Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Since 1873 | 3855 Brienz (BE)

Grandhotel Giessbach

Today just as 100 years ago this historic hotel near the legendary, silver foaming Giessbach Falls high above Lake Brienz is a world of its own.
Surrounded by mountains, forests and alpine meadows with breathtaking views of the intact Lake Brienz landscape, this secure oasis lies far away from the stress of everyday life.
Discover more
Surrounded by mountains, forests and alpine meadows with breathtaking views of the intact Lake Brienz landscape, this secure oasis lies far away from the stress of everyday life.

The Grandhotel Giessbach, a structure from the golden age of tourism (dating from 1873) and winner of the Historic Hotel of the Year award for 2004, enjoys a picturesque waterfall setting between the mountains and the Lake of Brienz. The magnificent reception rooms and lounges feature original furnishings. The small funicular railway, now 125 years old, which runs from the private steamboat terminal to the hotel, is an attraction in itself.

Location

In the country, By the water

Hotel classification

4 Stars

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, , Icomos Award
1 | 5

History

Thanks to Brienz teacher Johannes Kehrli, the Giessbach Falls were already well-known in 1800. At that time, many visitors were rowed across the lake to the waterfalls by the famous Brienz women rowers. The waterfalls were lit in the evening starting in 1840, and in 1857, the first hotel was opened.
read more

Giessbach flourished starting in 1870, when the hotel was purchased by the well-known Hauser hotelier family. In line with architect Horace Edouard Davinet's (1839-1922) plans, a grand hotel with its own gasworks, a large laundry, several baths, a number of bathrooms and a covered walkway in 'foresto-rustico' style was built on an artificial terrace. To make it more accessible, the Hauser brothers built their own funicular from the boat landing to the hotel in 1879. In 1883, a fire changed the look of the hotel. Instead of the 1875 cupolas, the turrets were topped with slim 'Prussian helmets' and façade decorations in the Swiss chalet style were added. When the hotel reopened in July 1884, the first electric lights came on at the new Giessbach. Following several changes in owners during the 20th century, the hotel closed its doors in 1979, and was supposed to make room for a modern chalet apartment house. A working group led by Rudolf von Fischer, head of the Bernese Burgerrat, worked to save the traditional hotel with its unique park. At the last minute they managed to interest well-known environmentalist Franz Weber. He set up the Giessbach dem Schweizervolk foundation and in an unparalleled campaign raised the necessary three million francs to save the hotel. In 1983, the foundation acquired the Giessbach property, and a year later they were able to celebrate the reopening of the hotel, which was restored with the help of the office for preservation of historic buildings. Since then, the funicular has also been renovated. As Switzerland's oldest funicular, it is still largely in its original condition. In 2004, Icomos named the Grandhotel Giessbach Historic Hotel of the Year. That same year, the hotel became one of the founding members of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Making the impossible possible – with sincere cooperation.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

A house full of history becomes the embodiment of the statement "without origin there is no future". You will depart differently from the Grandhotel Giessbach than you arrived: The atmosphere of the traditional grand hotel, the furniture from the late 19th century, the embedding in nature, which reinvents itself every year and breathes its own magic into the hotel with every season. Immerse yourself in this symphony of past and present and take unforgettable moments home with you.
1 | 5

Enjoy with origin

The Grandhotel Giessbach is supported by the region and pays respect to this heritage. We cook in harmony with nature and it is no coincidence that these products simply taste best. So the herbs come from their own garden, the vegetables whenever possible from their own field or from the historic garden houses and even the honey is produced by the Giessbach bees. Many farmers and local producers contribute with their products to the well-being of the guests.

Region

1 | 5

Region

There is a lot to see around the hotel. Individual guests who book an overnight stay directly with us benefit from the Giessbach Nostalgia Pass during their entire stay: free boat trip on Lake Brienz, Brienz Rothorn cable cars, Ballenberg open-air museum, funicular railway, etc.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Arrival

The journey is a momentum of arrival in another world, in another time.

By car: Take the exit on the motorway N8 «Brienz – Giessbach». Then follow the signs to Giessbach / Axalp. A limited number of parking spaces are available on site (CHF 10.00 per vehicle per day).

By train and boat: By train to Interlaken Ost, from there by scheduled boat to the "Giessbach See" landing stage. The last stage from Giessbach See takes place with our historic funicular to the hotel.

Have you booked your overnight stay directly with us via phone, e-mail or our hotel website? Then enjoy the free boat trip on the entire Lake Brienz network and many other highlights in the region with the Giessbach Nostalgia Pass.

Please note: The summer season lasts from April to October. The Giessbach funicular railway and the boats on Lake Brienz do not run in winter.

By train and hotel bus: By train to Brienz station. The hotel bus runs only by appointment at the fixed times. This service is free of charge for hotel guests.

By Postbus: The PostBus in the direction of Axalp stops at the "Giessbach junction". From there, a fifteen-minute walk leads past the falls to the hotel.

Awards & Memberships

award-gault-millau-gold
14 Points
award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 2004
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Seit 1873 | 3855 Brienz (BE)

Grandhotel Giessbach

Heute wie vor hundert Jahren bildet die historische Hotelresidenz an den Giessbachfällen hoch über dem Brienzersee eine Welt für sich.
Umgeben von Bergen, Wäldern und Alpwiesen, mit atemberaubendem Blick auf die Brienzerseelandschaft, liegt diese Oase weit abseits von Stress, Alltag und Verkehr.
Mehr entdecken
Umgeben von Bergen, Wäldern und Alpwiesen, mit atemberaubendem Blick auf die Brienzerseelandschaft, liegt diese Oase weit abseits von Stress, Alltag und Verkehr.
Das Grandhotel Giessbach datiert aus dem Jahre 1873 liegt in malerischer Umgebung zwischen Bergen und Brienzersee. Die Anreise per Schiff und 140-jährigen Standseilbahn sind wahrlich einmalig. Die beispielhafte Rettung vor dem Abbruch durch die von Umweltschützer Franz Weber gegründete Stiftung und die möglichst sanften Renovierung der Originalsubstanz machen den Aufenthalt im Grandhotel zu einer wahren Zeitreise.

Lage

Auf dem Land, Am Wasser

Klassifikation

4 Sterne

Öffnungszeiten

ganzjährig

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Park/Garten, Familien-/Kinderfreundlich, Kunst & Kultur, , Icomos Auszeichnung
1 | 5

Geschichte

Dank dem Brienzer Lehrer Johannes Kehrli wurde der Giessbach bereits um 1800 bekannt. Viele Besucher liessen sich damals von den berühmten Schifferinnen von Brienz zu den Wasserfällen rudern. Seit 1840 wurden die Wasserfälle abends beleuchtet, 1857 entstand das erste Hotel.
weiterlesen

Mit dem Kauf der Liegenschaft im Jahre 1870 durch die bekannte Hotelierfamilie Hauser begann die grosse Blütezeit am Giessbach: Nach den Plänen des Architekten Horace Edouard Davinet (1839-1922) entstand auf einer künstlich geschaffenen Terrasse ein Grand Hotel mit eigenem Gaswerk, einer Grosswäscherei, mehreren Badekabinetten, zahlreichen Wasserklosetts und einer gedeckten Wandelbahn im «foresto-rustico-Styl». Zur besseren Erschliessung eröff­neten die Gebrüder Hauser 1879 eine hoteleigene Drahtseilbahn von der Schiffstation zum Hotel. 1883 führte ein Grossbrand zu einem veränderten Aussehen: An die Stelle der Kuppeln von 1875 traten schlanke Spitzhelme und Fassadendekorationen im Schweizer Holzstil. Bei der Wieder­eröffnung im Juli 1884 leuchteten im neuen Hotel Giessbach die ersten elektrischen Lampen. Nach mehreren Besitzerwechseln im 20. Jahrhundert schloss das Hotel 1979 seine Tore, um Platz zu machen für ein zeitge­mässes Chalet-Appartementhaus. Eine Arbeitsgruppe unter der Federführung des Berner Burgerratspräsidenten Rudolf von Fischer setzte sich für die Erhaltung des traditio­nellen Hotelbaus mit seiner einmaligen Parkanlage ein und fand in letzter Minute den bekannten Umweltschützer Franz Weber. Dieser gründete die Stiftung Giessbach dem Schweizervolk und brachte mit einer beispiellosen Rettungskampagne die drei nötigen Millionen zur Rettung zusammen. 1983 erwarb die Stiftung den Giessbachbesitz und im folgenden Jahr konnte die Wiedereröffnung des mit Hilfe der Denkmalpflege restaurierten Hotels gefeiert werden. Seither wurde auch die Drahtseilbahn renoviert, als älteste Drahtseilbahn der Schweiz ist sie aber immer noch weitgehend im Originalzustand erhalten. 2004 erhielt das Grandhotel Giessbach von Icomos den verdienten Titel Histo­risches Hotel des Jahres zugesprochen. Im selben Jahr gehörte das Hotel zu den Gründungsmitgliedern von Swiss Historic Hotels. (RF)

Das Unmögliche möglich machen – mit aufrichtiger Zusammenarbeit.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Zimmer

Ein Haus voller Geschichte wird zur Verkörperung der Aussage «ohne Herkunft keine Zukunft». Sie werden anders vom Grandhotel Giessbach abreisen, als Sie angereist sind: Die Stimmung des traditionsreichen Grandhotels, die Möbel aus dem ausgehenden 19. Jahrhundert, die Einbettung in die Natur, die sich jedes Jahr neu erfindet und dem Hotel mit jeder Jahreszeit einen eigenen Zauber einhaucht.
1 | 5

Geniessen mit Herkunft

Das Grandhotel Giessbach ist von der Region getragen und zollt diesem Erbe Respekt. Wir kochen im Einklang mit der Natur und es ist kein Zufall, dass diese Produkte schlicht am besten schmecken. So kommen die Kräuter aus dem eigenen Garten, das Gemüse wenn immer möglich vom eigenen Acker oder aus den historischen Gartenhäusern und sogar der Honig wird von den Giessbach Bienen produziert. Viele Bauern und lokale Produzenten steuern mit ihren Produkten zum Wohl der Gäste bei.

Region

1 | 5

Region

Rund um das Hotel gibt es viel zu sehen. Individual Gäste, welche direkt bei uns eine Übernachtung buchen, profitieren vom Giessbach Nostalgie-Pass während des gesamten Aufenthaltes: Kostenfreie Schifffahrt Brienzersee, Brienz Rothorn Bahnen, Ballenberg Freilichtmuseum, Standseilbahn.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Anreise

Die Anreise ist ein Momentum der Ankunft in eine andere Welt, in eine andere Zeit.

Per Auto: Nehmen Sie die Ausfahrt auf der Autobahn N8 «Brienz – Giessbach». Folgen Sie anschliessend der Beschilderung Giessbach / Axalp. Auf dem Gelände steht eine limitierte Anzahl an Parkplätzen zur Verfügung (CHF 10.00 pro Fahrzeug und Tag).

Per Zug und Schiff: Mit dem Zug bis nach Interlaken Ost, von dort mit dem Kursschiff zur Anlegestelle «Giessbach See». Die letzte Etappe ab Giessbach See erfolgt mit unserer historischen Standseilbahn bis zum Hotel.

Haben Sie Ihre Übernachtung direkt bei uns via Telefon, E-Mail oder unsere Hotel-Website gebucht? Dann geniessen Sie mit dem Giessbach Nostalgie-Pass die kostenlose Schifffahrt auf dem gesamten Brienzersee-Netz und viele andere Highlights in der Region.

Bitte beachten Sie: Die Sommersaison dauert jeweils von April bis Oktober. Die Giessbach Standseilbahn und die Schiffe auf dem Brienzersee fahren im Winter nicht.

Per Zug und Hotelbus: Mit dem Zug bis Bahnhof Brienz. Der Hotelbus fährt nur auf Voranmeldung zu den festgelegten Uhrzeiten. Dieser Service ist für Hotelgäste kostenlos.

Per Postauto: Das Postauto Richtung Axalp hält an der «Abzweigung Giessbach». Von dort führt ein fünfzehnminütiger Spaziergang an den Wasserfällen vorbei zum Hotel.

Auszeichnungen & Mitgliedschaften

award-gault-millau-gold
14 Punkte
award-icomos-gold
Historisches Hotel des Jahres 2004
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall