Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1932 | 3864 Guttannen (BE)

Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz

Like a castle, with a reservoir lake below.
The centuries old Grimsel Hospice is located in the midst of a bleak and rocky landscape, on the turquoise waters of an artificial lake. From the former defiant miner's home an extremely elegant hotel emerged after comprehensive renovations, a place made for aesthetes and lovers of nature.
Discover more
The centuries old Grimsel Hospice is located in the midst of a bleak and rocky landscape, on the turquoise waters of an artificial lake. From the former defiant miner's home an extremely elegant hotel emerged after comprehensive renovations, a place made for aesthetes and lovers of nature.

With a panoramic lounge, a fireplace lounge, bar, restaurant, seductive wine cellar and cosy rooms that include every possible kind of comfort. This inn, on the Piedmont-Burgundy trade route, was mentioned in documents as early as 1142. Built in 1932 between two dam walls after the old hospice had been flooded, this was the first electrically heated hotel in Europe. Horgen Glarus furniture from the 30's. The stone pine and tower halls testify to the former construction style. The large wine cellar came into being because of the mule trains and is lovingly maintained.

Location

By the water, In the mountains

Hotel classification

4 Stars

Opening Hours

Summer season: June to October - Winter season: late December to mid-April

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport,

Host

Your hosts Marianne and Markus Meier

History

The Hospiz on the Grimsel Pass, first mentioned in 1400, was set up during the Middle Ages as a hostel for poor people hiking over the pass and belonged to the district of Oberhasli. Following an act of arson initiated by the innkeeper in 1852, the building had to be completely rebuilt.
read more

Subsequently, complaints about the Hospiz, which was often overcrowded with travelers in the summer, began to mount. The Baedeker travel guide wrote, the cells are only separated by wooden slats so you can hear the slightest noise even three cells over." The expansion of the trail to a road fit for traffic, in 1894, came about relatively late compared to other Swiss pass roads and did not result in any major changes to the Hospiz. Extensive structural changes only took place when the large hydropower station was constructed. In 1930, the old Hospiz had to make way for the reservoir. In 1932, as a replacement, the power company erected a new inn on a higher rock outcropping between the two sections of the dam in the midst of a barren rocky landscape. With its massive stepped gable roof and exposed masonry, the hotel presents itself as a human bulwark in a high-alpine landscape. At its opening, the Hospiz made headlines as the first electrically heated hotel in Europe. Following comprehensive renovations between 2008 and 2010, the imposing one-time home for the power plant's construction workers and miners has been turned into a hotel furnished with exquisite taste. Contemporary Modern now meets the respectfully restored past. The faithfully recreated public rooms, Arvensaal and Turmsaal, with their historic furnishings from the 1930s bear witness to a simpler past. The modern connecting tract and the renovated guest rooms pay heed to the old building, both in terms of materials and style, and expertly complement it. The Grimsel Hospiz has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2010.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

Behind a homely facade of rough broken granite and red shutters, you will find an interior that leaves nothing to be desired. 28 rooms, designed tastefully and inspired by the 1930s.
1 | 5

Gastronomy

The kitchen philosophy is in line with the hotel – high quality, genuine and authentic. At the Historic Alpine Hotel Grimsel Hospiz, meals are prepared with love and dedication to details. Everything is made with genuine craftsmanship. Regional products are presented at their best and refined with flavours from the wide world of culinary arts.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Arrival

The best road connection from Basel/Zurich is in direction Lucerne, then Brünigpass, then following the „Grimselpass“. From Berne you drive direction Interlaken and then also following „Grimselpass“. The journey lasts approx: - 200 Min. from Zurich - 80 Min. from Lucerne - 90 Min. from Berne - 200 Min. from Basel. By train: From Interlaken and Lucerne you have direct train connections to Meiringen. There you take the Meiringen–Innertkirchen-Bahn (MIB) to Innertkirchen. From here you take the Postbus to the hotel. Pay attention to the time-tables, because the busses do not drive regularly. During the winter season, your arrival is marked with a guided trip through the winter wonderland of the Grimselwelt.

Memberships

Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1932 | 3864 Guttannen (BE)

Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz

Wie eine Burg, mit einem Stausee zu Füssen.
Ein halbes Jahrtausend lang galt das Grimsel Hospiz als gute Seele der Region, schrieb Geschichte, prägte Legenden bis sie 1929 im Stausee verschwand. Doch sie kam wieder und residiert auf dem Felssporn namens Nollen.
Mehr entdecken
Ein halbes Jahrtausend lang galt das Grimsel Hospiz als gute Seele der Region, schrieb Geschichte, prägte Legenden bis sie 1929 im Stausee verschwand. Doch sie kam wieder und residiert auf dem Felssporn namens Nollen.
1932 machte der Neubau als das erste elektrisch beheizbare Hotel Europas Furore. Diese Geschichte verpflichtet. Rund 80 Jahre später, im Jahre 2010, öffnete die rundum renovierte Grande Dame ihre Türen wieder, mit einem Innern, das keine Wünsche offenlässt und umweltfreundlich geheizt wird mit Abwärme aus den Kraftwerksanlagen. Seit Herbst 2019 erstrahlt das Hospiz auch von aussen mit glänzendem Kupferdach und neuen Fenstern. Der neu gepflasterte Vorplatz lässt die Anfahrt etwas ruhiger angehen.

Lage

Am Wasser, In den Bergen

Klassifikation

4 Sterne

Öffnungszeiten

Sommersaison: Juni – Oktober / Wintersaison: Dezember – April
(Winter 2024/25 geschlossen)

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski),

Gastgeber

Ihre Gastgeber Marianne und Markus Meier

Geschichte

Das kurz vor 1400 erstmals nachgewiesene Hospiz auf dem Grimselpass entstand im Mittelalter als Herberge für arme Wanderer über den Pass und war im Eigentum der Landschaft Oberhasli. Nach Brandstiftung durch den Wirt 1852 musste das Gebäude neu errichtet werden.
weiterlesen
Danach häuften sich die Klagen über das im Sommer oft von Reisenden überfüllte Haus, in dem gemäss dem Reiseführer von Baedeker «die Zellen nur durch Bretterwände geschieden (sind), so dass bis zur dritten Zelle das kleinste Geräusch hörbar ist». Der Ausbau des Fusspfades zur befahrbaren Strasse 1894 erfolgte im Vergleich zu anderen Schweizer Pässen verhältnismässig spät, führte aber zu keinen nennenswerten Veränderungen beim Hospiz. Erst der Bau der grossen Wasserkraftwerke in diesem Gebiet führte zu starken baulichen Veränderungen. So musste das alte Hospiz um 1930 dem Ausbau des Stausees weichen. Als Ersatz erstellten die Kraftwerke 1932 auf dem höher gelegenen Felskopf zwischen den beiden Staumauern ein neues Gasthaus inmitten einer kargen Felslandschaft. Mit seinem wuchtigen Treppengiebel und dem Sichtmauerwerk stellt das Hotel ein eigentliches menschliches Bollwerk in der hochalpinen Landschaft dar. Bei der Eröffnung machte das neue Hospiz als erstes elektrisch beheiztes Hotel Europas Furore. Nach einem kompletten Umbau zwischen 2008 und 2010 ist aus dem ehemals trutzigen Bergarbeiter-Domizil ein äusserst geschmackvoll eingerichtetes Hotel geworden. Heute trifft dort die zeitgenössische Moderne auf die respektvoll restaurierte Vergangenheit. Die originalgetreu wiederhergestellten Säle (Arven- und Turmsaal) mit ihrem historischen Mobiliar aus den 1930er Jahren zeugen von der damaligen einfachen Bauweise. Der zeitgenössisch gestaltete Zwischenbau sowie die erneuerten Gästezimmer nehmen bezüglich Materialwahl und Gestaltung Rücksicht auf den Altbau und ergänzen diesen in äusserst geschickter Art und Weise. Seit 2010 ist das Hotel Grimsel Hospiz Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Zimmer

Hinter der vertrauten Fassade aus rauem gebrochenen Granit und den roten Fensterläden wartet ein Inneres, das keine Wünsche offen lässt. 28 Zimmer, geschmackvoll – an die 30er Jahre angelehnt – eingerichtet.
1 | 5

Gastronomie

Wie das Haus so die Küchenphilosophie - hochwertig, ehrlich, authentisch. Im Historischen Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz wird mit viel Liebe und Hingabe zum Detail gekocht. Hier steckt echtes Handwerk dahinter. Regionale Produkte werden in ihrer besten Form präsentiert und mit Aromen aus der weiten Welt der Kulinarik verfeinert. Wir sind dank unseren Partnern fest in der Region verwurzelt.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Anreise

Die beste Straßenverbindung von Basel / Zürich ist Richtung Luzern, dann Brünigpass, dann dem Grimselpass folgend. Von Bern fahren Sie in Richtung Interlaken und folgen dann auch dem Grimselpass. Die Fahrt dauert ca: - 200 min. aus Zürich - 80 min. aus Luzern - 90 min. aus Bern - 200 min. aus Basel. Mit der Bahn: Von Interlaken und Luzern bestehen direkte Zugverbindungen nach Meiringen. Dort fahren Sie mit der Meiringen-Innertkirchen-Bahn (MIB) nach Innertkirchen. Von hier aus fahren Sie mit dem Postauto zum Hotel. Beachten Sie die Fahrpläne, da die Busse nicht regelmäßig fahren. Während der Wintersaison erleben sie eine geführte, abenteuerliche Anreise durch die Winterlandschaft der Grimselwelt.

Mitgliedschaften

Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall