walls after the old hospice had been flooded, this was the first electrically heated hotel in Europe. Horgen Glarus furniture from the 30's. The stone pine and tower halls testify to the former construction style. The large wine cellar came into being because of the mule trains and is lovingly maintained.

Location

By the water, In the mountains

Hotel classification

4 Stars

Opening Hours

Summer season: June to October - Winter season: late December to mid-April

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport,

Host

Your hosts Marianne and Markus Meier

History

The Hospiz on the Grimsel Pass, first mentioned in 1400, was set up during the Middle Ages as a hostel for poor people hiking over the pass and belonged to the district of Oberhasli. Following an act of arson initiated by the innkeeper in 1852, the building had to be completely rebuilt.
read more

Subsequently, complaints about the Hospiz, which was often overcrowded with travelers in the summer, began to mount. The Baedeker travel guide wrote, the cells are only separated by wooden slats so you can hear the slightest noise even three cells over." The expansion of the trail to a road fit for traffic, in 1894, came about relatively late compared to other Swiss pass roads and did not result in any major changes to the Hospiz. Extensive structural changes only took place when the large hydropower station was constructed. In 1930, the old Hospiz had to make way for the reservoir. In 1932, as a replacement, the power company erected a new inn on a higher rock outcropping between the two sections of the dam in the midst of a barren rocky landscape. With its massive stepped gable roof and exposed masonry, the hotel presents itself as a human bulwark in a high-alpine landscape. At its opening, the Hospiz made headlines as the first electrically heated hotel in Europe. Following comprehensive renovations between 2008 and 2010, the imposing one-time home for the power plant's construction workers and miners has been turned into a hotel furnished with exquisite taste. Contemporary Modern now meets the respectfully restored past. The faithfully recreated public rooms, Arvensaal and Turmsaal, with their historic furnishings from the 1930s bear witness to a simpler past. The modern connecting tract and the renovated guest rooms pay heed to the old building, both in terms of materials and style, and expertly complement it. The Grimsel Hospiz has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2010.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

Behind a homely facade of rough broken granite and red shutters, you will find an interior that leaves nothing to be desired. 28 rooms, designed tastefully and inspired by the 1930s.
1 | 5

Gastronomy

The kitchen philosophy is in line with the hotel – high quality, genuine and authentic. At the Historic Alpine Hotel Grimsel Hospiz, meals are prepared with love and dedication to details. Everything is made with genuine craftsmanship. Regional products are presented at their best and refined with flavours from the wide world of culinary arts.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Arrival

The best road connection from Basel/Zurich is in direction Lucerne, then Brünigpass, then following the „Grimselpass“. From Berne you drive direction Interlaken and then also following „Grimselpass“. The journey lasts approx: - 200 Min. from Zurich - 80 Min. from Lucerne - 90 Min. from Berne - 200 Min. from Basel. By train: From Interlaken and Lucerne you have direct train connections to Meiringen. There you take the Meiringen–Innertkirchen-Bahn (MIB) to Innertkirchen. From here you take the Postbus to the hotel. Pay attention to the time-tables, because the busses do not drive regularly. During the winter season, your arrival is marked with a guided trip through the winter wonderland of the Grimselwelt.

Memberships

Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Ouvrir la galerie
Depuis 1932 | 3864 Guttannen (BE)

Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz

Comme un château, avec un lac de retenue en contrebas.
L'hospice du Grimsel, vieux de plusieurs siècles, est situé au milieu d'un paysage morne et rocheux, au bord des eaux turquoises d'un lac artificiel. L'ancienne maison d'un mineur provocateur a cédé la place à un hôtel extrêmement élégant après d'importantes rénovations, un lieu fait pour les esthètes et les amoureux de la nature.
Découvrir plus
L'hospice du Grimsel, vieux de plusieurs siècles, est situé au milieu d'un paysage morne et rocheux, au bord des eaux turquoises d'un lac artificiel. L'ancienne maison d'un mineur provocateur a cédé la place à un hôtel extrêmement élégant après d'importantes rénovations, un lieu fait pour les esthètes et les amoureux de la nature.

Avec un salon panoramique, un salon cheminée, un bar, un restaurant, une cave à vin séduisante et des chambres douillettes qui comprennent tout le confort possible. Cette auberge, située sur la route commerciale Piémont-Bourgogne, est mentionnée dans des documents dès 1142. Construit en 1932 entre deux murs de digue après l'inondation de l'ancien hospice, ce fut le premier hôtel chauffé à l'électricité en Europe. Le mobilier de Horgen Glarus date des années 30. Le pin de pierre et les tours témoignent de l'ancien style de construction. La grande cave à vin a vu le jour grâce aux trains de mules et est entretenue avec amour.

Emplacement

Au bord de l’eau, À la montagne

Classification d'hôtel

4 Étoiles

Horaires d'ouverture

Saison d'été : Juin à octobre - Saison d'hiver : fin décembre à mi-avril

Type

Banquets/Mariages, Séminaires/affaires, Actif/sport,

Hôte

Vos hôtes Marianne et Markus Meier

Histoire

L'auberge du col du Grimsel, mentionnée pour la première fois en 1400, a été créée au Moyen-Âge pour héberger les pauvres qui passaient le col à pied et appartenait au district d'Oberhasli. Suite à un incendie criminel provoqué par l'aubergiste en 1852, le bâtiment a dû être entièrement reconstruit.
lire la suite

Par la suite, les plaintes concernant l'Hospiz, qui était souvent surpeuplé de voyageurs en été, ont commencé à se multiplier. Le guide de voyage Baedeker écrivait : "Les cellules ne sont séparées que par des lattes de bois, de sorte que l'on peut entendre le moindre bruit même trois cellules plus loin". L'élargissement du sentier en une route praticable, en 1894, est intervenu relativement tard par rapport à d'autres routes de cols suisses et n'a pas entraîné de changements majeurs à l'Hospiz. Ce n'est que lors de la construction de la grande centrale hydroélectrique que des changements structurels importants ont eu lieu. En 1930, l'ancien Hospiz a dû céder la place au réservoir. En 1932, la compagnie d'électricité a érigé une nouvelle auberge sur un affleurement rocheux plus élevé, entre les deux sections du barrage, au milieu d'un paysage rocheux aride. Avec son toit à pignon massif et sa maçonnerie apparente, l'hôtel se présente comme un rempart humain dans un paysage de haute montagne. Lors de son ouverture, l'Hospiz a fait la une des journaux en tant que premier hôtel chauffé à l'électricité en Europe. Après d'importantes rénovations entre 2008 et 2010, l'imposante maison qui abritait autrefois les ouvriers de la construction et les mineurs de la centrale électrique a été transformée en un hôtel meublé avec un goût exquis. Le moderne contemporain côtoie désormais le passé respectueusement restauré. Les salles publiques Arvensaal et Turmsaal, fidèlement recréées, avec leur mobilier historique des années 1930, témoignent d'un passé plus simple. Les voies de communication modernes et les chambres rénovées respectent l'ancien bâtiment, tant en termes de matériaux que de style, et le complètent habilement. Le Grimsel Hospiz est membre de Swiss Historic Hotels depuis 2010.

Chambres & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Chambres

Derrière sa façade en granit rugueux agrémentée de volets écarlates attend un intérieur qui comble toutes les attentes. 28 chambres, aménagées avec goût – dans un style évoquant les années 1930.
1 | 5

Gastronomie

La philosophie de la cuisine est à l'image de l'hôtel : de haute qualité, authentique. À l'hôtel historique alpin Grimsel Hospiz, les repas sont préparés avec amour et dans le souci du détail. Tout est fait avec un authentique savoir-faire artisanal. Les produits régionaux sont présentés sous leur meilleur jour et raffinés avec des saveurs issues du vaste monde de l'art culinaire.

Contact & Accès

Online Booking
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes

Arrivée

Le meilleur trajet routier de Bâle/Zurich est en direction de Lucerne, via Brünigpass et Grimselpass. De Berne vous suivez la direction Interlaken et apès aussi Grimselpass. Le trajet dure environ: - 200 Min. de Zurich - 80 Min. de Lucerne - 90 Min. de Berne - 200 Min. de Bâle. En train: De Interlaken et Lucerne vous avez le train direct jusqu’à Meiringen. La vous prenez le Meiringen–Innertkirchen-Bahn (MIB) jusqu’à Innertkirchen, ou vous prenez le CarPostal pour arriver à l’hôtel. Faites attention aux horaires, parce que le CarPostal ne roulent pas régulièrement. Durant la saison hivernale, l’arrivée est déjà toute une aventure guidée à travers le paysage d’hiver du Grimselwelt.

Affiliations

Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall