Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1788 | 6474 Amsteg (UR)

Hotel Stern & Post

Small but nice. Charming hotel with nostalgic parlours reminiscent of the heyday of stagecoaches.
After a gentle and stylish renovation, the historic hotel from 1788 is experiencing a new heyday: The well-kept rooms, the dignified restaurant and the special seminar rooms are aimed at guests who are looking for peace and relaxation and like to revel in the past.
Discover more
After a gentle and stylish renovation, the historic hotel from 1788 is experiencing a new heyday: The well-kept rooms, the dignified restaurant and the special seminar rooms are aimed at guests who are looking for peace and relaxation and like to revel in the past.

The romantic inn in 1788 was one of the first post offices in Switzerland and a hostel for famous guests such as Johann Wolfgang von Goethe and Hans Christian Andersen. Many antiques are reminiscent of the heyday of stagecoach traffic on the Gotthard. The park-like garden, the rooms with the historical details with authentic furniture and the cozy dining room offer real nostalgic charm.

Location

In the country, By the water

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

From Easter to October

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, Icomos Award
1 | 4

History

The Hotel Stern & Post in Amsteg is one of the oldest inns in Central Switzerland: its first documentary mention dates back to 1357. At that time, the modest hostel served pilgrims and traders as a last resting place before the dangerous crossing of the Alps.
read more

With the growing interest in the Alpine regions in the course of the 18th century, scientists and writers also found their way across the Gotthard, above all Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832) on his three Swiss journeys. After a great village fire in May 1788, a completely new inn was built: a typical Central Swiss house with a steep gable roof and several rows of windows in the Baroque panelled dining rooms on the first floor.

After the opening of the stagecoach connection over the Gotthard Pass in 1830, the formerly modest inn became an important post office exchange station. Already from the opening year of the road over the Gotthard Pass comes an important extension in Biedermeier style on the back of the main building. In 1850, the Swiss Federal Post Office, which had been created two years earlier, set up the first public post office in the inn. Around 1870, a new branch was added on the west side towards the banks of the Reuss, which offered even more comfort to well-heeled tourists from abroad. The opening of the Gotthard Railway in 1882 had hardly any negative impact on the success of the Hotel Stern & Post in Amsteg has always remained a sought-after stage location on the north-south axis through the Swiss Alps. Thus, after the Second World War, when automobile traffic to the south increased sharply, the hotel received further significant renovations. . In the post-war period, the panorama hall cantilevered on supports was also built on the garden side. The Hotel Stern & Post has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2008, and in 2009 the hotel received a special award from the Icomos jury "for the professional restoration of the completely preserved stock of high-quality hotel furniture from all eras of the operation".

Region

Region

The Hotel Stern und Post in Amsteg is located in a popular hiking area and directly on the Via Gottardo. Discover for yourself the famous Maderanertal or the Arnisee. Other worthwhile destinations are Lake Uri with the Rütli, the Gotthard massif and the Göscheneralpsee.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Hotel Stern & Post
Gotthardstrasse 88, 6474 Amsteg (UR)

+41 41 884 01 01
info@stern-post.ch
www.stern-post.ch

Arrival

Our cozy house is well located on the north-south highway and is an ideal location for numerous hikes and passes (nearby passes are Furka, Gotthard, Klausen, Lukmanier, Nufenen, Oberalp and Susten).

Arrival by private vehicle
Motorway A2, exit no. 38 Amsteg, on cantonal road south about 300 meters to Amsteg (our house is clearly visible in the middle of the village).

Estimated travel time

Andermatt (20 min. / 21.5 km)
Airolo (30 min. / 34 km)
Basel (1 hour 30 min / 148 km)
Bern (1 hour 35 min. / 163 km)
Lucerne (35 min. / 53 km)
Milano (2 hrs 10 mins / 192 km)
Schwyz (30 min. / 33 km)
Train (45 min. / 56 km)
Zurich (1 hour / 90 km)

Arrival by public transport
By train to Altdorf or Erstfeld station. Continue by bus directly to our front door (bus lines 401 and 412, direction Göschenen to stop Amsteg Post).

Awards & Memberships

award-icomos-gold
Special price furniture 2009
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1788 | 6474 Amsteg (UR)

Hotel Stern & Post

Klein aber fein. Charmantes Hotel mit nostalgischen Stuben, die an die grosse Zeit der Postkutschen erinnern.
Nach einer sanften und stilvollen Renovation erlebt das historische Hotel aus dem Jahr 1788 eine neue Blüte: Die gepflegten Zimmer, das gediegene Restaurant sowie die speziellen Seminarräume richten sich an Gäste, die Ruhe und Erholung suchen und dabei gerne in der Vergangenheit schwelgen.
Mehr entdecken
Nach einer sanften und stilvollen Renovation erlebt das historische Hotel aus dem Jahr 1788 eine neue Blüte: Die gepflegten Zimmer, das gediegene Restaurant sowie die speziellen Seminarräume richten sich an Gäste, die Ruhe und Erholung suchen und dabei gerne in der Vergangenheit schwelgen.
Der romantische Gasthof anno 1788 war eine der ersten Poststellen der Schweiz und Herberge berühmter Gäste wie Johann Wolfgang von Goethe und Hans Christian Andersen. Viele Antiquitäten erinnern an die grosse Zeit des Postkutschenverkehrs am Gotthard. Der parkähnliche Garten, die Zimmer mit den historischen Details samt authentischen Möbeln und der gemütliche Speisesaal bieten echten nostalgischen Charme.

Lage

Auf dem Land, Am Wasser

Klassifikation

3 Sterne

Öffnungszeiten

Ostern bis Oktober

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Park/Garten, Familien-/Kinderfreundlich, Kunst & Kultur, Icomos Auszeichnung
1 | 4

Geschichte

Das Hotel Stern & Post in Amsteg gehört zu den ältesten Gasthäusern der Innerschweiz: Seine erste urkundliche Erwähnung datiert aus dem Jahr 1357. Damals diente die bescheidene Herberge Pilgern und Händlern als letzte Raststätte vor der gefährlichen Überquerung der Alpen.
weiterlesen

Mit dem aufkommenden Interesse an den alpinen Regionen im Laufe des 18. Jahrhunderts fanden auch Wissenschaftler und Schriftsteller den Weg über den Gotthard, allen voran Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832) auf seinen drei Schweizer Reisen. Nach einem grossen Dorfbrand im Mai 1788 entstand ein vollständig neuer Gasthof: ein typisches Innerschweizer Haus mit steilem Satteldach und mehreren Fensterreihen in den mit barockem Täfer ausgestatteten Gaststuben im ersten Obergeschoss. Nach der Eröffnung der Postkutschenverbindung über den Gotthardpass 1830 wurde aus dem ehemals bescheidenen Gasthaus eine bedeutende Postwechselstation. Bereits aus dem Eröffnungsjahr der Fahrstrasse über den Gotthardpass stammt ein bedeutender Anbau im biedermeierlichen Stil auf der Rückseite des Hauptgebäudes. 1850 richtete die zwei Jahre zuvor geschaffene Eidgenössische Post im Gasthaus eine erste öffentliche Poststelle ein. Um 1870 kam auf der Westseite gegen das Reussufer eine neue Dépendance hinzu, die den gut betuchten Touristen aus dem Ausland nochmals mehr Komfort anbot. Die Eröffnung der Gotthardbahn 1882 hatte kaum negative Auswirkungen auf den Erfolg des Geschäfts, das Hotel Stern & Post in Amsteg blieb stets ein begehrter Etappenort auf der Nord-Süd-Achse durch die Schweizer Alpen. So erhielt das Hotel nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, als der Automobilverkehr nach Süden stark zunahm, nochmals bedeutende Erneuerungen. In der Nachkriegszeit entstand auch der auf Stützen auskragende Panoramasaal auf der Gartenseite. Seit 2008 ist das Hotel Stern & Post Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels, 2009 erhielt das Haus von der Icomos-Jury eine besondere Auszeichnung «für die fachgerechte Restaurierung des vollständig erhaltenen Bestandes qualitätsvoller Hotelmöbel aus allen Epochen des Betriebes».

Region

Region

Das Hotel Stern und Post in Amsteg liegt in einer beliebten Wandergegend und direkt an der Via Gottardo. Entdecken Sie selber das berühmte Maderanertal oder den Arnisee. Weitere lohnende Ziele sind der Urnersee mit dem Rütli, das Gotthardmassiv und der Göscheneralpsee.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Hotel Stern & Post
Gotthardstrasse 88, 6474 Amsteg (UR)

+41 41 884 01 01
info@stern-post.ch
www.stern-post.ch

Anreise

Unser gemütliches Haus liegt gut gelegen an der Nord-Süd-Autobahn und ist ein idealer Standort für zahlreiche Wanderungen und Passfahrten (nahe gelegene Pässe sind Furka, Gotthard, Klausen, Lukmanier, Nufenen, Oberalp und Susten).

Anreise mit dem Privatfahrzeug
Autobahn A2, Ausfahrt Nr. 38 Amsteg, auf Kantonsstrasse nach Süden ca. 300 Meter bis Amsteg (unser Haus steht gut sichtbar mitten im Dorf).

Geschätzte Fahrzeit

Andermatt (20 Min. / 21,5 km)
Airolo (30 Min. / 34 km)
Basel (1 Std. 30 Min. / 148 km)
Bern (1 Std. 35 Min. / 163 km)
Luzern (35 Min. / 53 km)
Milano (2 Std. 10 Min. / 192 km)
Schwyz (30 Min. / 33 km)
Zug (45 Min. / 56 km)
Zürich (1 Std. / 90 km)

Anreise mit dem öffentlichen Verkehr
Mit dem Zug bis zum Bahnhof Altdorf oder Erstfeld. Weiter mit dem Bus direkt vor unsere Haustüre (Buslinie 401 und 412, Richtung Göschenen bis Haltestelle Amsteg Post).

Auszeichnungen & Mitgliedschaften

award-icomos-gold
Spezialpreis Mobiliar 2009
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall