Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Since 1873 | 3855 Brienz (BE)

Grandhotel Giessbach

Today just as 100 years ago this historic hotel near the legendary, silver foaming Giessbach Falls high above Lake Brienz is a world of its own.
Surrounded by mountains, forests and alpine meadows with breathtaking views of the intact Lake Brienz landscape, this secure oasis lies far away from the stress of everyday life.
Discover more
Surrounded by mountains, forests and alpine meadows with breathtaking views of the intact Lake Brienz landscape, this secure oasis lies far away from the stress of everyday life.

The Grandhotel Giessbach, a structure from the golden age of tourism (dating from 1873) and winner of the Historic Hotel of the Year award for 2004, enjoys a picturesque waterfall setting between the mountains and the Lake of Brienz. The magnificent reception rooms and lounges feature original furnishings. The small funicular railway, now 125 years old, which runs from the private steamboat terminal to the hotel, is an attraction in itself.

Location

In the country, By the water

Hotel classification

4 Stars

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, , Icomos Award
1 | 5

History

Thanks to Brienz teacher Johannes Kehrli, the Giessbach Falls were already well-known in 1800. At that time, many visitors were rowed across the lake to the waterfalls by the famous Brienz women rowers. The waterfalls were lit in the evening starting in 1840, and in 1857, the first hotel was opened.
read more

Giessbach flourished starting in 1870, when the hotel was purchased by the well-known Hauser hotelier family. In line with architect Horace Edouard Davinet's (1839-1922) plans, a grand hotel with its own gasworks, a large laundry, several baths, a number of bathrooms and a covered walkway in 'foresto-rustico' style was built on an artificial terrace. To make it more accessible, the Hauser brothers built their own funicular from the boat landing to the hotel in 1879. In 1883, a fire changed the look of the hotel. Instead of the 1875 cupolas, the turrets were topped with slim 'Prussian helmets' and façade decorations in the Swiss chalet style were added. When the hotel reopened in July 1884, the first electric lights came on at the new Giessbach. Following several changes in owners during the 20th century, the hotel closed its doors in 1979, and was supposed to make room for a modern chalet apartment house. A working group led by Rudolf von Fischer, head of the Bernese Burgerrat, worked to save the traditional hotel with its unique park. At the last minute they managed to interest well-known environmentalist Franz Weber. He set up the Giessbach dem Schweizervolk foundation and in an unparalleled campaign raised the necessary three million francs to save the hotel. In 1983, the foundation acquired the Giessbach property, and a year later they were able to celebrate the reopening of the hotel, which was restored with the help of the office for preservation of historic buildings. Since then, the funicular has also been renovated. As Switzerland's oldest funicular, it is still largely in its original condition. In 2004, Icomos named the Grandhotel Giessbach Historic Hotel of the Year. That same year, the hotel became one of the founding members of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Making the impossible possible – with sincere cooperation.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

A house full of history becomes the embodiment of the statement "without origin there is no future". You will depart differently from the Grandhotel Giessbach than you arrived: The atmosphere of the traditional grand hotel, the furniture from the late 19th century, the embedding in nature, which reinvents itself every year and breathes its own magic into the hotel with every season. Immerse yourself in this symphony of past and present and take unforgettable moments home with you.
1 | 5

Enjoy with origin

The Grandhotel Giessbach is supported by the region and pays respect to this heritage. We cook in harmony with nature and it is no coincidence that these products simply taste best. So the herbs come from their own garden, the vegetables whenever possible from their own field or from the historic garden houses and even the honey is produced by the Giessbach bees. Many farmers and local producers contribute with their products to the well-being of the guests.

Region

1 | 5

Region

There is a lot to see around the hotel. Individual guests who book an overnight stay directly with us benefit from the Giessbach Nostalgia Pass during their entire stay: free boat trip on Lake Brienz, Brienz Rothorn cable cars, Ballenberg open-air museum, funicular railway, etc.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Arrival

The journey is a momentum of arrival in another world, in another time.

By car: Take the exit on the motorway N8 «Brienz – Giessbach». Then follow the signs to Giessbach / Axalp. A limited number of parking spaces are available on site (CHF 10.00 per vehicle per day).

By train and boat: By train to Interlaken Ost, from there by scheduled boat to the "Giessbach See" landing stage. The last stage from Giessbach See takes place with our historic funicular to the hotel.

Have you booked your overnight stay directly with us via phone, e-mail or our hotel website? Then enjoy the free boat trip on the entire Lake Brienz network and many other highlights in the region with the Giessbach Nostalgia Pass.

Please note: The summer season lasts from April to October. The Giessbach funicular railway and the boats on Lake Brienz do not run in winter.

By train and hotel bus: By train to Brienz station. The hotel bus runs only by appointment at the fixed times. This service is free of charge for hotel guests.

By Postbus: The PostBus in the direction of Axalp stops at the "Giessbach junction". From there, a fifteen-minute walk leads past the falls to the hotel.

Awards & Memberships

award-gault-millau-gold
14 Points
award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 2004
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Depuis 1873 | 3855 Brienz (BE)

Grandhotel Giessbach

Aujourd'hui comme il y a 100 ans, cet hôtel historique est un monde à part au pied des célèbres et tumultueuses cascades argentées de Giessbach.
Entouré de montagnes, de forêts et de pâturages, bénéficiant d'une vue à couper le souffle sur les paysages préservés du lac de Brienz, il constitue une oasis de quiétude qui vous permet de vous évader du quotidien, de son agitation et de ses problèmes de circulation.
Découvrir plus
Entouré de montagnes, de forêts et de pâturages, bénéficiant d'une vue à couper le souffle sur les paysages préservés du lac de Brienz, il constitue une oasis de quiétude qui vous permet de vous évader du quotidien, de son agitation et de ses problèmes de circulation.

Le Grandhôtel Giessbach, construit en 1873, est un véritable bijou qui a été sacré «Hôtel historique de l'année 2004». Cette résidence hôtelière historique, dominant le lac de Brienz, à proximité des légendaires et pittoresques chutes du Giessbach, est vraiment hors du commun. Les salles de réception sont équipées de meubles originaux de la Belle-Epoque tout en proposant un confort moderne. Le plus ancien funiculaire d'Europe, qui fêtera cette année son 125e anniversaire, et le propre débarcadère de l'hôtel constituent également une attraction unique.

Emplacement

À la campagne, Au bord de l’eau

Classification d'hôtel

4 Étoiles

Horaires d'ouverture

toute l'année

Type

Banquets/Mariages, Séminaires/affaires, Actif/sport, Parc/jardin, Adapté aux familles/enfants, Art & culture, , Adhésions
1 | 5

Histoire

Grâce à l'instituteur brienzois Johannes Kehrli, les chutes du Giessbach étaient déjà connues en 1800. À l'époque, les célèbres rameuses de Brienz faisaient traverser le lac à la rame pour atteindre les chutes d'eau. Les chutes ont été éclairées le soir à partir de 1840 et le premier hôtel a ouvert ses portes en 1857.
lire la suite

Giessbach a prospéré à partir de 1870, lorsque l'hôtel a été acheté par la célèbre famille d'hôteliers Hauser. Selon les plans de l'architecte Horace Edouard Davinet (1839-1922), un grand hôtel avec sa propre usine à gaz, une grande buanderie, plusieurs bains, plusieurs salles de bains et une allée couverte dans le style "foresto-rustico" a été construit sur une terrasse artificielle. Pour faciliter l'accès à l'hôtel, les frères Hauser ont construit leur propre funiculaire entre le débarcadère et l'hôtel en 1879. En 1883, un incendie a modifié l'aspect de l'hôtel. Au lieu des coupoles de 1875, les tourelles sont surmontées de minces "casques prussiens" et des décorations de façade dans le style des chalets suisses sont ajoutées. Lors de la réouverture de l'hôtel en juillet 1884, le nouveau Giessbach a été éclairé pour la première fois à l'électricité. Après plusieurs changements de propriétaires au cours du XXe siècle, l'hôtel a fermé ses portes en 1979, et devait faire place à un chalet moderne. Un groupe de travail dirigé par Rudolf von Fischer, chef du Burgerrat bernois, s'est efforcé de sauver l'hôtel traditionnel et son parc unique. À la dernière minute, ils ont réussi à intéresser le célèbre écologiste Franz Weber. Il crée la fondation Giessbach dem Schweizervolk et, dans le cadre d'une campagne sans précédent, recueille les trois millions de francs nécessaires à la sauvegarde de l'hôtel. En 1983, la fondation acquiert la propriété de Giessbach et, un an plus tard, elle peut célébrer la réouverture de l'hôtel, restauré avec l'aide de l'office de conservation des monuments historiques. Depuis, le funiculaire a également été rénové. En tant que plus ancien funiculaire de Suisse, il est encore en grande partie dans son état d'origine. En 2004, Icomos a nommé le Grandhotel Giessbach Hôtel historique de l'année. La même année, l'hôtel est devenu l'un des membres fondateurs de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Rendre l'impossible possible - avec une coopération sincère.

Chambres & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Chambres

Une maison chargée d'histoire devient l'incarnation de l'affirmation "sans origine, il n'y a pas d'avenir". Vous quitterez le Grandhotel Giessbach différemment de ce que vous y êtes arrivé : L'atmosphère d'un grand hôtel traditionnel, le mobilier de la fin du XIXe siècle, l'intégration dans la nature, qui se réinvente chaque année et insuffle sa propre magie à l'hôtel à chaque saison. Plongez dans cette symphonie du passé et du présent et emportez avec vous des moments inoubliables.
1 | 5

Enjoy with origin

Le Grandhotel Giessbach est soutenu par la région et respecte ce patrimoine. Nous cuisinons en harmonie avec la nature et ce n'est pas un hasard si ces produits ont le meilleur goût. Ainsi, les herbes aromatiques proviennent de leur propre jardin, les légumes, dans la mesure du possible, de leur propre champ ou des maisons de jardin historiques, et même le miel est produit par les abeilles de Giessbach.

Région

1 | 5

Région

Il y a beaucoup à voir autour de l'hôtel. Les clients individuels qui réservent une nuit directement chez nous profitent du Giessbach Nostalgie-Pass pendant tout leur séjour : navigation gratuite sur le lac de Brienz, chemins de fer Brienz Rothorn, musée en plein air de Ballenberg, funiculaire.

Contact & Accès

Online Booking
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes

Arrivée

Le voyage est un élan d'arrivée dans un autre monde, dans un autre temps.

En voiture : Prendre la sortie de l'autoroute N8 "Brienz - Giessbach". Suivez ensuite les indications pour Giessbach / Axalp. Un nombre limité de places de parking est disponible sur place (CHF 10.00 par véhicule et par jour).

En train et en bateau : En train jusqu'à Interlaken Ost, puis en bateau de ligne jusqu'à l'embarcadère de Giessbach See. La dernière étape depuis Giessbach See se fait en funiculaire historique jusqu'à l'hôtel.

Vous avez réservé votre nuitée directement auprès de nous par téléphone, par e-mail ou sur le site Internet de l'hôtel ? Dans ce cas, profitez de l'excursion gratuite en bateau sur l'ensemble du réseau du lac de Brienz et de nombreux autres points forts de la région grâce au Giessbach Nostalgia Pass.

Remarque : la saison estivale dure d'avril à octobre. Le funiculaire de Giessbach et les bateaux sur le lac de Brienz ne fonctionnent pas en hiver.

En train et en bus de l'hôtel : En train jusqu'à la gare de Brienz. Le bus de l'hôtel circule uniquement sur rendez-vous aux heures fixées. Ce service est gratuit pour les clients de l'hôtel.

En car postal : Le car postal en direction d'Axalp s'arrête à la "jonction Giessbach". De là, une marche de quinze minutes mène à l'hôtel en passant devant les chutes.

Balises & Affiliations

award-gault-millau-gold
14 Points
award-icomos-gold
Hôtel historique de l'année 2004
Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall