Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1908 | 7514 Sils/Segl Maria (GR)

Hotel Waldhaus

Continuity without breaks
Taking history into the future: owned and operated by the same family since 1908. Grand, but friendly and relaxed – peaceful, family-oriented, intimate.
Discover more
Taking history into the future: owned and operated by the same family since 1908. Grand, but friendly and relaxed – peaceful, family-oriented, intimate.

The Waldhaus in Sils Maria is seen as an icon of Swiss hotel tradition. The legendary hotel sits above the Engadine lake landscape. It radiates the grandeur of an earlier age and is an insider tip for culture, food and wine. The innovative spirit of the founding family and the unceremonious warmth of their welcome makes this hotel almost irresistible. Its location is a dream. Sils Maria is a picturesque alpine village, a paradise for hikers and those who want to reach the peaks. It is well-known for a wide variety of downhill runs, cross-country ski trails and ski tours in winter. And above it all, serenely and alone, stands the Waldhaus, a place with plenty of space and time – in a unique alpine and lake landscape. A grand hotel, inviting and delightful.

Location

By the water, In the mountains

Hotel classification

5 Stars

Opening Hours

June to October and December to April

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Wellness/spa, Active/sport, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, Icomos Award

Host

Brothers Claudio and Patrick Dietrich as managers are the fifth generation of their family to run the hotel.
1 | 5

History

The Waldhaus Sils was built in 1908, an imposing hotel-castle in the forest above the village of Sils Maria. The experienced hoteliers Josef and Amalie Giger-Nigg found an attentive planner and site manager in the person of the young, energetic architect Karl Koller (1873-1946).
read more

With meticulous care and vast expertise, the builder-owners and the architect jointly decided on everything, down to the last detail, from the splendid hillside location to the optimal floor plans to the size and form of the silverware. What they wanted was no forbidding fortress, but a place to linger and enjoy, a hotel on an incomparable site in the midst of the protected Engadine lake landscape and with a breathtaking view of the Sils plain. The Waldhaus is one of the few Swiss five-star hotels to have stayed in the same family since it was opened. This family has succeeded in maintaining the hotel, protecting its historic structures even during difficult times. By accepting and adhering to its original values, the Waldhaus has remained exceptionally authentic to this day. Its external appearance largely reflects the original structure, as does its interior with a striking concentration of original furnishings in both the public and the guest rooms. A high point is the impressive staircase with a wrought-iron chandelier. In more recent times, several additions of high architectural quality have been incorporated, such as the indoor pool (1970) by architect Otto Glaus. The most recent contemporary interventions by the architects Miller & Maranta in the entrance area, in the public rooms, the expansion of the wellness facility from 2016 and 2020 and by Armando Ruinelli in the guest rooms perfectly complement the historic structure. ICOMOS named the Waldhaus Historic Hotel of the Year 2005 and 2016 in recognition of its exceptional decades-long commitment. The Waldhaus was a founding member of Swiss Historic Hotels in 2004.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

The hotel offers a 365° view: to the east Lake Silvaplana, to the west, Lake Sils, to the north the Sils plain and to the south the circle of mountains at the back of the enchanting Fex Valley. As appealingly diverse as these views are, the 140 rooms and suites are just as distinctive. Three styles of rooms are available: classic, modern and nostalgic, the latter with original restored furnishings from 1908.
1 | 5

Gastronomy

Regional and high-quality cuisine: that’s what our kitchen crew likes to create. We value working with local partners and producers. Discover a diverse selection of fine dishes, as you taste your way through our richly varied restaurants. Drink to your stay with a glass of fine wine or a cool drink in the bar or great lounge, and let these historic rooms work their magic on you. Rooms in which you’ll always find good company.

Region

1 | 5

Region

Sils Maria lies 10 km southwest of St. Moritz. The village is idyllically located between Lake Sils and Lake Silvaplana at the entrance to the Fex Valley. In the vast sun-filled landscape, which is said to be a special energy spot, everyone can find happiness.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Hotel Waldhaus
Via da Fex 3, 7514 Sils/Segl Maria (GR)

+41 81 838 51 00
mail@waldhaus-sils.ch
www.waldhaus-sils.ch

Arrival

Below you will find various travel options:

Arriving by car from the north

  • via Zurich–Chur–Julier Pass in 3 hours

Alternate route to avoid the pass

  • Vereina car ferry from Klosters to Sagliains www.rhb.ch/en/car-transporter. From Zurich approx. 3½ hours

By car from Italy/ Ticino

  • Lugano–Menaggio–Chiavenna–Maloja Pass (approx. 2 ½ hrs.)
  • Bellinzona–San Bernardino–Thusis–Julier Pass (approx. 2 ½ hrs)

Arriving by train from Zurich

  • Until 8.30 p.m. one or two trains per hour between Zurich main station and St. Moritz, travel time 3 to 3½ hours

Arriving by train and bus from Ticino

  • Swiss post bus Lugano–St. Moritz (stops in Sils/Segl Maria posta), daily in summer, weekends only in winter
  • Swiss post bus Bellinzona–Thusis, train Thusis–St. Moritz.

More information: www.sbb.ch; www.google.com/maps

Our driver will be happy to meet you at the St. Moritz train station (or the Sils Maria post office), free of charge, if you can tell us your arrival time in advance.

Awards & Memberships

award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 2005
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1908 | 7514 Sils/Segl Maria (GR)

Hotel Waldhaus

Kontinuität ohne Brüche
Kontinuität ohne Brüche: seit 1908 im Besitz und unter der Leitung der gleichen Familie. Ein grosses Haus mit Geschichte – behaglich, familienfreundlich, persönlich.
Mehr entdecken
Kontinuität ohne Brüche: seit 1908 im Besitz und unter der Leitung der gleichen Familie. Ein grosses Haus mit Geschichte – behaglich, familienfreundlich, persönlich.

Das Waldhaus in Sils-Maria gilt als Ikone der Schweizer Hoteltradition. In der Seenlandschaft des Engadins thront das legendäre Hotel an erhöhter Lage. Es strahlt immer noch die Grandezza der Gründerzeit aus und ist ein Geheimtipp für Kultur, Küche und Keller. Der Innovationsgeist der Gastgeberfamilie wie die zwanglose Gastfreundschaft machen es unwiderstehlich. Die Lage ist ein Traum. Sils-Maria ist ein hübsches Bergdorf, ein Paradies für Wanderer und solche die noch höher hinauswollen. Im Winter zudem bekannt für ein variantenreiches Angebot an Pisten, Loipen und Touren. Und darüber steht ruhig und frei das Waldhaus, ein Ort mit viel Platz und Zeit - in einer einzigartigen Berg- und Seenlandschaft. Ein Grandhôtel zum Anfassen und Geniessen.

Lage

Am Wasser, In den Bergen

Klassifikation

5 Sterne

Öffnungszeiten

Juni bis Oktober und Dezember bis April

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Wellness/Spa, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Familien-/Kinderfreundlich, Kunst & Kultur, Icomos Auszeichnung

Gastgeber

Direktion: Die Brüder Claudio und Patrick Dietrich betreiben das Hotel bereits in der fünften Generation.
1 | 5

Geschichte

Das Hotel Waldhaus in Sils-Maria entstand 1908 als imposante Hotelburg im Wald über dem Dorf. Das erfahrene Hotelierehepaar Josef und Amalie Giger-Nigg fand im jungen, dynamischen Architekten Karl Koller (1873-1946) einen aufmerksamen Planer und Bauleiter.
weiterlesen

Mit akribischer Sorgfalt und enormer Fachkenntnis legten Bauherrschaft und Architekt gemeinsam alles bis ins letzte Detail fest, von der extravaganten Hügellage über die betrieblich optimale Raumanordnung bis zur Grösse und zur Form des Essbestecks. Keine Trutzburg sollte es werden, sondern ein Haus zum Verweilen und Geniessen, ein Hotel an unvergleichlicher Lage inmitten der geschützten Engadiner Seenlandschaft und mit atemberaubendem Blick auf die Silser Ebene. Das Waldhaus ist eines der wenigen Schweizer Fünfsternehäuser, das seit der Eröffnung stets in der gleichen Familie blieb. Dieser gelang es auch in schwierigen Zeiten, das Hotel zu erhalten und unter Wahrung seiner historischen Substanz zu betreiben. Das Hotel Waldhaus präsentiert sich heute durch Anerkennung und Pflege der ursprünglichen Werte als aussergewöhnliches Original. Nicht nur die äussere Erscheinung entspricht weitgehend dem historischen Bestand, auch im Innern hat sich eine erstaunliche Dichte an originalgetreuer Ausstattung erhalten, sowohl in den öffentlichen Räumen als auch in den Gästezimmern. Als räumlicher Höhepunkt wirkt die beeindruckende Treppenanlage mit einem geschmiedeten Leuchter. In neuerer Zeit kamen einige qualitätsvolle Neugestaltungen hinzu, wie das 1970 eröffnete, vom Architekten Otto Glaus entworfene Hallenbad. Die jüngsten, von den Architekten Miller & Maranta im Eingangsbereich, den öffentlichen Räumen, die Erweiterung der Wellness-Anlage von 2016 und 2020 sowie von Armando Ruinelli in den Gästezimmern vorgenommenen zeitgenössischen Erneuerungen, fügen sich hervorragend in den historischen Bestand ein. Die Auszeichnung als Historisches Hotel des Jahres 2005 durch ICOMOS sowie 2016 mit dem grossen Jubiläumspreis «20 Jahre Historische Hotels des Jahres» bildete die verdiente Anerkennung für dieses aussergewöhnliche Engagement über Jahrzehnte. 2004 gehörte das Hotel Waldhaus zu den Gründungsmitgliedern von Swiss Historic Hotels.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Zimmer

Das Hotel gewährt einen Rundumblick in alle Himmelsrichtungen: nach Osten auf den Silvaplanersee, nach Westen auf den Silsersee, nach Norden auf die Silser Ebene und nach Süden zum zauberhaften Fextal. So reizvoll die Aussichten, so unterschiedlich sind auch die 140 Zimmer und Suiten. Wir bieten drei Stile: klassisch, modern und nostalgisch mit der original restaurierten Ausstattung aus der Gründerzeit.
1 | 5

Gastronomie

Regional und hochwertig, so kocht unsere Küchencrew am liebsten. Die Zusammenarbeit mit ortsansässigen Partnern ist uns wichtig. Entdecken Sie eine bunte Auswahl an feinen Gerichten und kosten Sie sich durch unsere variationsreichen Restaurants. Stossen Sie in der Bar oder in der grossen Halle mit einem feinen Glas Wein oder einem kühlen Drink auf Ihren Aufenthalt an und lassen Sie diese geschichtsträchtigen Räume auf sich wirken. Räume, in denen man stets in bester Gesellschaft weilt.

Region

1 | 5

Region

Sils-Maria liegt 10 km südwestlich von St. Moritz. Idyllisch eingebettet liegt das Dorf zwischen Silser- und Silvaplanersee, am Eingang zum Fextal. In der Weite dieser sonnendurchfluteten Landschaft, der besondere Kräfte nachgesagt werden, findet jeder sein Glück.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Hotel Waldhaus
Via da Fex 3, 7514 Sils/Segl Maria (GR)

+41 81 838 51 00
mail@waldhaus-sils.ch
www.waldhaus-sils.ch

Anreise

Hier finden Sie die aktuellsten Informationen zu den verschiedenen Anreisemöglichkeiten:

Mit dem Auto aus der nördlichen Schweiz

  • Über Zürich–Chur–Julierpass (ca. 3 Std.)

Alternativ ohne Passfahrt

  • Autoverlad Vereina ab Klosters bis Sagliains. Ab Zürich ca. 3 ½ Stunden.

Mit dem Auto aus dem Tessin

  • Lugano–Menaggio–Chiavenna–Malojapass (ca. 2 ½ Std.)
  • Bellinzona–San Bernardino–Thusis–Julierpass (ca. 2 ½ Std.)

Anreise per Bahn aus der nördlichen Schweiz

  • Bis ca. 20.30 Uhr jeweils 1–2 Verbindungen pro Stunde zwischen Zürich HB und St. Moritz, Reisezeit 3 bis 3 ½ Stunden.

Anreise per Bahn und Bus aus dem Tessin

  • Postbus Lugano–St. Moritz (mit Halt in Sils), im Sommer täglich, im Winter nur am Wochenende
  • Postbus Bellinzona–Thusis, Bahn Thusis–St. Moritz

Detaillierte Informationen unter: www.sbb.ch; www.google.com/maps
Wenn Sie uns Ihre Ankunftszeit mitteilen, wird Sie unser Fahrer gerne und kostenlos am Bahnhof in St. Moritz abholen.

Auszeichnungen & Mitgliedschaften

award-icomos-gold
Historisches Hotel des Jahres 2005
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall