Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1852 | 8488 Turbenthal (ZH)

Gasthof Gyrenbad

Pure enjoyment in the local recreational area of Tösstal.
Located in the local recreational area of Tösstal, the traditional Gasthof Gyrenbad welcomes its guests with regional and modern cuisine, a unique view of the Glarner Alps, a beautiful garden and quiet and comfortable hotel rooms.
Discover more
Located in the local recreational area of Tösstal, the traditional Gasthof Gyrenbad welcomes its guests with regional and modern cuisine, a unique view of the Glarner Alps, a beautiful garden and quiet and comfortable hotel rooms.

The Gasthof Gyrenbad, which has existed since the 17th century, is one of the most original and beautiful country inns in Switzerland, situated in an idyllic location above Turbenthal in the Tösstal recreational area. Stylish, bright dining rooms and young, regional cuisine invite you to enjoy the historic ambience. Quiet and comfortable single and double rooms guarantee relaxing days and nights.

Location

In the country

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Park/garden, Icomos Award

Host

Gasthof Gyrenbad is managed by Polykarpos Papadopoulos and his team. Born in Cologne, he has been running the Gasthof Gyrenbad for two years. As a passionate gastronome, he brings a lot of experience with him, whether on a luxury cruise ship, stations in St. Moritz, Davos and Lenzerheide or a 5-star hotel in Zurich.

History

In the course of the 15th century, people began to use this quiet place in the Zurich Oberland for bathing; the Gyrenbad was first mentioned in 1464. The oldest bathing regulations date from 1602. At that time, bourgeois society from the city was among the best customers. In the 1620s, the owner at the time, Ulrich Bosshard, built what is now the main house as a half-timbered building, but even then the property consisted of several buildings.
read more

In 1777, the Zurich pastor Johann Rudolf Schinz (1745-1790) described 54 bathing boxes for 84 people in the Gyrenbad. In the early 19th century, the bath was given a new look for tourists: In 1826 the west wing was built with guest rooms and a bath house for water and whey cures, which were offered until 1968. In 1844, the access road to the baths was redesigned by the canton, and at the same time the Gyrenbad landlord built what is now the east wing with the viewing terrace in front. This was given a large dining room as well as common rooms, such as the elegant ladies’ room, which was preserved in its original condition, and guest rooms on the upper floor. The garden parterre led to a park-like area on the side, which breathed a touch of romance with its exotic trees and invited to stroll. The furniture in the Gyrenbad testifies to this lively spirit of the Belle Epoque, as suggested to potential guests in the brochures of the time. After the end of bathing operations, the Kunz family worked out a comprehensive renovation concept, which has been implemented in stages since 1990 with the support of monument preservation. The guest room, dining room and ladies’ salon, terrace and park garden have been preserved in their traditional form, historical furniture bears witness to a past of hospitality and last but not least the external, familiar face of the Gyrenbad has been preserved even after the comprehensive overall renovation. In 1997, the Gasthof Gyrenbad received the Historical Hotel of the Year award from Icomos Switzerland, which was presented for the first time. The former Kurhaus has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2005.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 2

Rooms

Seven quiet and comfortable single and double rooms guarantee relaxing moments and nights in a unique, historical ambience.
1 | 4

Gastronomy

Guests can expect passionate, modern, regional and seasonal gastronomy at the Gasthof Gyrenbad. The stylish dining rooms and spacious terrace invite you to enjoy the unique view of the Glarner Alps and the beautiful garden.

Region

Region

Steep Nagelfluh mountan faces with towering Gubeln, deeply incised, almost untouched side ravines with rushing waterfalls and wild forests make the Tösstal valley (or the Tössbergland) a recreational area in the Zurich Oberland that is worth protecting.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Gasthof Gyrenbad
Girenbad 133, 8488 Turbenthal (ZH)

+41 52 385 15 66
info@gyrenbad.ch
www.gyrenbad.ch

Arrival

The Gasthof Gyrenbad is easy to reach by car. Free parking is available. From Elgg, the Gasthof Gyrenbad can also be reached by post bus on weekends and public holidays. Use line 682 from Elgg.

Awards

award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 1997
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Ouvrir la galerie
Depuis 1852 | 8488 Turbenthal (ZH)

Gasthof Gyrenbad

Le bien-être à l'état pur dans la région de loisirs de Tösstal.
Situé dans la zone de loisirs de Tösstal, l'hôtel traditionnel Gasthof Gyrenbad accueille ses clients avec une cuisine régionale et moderne, une vue unique sur les Alpes glaronnaises, un beau jardin et des chambres d'hôtel calmes et confortables.
Découvrir plus
Situé dans la zone de loisirs de Tösstal, l'hôtel traditionnel Gasthof Gyrenbad accueille ses clients avec une cuisine régionale et moderne, une vue unique sur les Alpes glaronnaises, un beau jardin et des chambres d'hôtel calmes et confortables.

Le Gasthof Gyrenbad, qui existe depuis le XVIIe siècle, est l'une des auberges de campagne les plus originales et les plus belles de Suisse, située dans un endroit idyllique au-dessus de Turbenthal, dans la région de loisirs du Tösstal. Des salles à manger élégantes et lumineuses et une cuisine régionale jeune vous invitent à profiter de l'ambiance historique. Les chambres simples et doubles, calmes et confortables, garantissent des journées et des nuits reposantes.

Emplacement

À la campagne

Classification d'hôtel

3 Étoiles

Horaires d'ouverture

toute l'année

Type

Banquets/Mariages, Séminaires/affaires, Parc/jardin, Adhésions

Hôte

Gasthof Gyrenbad est géré par Polykarpos Papadopoulos et son équipe. Né à Cologne, il dirige le Gasthof Gyrenbad depuis deux ans. Gastronome passionné, il apporte avec lui une grande expérience, que ce soit sur un bateau de croisière de luxe, dans les stations de St. Moritz, Davos et Lenzerheide ou dans un hôtel 5 étoiles à Zurich.

Histoire

Au cours du 15e siècle, les gens ont commencé à utiliser cet endroit tranquille de l'Oberland zurichois pour se baigner ; le Gyrenbad est mentionné pour la première fois en 1464. La plus ancienne réglementation sur les bains date de 1602. À cette époque, la société bourgeoise de la ville comptait parmi les meilleurs clients.
lire la suite

Dans les années 1620, le propriétaire de l'époque, Ulrich Bosshard, a construit ce qui est aujourd'hui la maison principale, un bâtiment à colombages, mais déjà à l'époque, la propriété se composait de plusieurs bâtiments. En 1777, le pasteur zurichois Johann Rudolf Schinz (1745-1790) décrit 54 cabines de bain pour 84 personnes dans le Gyrenbad. Au début du 19e siècle, les bains ont été réaménagés pour les touristes : En 1826, l'aile ouest a été construite avec des chambres d'hôtes et un établissement de bains pour les cures d'eau et de petit-lait, qui ont été proposées jusqu'en 1968. En 1844, la route d'accès aux bains a été réaménagée par le canton, et le propriétaire du Gyrenbad a construit en même temps l'actuelle aile est, avec la terrasse panoramique devant. Celle-ci fut dotée d'une grande salle à manger ainsi que de pièces communes, comme l'élégante chambre des dames, conservée dans son état d'origine, et de chambres d'hôtes à l'étage supérieur. Le parterre du jardin menait à un parc sur le côté, qui respirait le romantisme avec ses arbres exotiques et invitait à la flânerie. Le mobilier du Gyrenbad témoigne de cet esprit vivant de la Belle Epoque, comme le suggéraient les brochures de l'époque aux clients potentiels. Après l'arrêt des activités balnéaires, la famille Kunz a élaboré un concept de rénovation globale, qui a été mis en œuvre par étapes depuis 1990 avec le soutien de la conservation des monuments. La chambre d'hôte, la salle à manger et le salon des dames, la terrasse et le jardin du parc ont été conservés dans leur forme traditionnelle, le mobilier historique témoigne d'un passé d'hospitalité et, enfin, le visage extérieur et familier du Gyrenbad a été préservé, même après la rénovation complète de l'ensemble. En 1997, le Gasthof Gyrenbad a reçu le prix de l'hôtel historique de l'année, décerné pour la première fois par Icomos Suisse. L'ancien Kurhaus est membre de Swiss Historic Hotels depuis 2005.

Chambres & Gastronomie

1 | 2

Chambres

Sept chambres simples et doubles, calmes et confortables, garantissent des moments et des nuits de détente dans une ambiance historique unique.
1 | 4

Gastronomie

Le Gasthof Gyrenbad propose une gastronomie passionnée, moderne, régionale et saisonnière. Les salles à manger élégantes et la terrasse spacieuse vous invitent à profiter de la vue unique sur les Alpes glaronnaises et le magnifique jardin.

Région

Région

La vallée du Tösstal (ou Tössbergland) est une zone de loisirs de l'Oberland zurichois qui mérite d'être protégée. Elle se caractérise par des parois abruptes du Nagelfluh avec des Gubeln imposants, des ravins latéraux profondément encaissés et presque intacts avec des chutes d'eau rapides et des forêts sauvages.

Contact & Accès

Online Booking
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes

Contact

Gasthof Gyrenbad
Girenbad 133, 8488 Turbenthal (ZH)

+41 52 385 15 66
info@gyrenbad.ch
www.gyrenbad.ch

Arrivée

Le Gasthof Gyrenbad est facilement accessible en voiture. Un parking gratuit est disponible. Depuis Elgg, le Gasthof Gyrenbad est également accessible en car postal le week-end et les jours fériés. Utiliser la ligne 682 à partir d'Elgg.

Balises

award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 1997
Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall