Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1519 | 7435 Splügen (GR)

Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz

Special people choose special places of energy for special occasions (family celebrations, birthdays, weddings, seminars, etc.).
Authentic, unique historic structural fabric in a mountain village atmosphere (awarded the Wakker Prize) on the alps-crossing Munich-Milan route. Where Goethe and Grimm once spent the night.
Discover more
Authentic, unique historic structural fabric in a mountain village atmosphere (awarded the Wakker Prize) on the alps-crossing Munich-Milan route. Where Goethe and Grimm once spent the night.

The Weiss Kreuz was probably built at the beginning of the 14th century as a watchtower. It became a traders' inn in 1519, and still dominates life in Splügen from its central position on top of a rocky promontory in the village's old centre. Guests are received through the ancient traders' entrance, and make their way to the 16 restored rooms via a creaky wooden staircase. Each room has a unique charm. The former hayloft has been converted into the hotel's restaurant, where there are superb views across the stone roofs of the village and of the wonderful mountain scenery.

Location

In the mountains

Opening Hours

May to October / December to April

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport, Art & culture, Icomos Award

History

As the German name suggests, the Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz was originally an inn for carters on the mule track over the Splügen Pass. The towering structure, which probably dates back to the 14th century, was erected in a commanding position on a ledge above the historic village center. A village fire in 1716 largely destroyed its wooden parts, but the building was soon rebuilt incorporating the preserved elements.
read more

With the advent of the coach road over the Splügen Pass (1818-1823), the inn became less important. The coaches now bypassed the old village center. As the number of guests declined, the inn began to slowly ­deteriorate and was soon converted to a farmhouse. In the second half of the 20th century, the original structure was largely intact, but the building was badly in need of renovation. With the ­assistance of the cantonal office for preservation of historic buildings and monuments, the Pro Splügen Foundation and the Swiss Heimatschutz, the old inn was finally renovated from 1998-2000, and is now operated as a ­hotel again. The valuable historic structural fabric of the entire hotel, and particularly of the guest rooms, is largely intact. Only the most necessary changes were made, such as the addition of bathrooms, using elements of modern architecture. The current lounge with contemporary furnishings is located in the former barn, the former open entrance to the inn is now the entrance hall. The Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz, the 'old inn', has thus become an evocative and skillful combination of old and new. Icomos gave the hotel a special award in 2002 for its particularly careful restoration in line with the preservation of historic buildings guidelines". The Weiss Kreuz has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2005.

Awards

award-icomos-gold
Special mention 2002
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1519 | 7435 Splügen (GR)

Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz

Besondere Menschen wählen für besondere Ereignisse (Familienfeste, Geburtstag, Hochzeit, Seminare etc.) besondere Kraftorte!
Echte, einmalige, historische Bausubstanz im Wakker Preisgekrönten Bergdorfambiente an der alpentransversale München-Mailand! Wo schon Goethe und Grimm genächtigt haben.
Mehr entdecken
Echte, einmalige, historische Bausubstanz im Wakker Preisgekrönten Bergdorfambiente an der alpentransversale München-Mailand! Wo schon Goethe und Grimm genächtigt haben.
Das Kultur- und Erlebnishotel in der im Jahre 1519 erbauten historischen Säumerherberge, befindet sich an einzigartiger Lage im alten Dorfkern. Die ehemalige offene Saumtier-Einfahrt dient heute als Entrée. Über knarrende Holztreppen und -dielen gelangt man in die 16 ursprünglichen Zimmer, die alle einen individuellen Charme haben. Das Restaurant befindet sich im früheren Heustall. Von dort begeistert ein fantastischer Ausblick über die Steindächer von Splügen auf die herrliche Bergwelt des Rheinwaldes.

Lage

In den Bergen

Öffnungszeiten

Mai bis Oktober / Dezember bis April

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Kunst & Kultur, Icomos Auszeichnung

Geschichte

Wie der Name bereits vermuten lässt, war das Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz ursprünglich eine Säumerherberge am Saumweg über den Splügenpass. Das wahrscheinlich aus dem 14. Jahrhundert stammende Turmhaus wurde auf einem Geländevorsprung über dem historischen Dorfkern an dominanter Stelle erbaut. Beim Dorfbrand 1716 wurden die Holzteile des Gebäudes weitgehend zerstört, der Bau wurde jedoch kurz darauf unter Einbezug der erhaltenen Teile wieder aufgebaut.
weiterlesen
Beim Bau der Kommerzialstrasse über den Splügenpass 1818-1823 verlor die Herberge an Bedeutung. Der alte Dorfkern wurde nun von den Kutschen umfahren. Mit dem Rückgang der Gästezahl begann ein langsamer Niedergang, so dass die alte Gaststätte bald als Bauernhaus genutzt wurde. In der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts waren die ursprünglichen Bauteile noch zum grössten Teil erhalten, doch bedurfte das Gebäude einer dringenden Sanierung. Dank der Mithilfe der kantonalen Denkmalpflege Graubünden, der Stiftung Pro Splügen und des Schweizerischen Heimatschutzes konnte die alte Herberge 1998-2000 schliesslich renoviert werden, seither wird sie wieder als Hotel genutzt. Die wertvolle historische Substanz des ganzen Hauses, vor allem aber der Gästezimmer, blieb dabei weitgehend bestehen. Nur das Notwendigste, wie beispielsweise die Nasszellen, wurde mit Elementen moderner Architektur eingefügt. Der heutige Saal mit neuzeitlichem Mobiliar befindet sich im früheren Heuschober, als Eingangsbereich dient die ehemalige offene Einfahrt ins Haus. Das Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz verkörpert deshalb ein stimmungsvolles und gekonntes Zusammenspiel zwischen Alt und Neu. Im Jahr 2002 erhielt das Haus eine besondere Auszeichnung von Icomos «für seine äus­serst sorgfältige denkmalpflegerische Wiederherstellung». Seit 2005 ist das Hotel Weiss Kreuz Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels. (FF)

Auszeichnungen

award-icomos-gold
Besondere Auszeichnung 2002
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall