Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1908 | 7514 Sils/Segl Maria (GR)

Hotel Waldhaus

Continuity without breaks
Taking history into the future: owned and operated by the same family since 1908. Grand, but friendly and relaxed – peaceful, family-oriented, intimate.
Discover more
Taking history into the future: owned and operated by the same family since 1908. Grand, but friendly and relaxed – peaceful, family-oriented, intimate.

The Waldhaus in Sils Maria is seen as an icon of Swiss hotel tradition. The legendary hotel sits above the Engadine lake landscape. It radiates the grandeur of an earlier age and is an insider tip for culture, food and wine. The innovative spirit of the founding family and the unceremonious warmth of their welcome makes this hotel almost irresistible. Its location is a dream. Sils Maria is a picturesque alpine village, a paradise for hikers and those who want to reach the peaks. It is well-known for a wide variety of downhill runs, cross-country ski trails and ski tours in winter. And above it all, serenely and alone, stands the Waldhaus, a place with plenty of space and time – in a unique alpine and lake landscape. A grand hotel, inviting and delightful.

Location

By the water, In the mountains

Hotel classification

5 Stars

Opening Hours

June to October and December to April

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Wellness/spa, Active/sport, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, Icomos Award

Host

Brothers Claudio and Patrick Dietrich as managers are the fifth generation of their family to run the hotel.
1 | 5

History

The Waldhaus Sils was built in 1908, an imposing hotel-castle in the forest above the village of Sils Maria. The experienced hoteliers Josef and Amalie Giger-Nigg found an attentive planner and site manager in the person of the young, energetic architect Karl Koller (1873-1946).
read more

With meticulous care and vast expertise, the builder-owners and the architect jointly decided on everything, down to the last detail, from the splendid hillside location to the optimal floor plans to the size and form of the silverware. What they wanted was no forbidding fortress, but a place to linger and enjoy, a hotel on an incomparable site in the midst of the protected Engadine lake landscape and with a breathtaking view of the Sils plain. The Waldhaus is one of the few Swiss five-star hotels to have stayed in the same family since it was opened. This family has succeeded in maintaining the hotel, protecting its historic structures even during difficult times. By accepting and adhering to its original values, the Waldhaus has remained exceptionally authentic to this day. Its external appearance largely reflects the original structure, as does its interior with a striking concentration of original furnishings in both the public and the guest rooms. A high point is the impressive staircase with a wrought-iron chandelier. In more recent times, several additions of high architectural quality have been incorporated, such as the indoor pool (1970) by architect Otto Glaus. The most recent contemporary interventions by the architects Miller & Maranta in the entrance area, in the public rooms, the expansion of the wellness facility from 2016 and 2020 and by Armando Ruinelli in the guest rooms perfectly complement the historic structure. ICOMOS named the Waldhaus Historic Hotel of the Year 2005 and 2016 in recognition of its exceptional decades-long commitment. The Waldhaus was a founding member of Swiss Historic Hotels in 2004.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

The hotel offers a 365° view: to the east Lake Silvaplana, to the west, Lake Sils, to the north the Sils plain and to the south the circle of mountains at the back of the enchanting Fex Valley. As appealingly diverse as these views are, the 140 rooms and suites are just as distinctive. Three styles of rooms are available: classic, modern and nostalgic, the latter with original restored furnishings from 1908.
1 | 5

Gastronomy

Regional and high-quality cuisine: that’s what our kitchen crew likes to create. We value working with local partners and producers. Discover a diverse selection of fine dishes, as you taste your way through our richly varied restaurants. Drink to your stay with a glass of fine wine or a cool drink in the bar or great lounge, and let these historic rooms work their magic on you. Rooms in which you’ll always find good company.

Region

1 | 5

Region

Sils Maria lies 10 km southwest of St. Moritz. The village is idyllically located between Lake Sils and Lake Silvaplana at the entrance to the Fex Valley. In the vast sun-filled landscape, which is said to be a special energy spot, everyone can find happiness.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Hotel Waldhaus
Via da Fex 3, 7514 Sils/Segl Maria (GR)

+41 81 838 51 00
mail@waldhaus-sils.ch
www.waldhaus-sils.ch

Arrival

Below you will find various travel options:

Arriving by car from the north

  • via Zurich–Chur–Julier Pass in 3 hours

Alternate route to avoid the pass

  • Vereina car ferry from Klosters to Sagliains www.rhb.ch/en/car-transporter. From Zurich approx. 3½ hours

By car from Italy/ Ticino

  • Lugano–Menaggio–Chiavenna–Maloja Pass (approx. 2 ½ hrs.)
  • Bellinzona–San Bernardino–Thusis–Julier Pass (approx. 2 ½ hrs)

Arriving by train from Zurich

  • Until 8.30 p.m. one or two trains per hour between Zurich main station and St. Moritz, travel time 3 to 3½ hours

Arriving by train and bus from Ticino

  • Swiss post bus Lugano–St. Moritz (stops in Sils/Segl Maria posta), daily in summer, weekends only in winter
  • Swiss post bus Bellinzona–Thusis, train Thusis–St. Moritz.

More information: www.sbb.ch; www.google.com/maps

Our driver will be happy to meet you at the St. Moritz train station (or the Sils Maria post office), free of charge, if you can tell us your arrival time in advance.

Awards & Memberships

award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 2005
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Ouvrir la galerie
Depuis 1908 | 7514 Sils/Segl Maria (GR)

Hotel Waldhaus

Continuité sans rupture
L’hôtel est détenu et dirigé par la même famille depuis 1908, sans interruption. Riche d’histoire, cette grande maison offre une ambiance accueillante, familiale et personnelle.
Découvrir plus
L’hôtel est détenu et dirigé par la même famille depuis 1908, sans interruption. Riche d’histoire, cette grande maison offre une ambiance accueillante, familiale et personnelle.

Le Waldhaus de Sils-Maria est considéré comme une icône de la tradition hôtelière suisse. Surplombant le paysage lacustre de l’Engadine, cet hôtel légendaire trône au-dessus du village. L’esprit d’innovation des propriétaires, l’hospitalité décontractée qui y règne et sa situation de rêve le rendent irrésistible. De plus, Sils-Maria est un charmant village de montagne, un paradis pour les randonneurs et ceux qui souhaitent monter encore plus haut. En hiver, la richesse et la variété des pistes de ski alpin et de ski de fond, et les nombreuses possibilités de randonnée renforcent encore sa réputation. Dans la forêt, en hauteur, le Waldhaus apparaît, imposant, libre et serein, un lieu dans lequel le temps semble suspendu, dans un paysage unique de montagnes et de lacs. Un Grand Hôtel, oui, mais accessible et à dimension humaine.

Emplacement

Au bord de l’eau, À la montagne

Classification d'hôtel

5 Étoiles

Horaires d'ouverture

Juin à octobre et décembre à avril

Type

Banquets/Mariages, Séminaires/affaires, Wellness/spa, Actif/sport, Adapté aux familles/enfants, Art & culture, Adhésions

Hôte

La direction de l’hôtel est désormais entre les mains des frères Claudio et Patrick Dietrich, membres de la 5e génération.
1 | 5

Histoire

L’hôtel Waldhaus de Sils-Maria a été érigé en 1908, tel un château dans la forêt au-dessus du village. Josef et Amalie Giger-Nigg, couple d’hôteliers expérimentés, avaient trouvé en Karl Koller (1873-1946) un architecte jeune et dynamique, un planificateur et un superviseur attentif.
lire la suite

Ensemble, les maîtres d’ouvrage et l’architecte ont tout conçu, jusqu’au dernier détail, apportant à leurs réflexions un soin méticuleux et des connaissances impressionnantes. De la situation quelque peu extravagante, sur la colline, à la répartition fonctionnelle et optimale des locaux, jusqu’à la taille et à la forme des couverts, rien ne fut laissé au hasard. Ils s’accordèrent aussi sur le fait que l’hôtel ne devait pas être une forteresse, mais un établissement invitant à la détente et à la découverte, un hôtel dans une situation incomparable au milieu du paysage protégé de l’Engadine et offrant une vue à couper le souffle sur la plaine de Sils. Le Waldhaus est l’un des rares hôtels cinq étoiles suisses à être resté propriété de la même famille depuis son ouverture. Celle-ci est parvenue, y compris dans des périodes difficiles, à maintenir l’hôtel et à l’exploiter en préservant sa substance historique. L’hôtel se présente aujourd’hui comme un établissement original exceptionnel par le respect et le soin apporté aux valeurs originelles. Non seulement l’aspect extérieur correspond en grande partie à l’existant historique, mais l’intérieur a conservé aussi une densité étonnante d’équipements fidèles à l’original, tant dans les espaces publics que dans les chambres. L’escalier majestueux et son lustre en fer forgé est sans aucun doute le fleuron de l’établissement. À une époque plus récente, quelques améliorations de grande qualité ont été apportées, comme la piscine ouverte en 1970, œuvre de l’architecte Otto Glaus. Les tout derniers travaux, ceux des architectes Miller & Maranta dans l’entrée, les espaces publics, l’agrandissement de notre espace bien-être en 2016 et 2020, ainsi que les rénovations entreprises par Armando Ruinelli dans les chambres s’intègrent à merveille dans la structure historique. La nomination d’Hôtel historique de l’année 2005 par ICOMOS ainsi que le grand prix du jubilé décerné en 2015, lors des 20 ans des «Hôtels historiques de l’année», traduisent une reconnaissance méritée pour cet engagement exceptionnel au fil des décennies. En 2004, l’hôtel Waldhaus a fait partie des membres fondateurs de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Chambres & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Chambres

De l’hôtel, les hôtes jouissent d’une vue panoramique sur les quatre points cardinaux: vers l’est et le lac de Silvaplana, vers l’ouest et le lac de Sils, vers le nord et la plaine de Sils et, enfin, vers le sud et le fascinant Val Fex. Mais au Waldhaus, il n’y a pas que les points de vue sur les alentours qui sont variés. Les 140 chambres et suites proposent elles aussi une diversité unique, de style classique, moderne ou nostalgique, avec l’aménagement original restauré.
1 | 5

Gastronomie

Local et de qualité, tel est le crédo de notre équipe de cuisine. Nous avons à cœur de collaborer avec des partenaires de la région. Découvrez un choix varié de mets raffinés et goûtez à la diversité de nos restaurants. Venez trinquer à votre séjour, au Bar ou dans le grand Hall, avec un bon vin ou un drink rafraîchissant, et laissez-vous charmer par l’ambiance de ces grandes salles chargées d’histoire. Quel que soit le moment de la journée, vous y serez toujours en bonne compagnie.

Région

1 | 5

Région

Sils Maria lies 10 km southwest of St. Moritz. The village is idyllically located between Lake Sils and Lake Silvaplana at the entrance to the Fex Valley. In the vast sun-filled landscape, which is said to be a special energy spot, everyone can find happiness.

Contact & Accès

Online Booking
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes

Contact

Hotel Waldhaus
Via da Fex 3, 7514 Sils/Segl Maria (GR)

+41 81 838 51 00
mail@waldhaus-sils.ch
www.waldhaus-sils.ch

Arrivée

Venir par la route

  • Via Zurich-Chur (Coire)-col du Julier, en 3 heures

Autre solution pour éviter le col:

  • Le train navette autos à Vereina. De Zurich env. 3 ½ heures

Par la route, venant du Tessin

  • Lugano–Menaggio–Chiavenna–col de Maloja (env. 2 ½ heures)
  • Bellinzona–San Bernardino–Thusis–col du Julier (env. 2 ½ heures)

En train depuis Zurich:

  • En journée et jusqu’à 20 h 30, au moins une liaison par heure entre Zurich HB (gare
    centrale) et Saint-Moritz, durée de trajet 3 à 3½ heures.

En train et en car, en venant du Tessin:

  • Car postal Lugano-Saint-Moritz (qui dessert Sils-Maria), tous les jours en été, seulement
    le week-end en hiver
  • Car postal Bellinzona-Thusis, puis train Thusis-Saint-Moritz

Informations supplémentaires: www.sbb.ch; www.google.com/maps

Annoncez-nous votre heure d’arrivée à la gare de Saint-Moritz et notre chauffeur ira vous
chercher, gracieusement.

Balises & Affiliations

award-icomos-gold
Hôtel historique de l'année 2005
Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall