Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1519 | 7435 Splügen (GR)

Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz

Special people choose special places of energy for special occasions (family celebrations, birthdays, weddings, seminars, etc.).
Authentic, unique historic structural fabric in a mountain village atmosphere (awarded the Wakker Prize) on the alps-crossing Munich-Milan route. Where Goethe and Grimm once spent the night.
Discover more
Authentic, unique historic structural fabric in a mountain village atmosphere (awarded the Wakker Prize) on the alps-crossing Munich-Milan route. Where Goethe and Grimm once spent the night.

The Weiss Kreuz was probably built at the beginning of the 14th century as a watchtower. It became a traders' inn in 1519, and still dominates life in Splügen from its central position on top of a rocky promontory in the village's old centre. Guests are received through the ancient traders' entrance, and make their way to the 16 restored rooms via a creaky wooden staircase. Each room has a unique charm. The former hayloft has been converted into the hotel's restaurant, where there are superb views across the stone roofs of the village and of the wonderful mountain scenery.

Location

In the mountains

Opening Hours

May to October / December to April

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport, Art & culture, Icomos Award

History

As the German name suggests, the Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz was originally an inn for carters on the mule track over the Splügen Pass. The towering structure, which probably dates back to the 14th century, was erected in a commanding position on a ledge above the historic village center. A village fire in 1716 largely destroyed its wooden parts, but the building was soon rebuilt incorporating the preserved elements.
read more

With the advent of the coach road over the Splügen Pass (1818-1823), the inn became less important. The coaches now bypassed the old village center. As the number of guests declined, the inn began to slowly ­deteriorate and was soon converted to a farmhouse. In the second half of the 20th century, the original structure was largely intact, but the building was badly in need of renovation. With the ­assistance of the cantonal office for preservation of historic buildings and monuments, the Pro Splügen Foundation and the Swiss Heimatschutz, the old inn was finally renovated from 1998-2000, and is now operated as a ­hotel again. The valuable historic structural fabric of the entire hotel, and particularly of the guest rooms, is largely intact. Only the most necessary changes were made, such as the addition of bathrooms, using elements of modern architecture. The current lounge with contemporary furnishings is located in the former barn, the former open entrance to the inn is now the entrance hall. The Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz, the 'old inn', has thus become an evocative and skillful combination of old and new. Icomos gave the hotel a special award in 2002 for its particularly careful restoration in line with the preservation of historic buildings guidelines". The Weiss Kreuz has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2005.

Awards

award-icomos-gold
Special mention 2002
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Ouvrir la galerie
Depuis 1519 | 7435 Splügen (GR)

Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz

Les personnes spéciales choisissent des lieux d'énergie spéciaux pour des occasions spéciales (fêtes de famille, mariages, séminaires, etc.)
Structure historique authentique et unique dans une atmosphère de village de montagne (récompensée par le prix Wakker) sur la route Munich-Milan qui traverse les Alpes. Là où Goethe et Grimm ont passé la nuit.
Découvrir plus
Structure historique authentique et unique dans une atmosphère de village de montagne (récompensée par le prix Wakker) sur la route Munich-Milan qui traverse les Alpes. Là où Goethe et Grimm ont passé la nuit.

Le Weiss Kreuz a probablement été construit au début du XIVe siècle comme tour de guet. Il est devenu une auberge de marchands en 1519 et domine toujours la vie à Splügen depuis sa position centrale au sommet d'un promontoire rocheux dans le vieux centre du village. Les visiteurs sont accueillis par l'ancienne entrée des marchands et se rendent dans les 16 chambres restaurées en empruntant un escalier en bois grinçant. Chaque chambre possède un charme unique. L'ancien grenier à foin a été transformé en restaurant de l'hôtel, d'où l'on jouit d'une superbe vue sur les toits de pierre du village et sur le magnifique paysage de montagne.

Emplacement

À la montagne

Horaires d'ouverture

Mai à octobre / décembre à avril

Type

Banquets/Mariages, Séminaires/affaires, Actif/sport, Art & culture, Adhésions

Histoire

Comme son nom allemand l'indique, l'Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz était à l'origine une auberge pour les charretiers qui empruntaient le sentier muletier du col de Splügen. La structure imposante, qui date probablement du XIVe siècle, a été érigée dans une position dominante sur une corniche au-dessus du centre historique du village. Un incendie dans le village en 1716 a détruit en grande partie ses parties en bois, mais le bâtiment a été reconstruit en incorporant les éléments conservés.
lire la suite

Avec l'avènement de la route des diligences par le col du Splügen (1818-1823), l'auberge perdit de son importance. Les carrosses contournaient désormais le centre du village. Le nombre d'hôtes diminuant, l'auberge commença à se détériorer lentement et fut bientôt transformée en ferme. Dans la seconde moitié du 20e siècle, la structure d'origine était encore largement intacte, mais le bâtiment avait grand besoin d'être rénové. Avec l'aide de l'Office cantonal de conservation des monuments historiques, de la Fondation Pro Splügen et du Heimatschutz suisse, l'ancienne auberge a finalement été rénovée de 1998 à 2000 et est aujourd'hui à nouveau exploitée en tant qu'hôtel. La structure historique précieuse de l'ensemble de l'hôtel, et en particulier des chambres, est en grande partie intacte. Seules les modifications les plus nécessaires ont été apportées, comme l'ajout de salles de bains, en utilisant des éléments d'architecture moderne. Le salon actuel, doté d'un mobilier contemporain, est situé dans l'ancienne grange. L'ancienne entrée ouverte de l'auberge est aujourd'hui le hall d'entrée. L'Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz, la "vieille auberge", est ainsi devenue une combinaison évocatrice et habile d'ancien et de nouveau. En 2002, Icomos a décerné à l'hôtel un prix spécial pour sa restauration particulièrement soignée, conforme aux lignes directrices relatives à la préservation des bâtiments historiques. Le Weiss Kreuz est membre de Swiss Historic Hotels depuis 2005.

Balises

award-icomos-gold
Mention spéciale 2002
Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall