Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1788 | 6474 Amsteg (UR)

Hotel Stern & Post

Small but nice. Charming hotel with nostalgic parlours reminiscent of the heyday of stagecoaches.
After a gentle and stylish renovation, the historic hotel from 1788 is experiencing a new heyday: The well-kept rooms, the dignified restaurant and the special seminar rooms are aimed at guests who are looking for peace and relaxation and like to revel in the past.
Discover more
After a gentle and stylish renovation, the historic hotel from 1788 is experiencing a new heyday: The well-kept rooms, the dignified restaurant and the special seminar rooms are aimed at guests who are looking for peace and relaxation and like to revel in the past.

The romantic inn in 1788 was one of the first post offices in Switzerland and a hostel for famous guests such as Johann Wolfgang von Goethe and Hans Christian Andersen. Many antiques are reminiscent of the heyday of stagecoach traffic on the Gotthard. The park-like garden, the rooms with the historical details with authentic furniture and the cozy dining room offer real nostalgic charm.

Location

In the country, By the water

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

From Easter to October

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, Icomos Award
1 | 4

History

The Hotel Stern & Post in Amsteg is one of the oldest inns in Central Switzerland: its first documentary mention dates back to 1357. At that time, the modest hostel served pilgrims and traders as a last resting place before the dangerous crossing of the Alps.
read more

With the growing interest in the Alpine regions in the course of the 18th century, scientists and writers also found their way across the Gotthard, above all Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832) on his three Swiss journeys. After a great village fire in May 1788, a completely new inn was built: a typical Central Swiss house with a steep gable roof and several rows of windows in the Baroque panelled dining rooms on the first floor.

After the opening of the stagecoach connection over the Gotthard Pass in 1830, the formerly modest inn became an important post office exchange station. Already from the opening year of the road over the Gotthard Pass comes an important extension in Biedermeier style on the back of the main building. In 1850, the Swiss Federal Post Office, which had been created two years earlier, set up the first public post office in the inn. Around 1870, a new branch was added on the west side towards the banks of the Reuss, which offered even more comfort to well-heeled tourists from abroad. The opening of the Gotthard Railway in 1882 had hardly any negative impact on the success of the Hotel Stern & Post in Amsteg has always remained a sought-after stage location on the north-south axis through the Swiss Alps. Thus, after the Second World War, when automobile traffic to the south increased sharply, the hotel received further significant renovations. . In the post-war period, the panorama hall cantilevered on supports was also built on the garden side. The Hotel Stern & Post has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2008, and in 2009 the hotel received a special award from the Icomos jury "for the professional restoration of the completely preserved stock of high-quality hotel furniture from all eras of the operation".

Region

Region

The Hotel Stern und Post in Amsteg is located in a popular hiking area and directly on the Via Gottardo. Discover for yourself the famous Maderanertal or the Arnisee. Other worthwhile destinations are Lake Uri with the Rütli, the Gotthard massif and the Göscheneralpsee.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Hotel Stern & Post
Gotthardstrasse 88, 6474 Amsteg (UR)

+41 41 884 01 01
info@stern-post.ch
www.stern-post.ch

Arrival

Our cozy house is well located on the north-south highway and is an ideal location for numerous hikes and passes (nearby passes are Furka, Gotthard, Klausen, Lukmanier, Nufenen, Oberalp and Susten).

Arrival by private vehicle
Motorway A2, exit no. 38 Amsteg, on cantonal road south about 300 meters to Amsteg (our house is clearly visible in the middle of the village).

Estimated travel time

Andermatt (20 min. / 21.5 km)
Airolo (30 min. / 34 km)
Basel (1 hour 30 min / 148 km)
Bern (1 hour 35 min. / 163 km)
Lucerne (35 min. / 53 km)
Milano (2 hrs 10 mins / 192 km)
Schwyz (30 min. / 33 km)
Train (45 min. / 56 km)
Zurich (1 hour / 90 km)

Arrival by public transport
By train to Altdorf or Erstfeld station. Continue by bus directly to our front door (bus lines 401 and 412, direction Göschenen to stop Amsteg Post).

Awards & Memberships

award-icomos-gold
Special price furniture 2009
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Ouvrir la galerie
Depuis 1788 | 6474 Amsteg (UR)

Hotel Stern & Post

Petit mais agréable. Hôtel charmant avec des salons nostalgiques rappelant l'époque des diligences.
Après une rénovation douce et élégante, l'hôtel historique de 1788 connaît un nouvel essor : Les chambres soignées, le restaurant raffiné et les salles de séminaire spéciales s'adressent aux clients qui recherchent le calme et la détente et qui aiment se replonger dans le passé.
Découvrir plus
Après une rénovation douce et élégante, l'hôtel historique de 1788 connaît un nouvel essor : Les chambres soignées, le restaurant raffiné et les salles de séminaire spéciales s'adressent aux clients qui recherchent le calme et la détente et qui aiment se replonger dans le passé.

En 1788, cette auberge romantique a été l'un des premiers bureaux de poste de Suisse et a accueilli des hôtes célèbres tels que Johann Wolfgang von Goethe et Hans Christian Andersen. De nombreuses antiquités rappellent l'apogée de la circulation des diligences sur le Saint-Gothard. Le jardin qui ressemble à un parc, les chambres aux détails historiques avec des meubles authentiques et la salle à manger confortable offrent un véritable charme nostalgique.

Emplacement

À la campagne, Au bord de l’eau

Classification d'hôtel

3 Étoiles

Horaires d'ouverture

De Pâques à octobre

Type

Banquets/Mariages, Séminaires/affaires, Actif/sport, Parc/jardin, Adapté aux familles/enfants, Art & culture, Adhésions
1 | 4

Histoire

L'hôtel Stern & Post d'Amsteg est l'une des plus anciennes auberges de Suisse centrale : sa première mention documentaire remonte à 1357. A l'époque, cette modeste auberge servait de dernière étape aux pèlerins et aux commerçants avant la dangereuse traversée des Alpes.
lire la suite

Avec l'intérêt croissant pour les régions alpines au cours du 18e siècle, des scientifiques et des écrivains ont également franchi le Saint-Gothard, notamment Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832) lors de ses trois voyages en Suisse. Après le grand incendie du village en mai 1788, une toute nouvelle auberge fut construite : une maison typique de Suisse centrale avec un toit à pignon raide et plusieurs rangées de fenêtres dans les salles à manger lambrissées de style baroque au premier étage.

Après l'ouverture de la liaison par diligence au col du Saint-Gothard en 1830, l'auberge, autrefois modeste, devint une importante station de change de la poste. Dès l'année d'ouverture de la route du col du Saint-Gothard, une importante extension de style Biedermeier est construite à l'arrière du bâtiment principal. En 1850, la Poste fédérale suisse, créée deux ans plus tôt, installe le premier bureau de poste public dans l'auberge. Vers 1870, une nouvelle succursale est ajoutée du côté ouest, vers les rives de la Reuss, qui offre encore plus de confort aux touristes fortunés venus de l'étranger. L'ouverture de la ligne ferroviaire du Gothard en 1882 n'a guère eu d'impact négatif sur le succès de l'hôtel Stern & Post à Amsteg, qui est toujours resté un lieu d'étape recherché sur l'axe nord-sud à travers les Alpes suisses. Ainsi, après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, lorsque le trafic automobile vers le sud a fortement augmenté, l'hôtel a fait l'objet de nouvelles rénovations importantes. . Dans la période d'après-guerre, la salle panoramique en porte-à-faux sur des supports a également été construite du côté du jardin. L'hôtel Stern & Post est membre de Swiss Historic Hotels depuis 2008 et a reçu en 2009 un prix spécial du jury Icomos "pour la restauration professionnelle du stock entièrement préservé de meubles d'hôtel de haute qualité provenant de toutes les époques de l'exploitation".

Région

Région

L'hôtel Stern und Post d'Amsteg est situé dans une zone de randonnée populaire et directement sur la Via Gottardo. Découvrez par vous-même le célèbre Maderanertal ou l'Arnisee. D'autres destinations intéressantes sont le lac d'Uri avec le Rütli, le massif du Gotthard et le Göscheneralpsee.

Contact & Accès

Online Booking
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes

Contact

Hotel Stern & Post
Gotthardstrasse 88, 6474 Amsteg (UR)

+41 41 884 01 01
info@stern-post.ch
www.stern-post.ch

Arrivée

Notre maison confortable est bien située sur l'autoroute nord-sud et constitue un emplacement idéal pour de nombreuses randonnées et cols (les cols à proximité sont Furka, Gotthard, Klausen, Lukmanier, Nufenen, Oberalp et Susten).

Arrivée en véhicule privé
Autoroute A2, sortie no. 38 Amsteg, sur la route cantonale sud environ 300 mètres jusqu'à Amsteg (notre maison est bien visible au milieu du village).

Durée estimée du trajet
Andermatt (20 min. / 21,5 km)
Airolo (30 min. / 34 km)
Bâle (1 heure 30 min / 148 km)
Berne (1 heure 35 min. / 163 km)
Lucerne (35 min. / 53 km)
Milan (2 heures 10 minutes / 192 km)
Schwyz (30 min. / 33 km)
Train (45 min. / 56 km)
Zurich (1 heure / 90 km)

Arrivée par les transports publics
En train jusqu'à la gare d'Altdorf ou d'Erstfeld. Continuer en bus jusqu'à notre porte d'entrée (lignes de bus 401 et 412, direction Göschenen jusqu'à l'arrêt Amsteg Post).

Balises & Affiliations

award-icomos-gold
Prix spécial Mobilière 2009
Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall