Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1530 | 3235 Erlach (BE)

Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel

Historic monastery hotel on traffic-free St. Peter's Island.
Find tranquility and at the same time feel the breeze of past turbulent times: by staying at the hotel with its 13 rooms, which extends an invitation to remain here for a while and to experience the island at leisure.
Discover more
Find tranquility and at the same time feel the breeze of past turbulent times: by staying at the hotel with its 13 rooms, which extends an invitation to remain here for a while and to experience the island at leisure.

A lovingly run, inviting restaurant ensures physical well-being. Full-bodied wines from the region accompany the specialities from lakes and mountains.

Location

In the country, By the water

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

Late March to October

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, Icomos Award

History

The history of St. Peter’s Island stretches back into the distant past. On its banks, as in many places on Lake Biel, there are Bronze Age settlements, ‘pile dwellings’. During the Middle Ages, Cluniac monks settled on this island, founding a monastery in around 1100, and they continued to live here until the Reformation in the early 16th century.
read more

In 1530, the island and monastery were taken over by the Burgergemeinde Bern, which soon opened the first guest rooms. The most famous visitor to the island was Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712–1778), who spent about six weeks at the island tenant’s in 1765, before the Bernese aristocrats drove him away. Later, he wrote about his stay: “I have stayed at many lovely places; but nowhere have I felt so truly happy as on St. Peter’s Island in the middle of Lake Biel, and I think back on no stay with such sweet longing.” After an initial extensive renovation of the hotel complex in the 1980s, it was renovated again in 2008/09 with the support of the cantonal office for the preservation of historic buildings and monuments. The guest rooms were carefully restored and equipped with modern bathrooms. The public rooms on the main floor were restored to their thoroughly researched original state, with modern operational necessities being added. Thus, the original, historically significant qualities of the former monastery complex were successfully combined with the current requirements of a contemporary hotel. The Icomos jury named it Historic Hotel of the Year 2010, making special note of how “it brought 1000 years of European culture and architectural history to life, which in combination with the intact countryside and a refined kitchen, creates a unique experience for all of the senses.” The Restaurant & Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2005.

Awards & Memberships

award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 2010
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Ouvrir la galerie
Depuis 1530 | 3235 Erlach (BE)

Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel

Hôtel-cloître historique sur l'île Saint-Pierre, libre de toute circulation.
Trouvez la tranquillité et sentez en même temps la brise de l'époque turbulente passée : en séjournant à l'hôtel avec ses 13 chambres, qui vous invite à rester ici pendant un certain temps et à découvrir l'île en toute tranquillité.
Découvrir plus
Trouvez la tranquillité et sentez en même temps la brise de l'époque turbulente passée : en séjournant à l'hôtel avec ses 13 chambres, qui vous invite à rester ici pendant un certain temps et à découvrir l'île en toute tranquillité.

Un restaurant accueillant, géré avec amour, assure le bien-être physique. Les vins corsés de la région accompagnent les spécialités des lacs et des montagnes.

Emplacement

À la campagne, Au bord de l’eau

Classification d'hôtel

3 Étoiles

Horaires d'ouverture

De fin mars à octobre

Type

Banquets/Mariages, Séminaires/affaires, Actif/sport, Parc/jardin, Adapté aux familles/enfants, Art & culture, Adhésions

Histoire

L'histoire de l'île Saint-Pierre remonte à un passé lointain. Sur ses rives, comme en de nombreux endroits du lac de Bienne, on trouve des habitations de l'âge du bronze, les "maisons sur pilotis". Au Moyen-Âge, des moines clunisiens se sont installés sur l'île et y ont fondé un monastère vers 1100. Ils y ont vécu jusqu'à la Réforme, au début du XVIe siècle.
lire la suite

En 1530, l'île et le monastère ont été repris par la bourgeoisie de Berne, qui a rapidement ouvert les premières chambres d'hôtes. Le visiteur le plus célèbre de l'île fut Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778), qui passa environ six semaines chez le locataire de l'île en 1765, avant d'être chassé par les aristocrates bernois. Plus tard, il écrivit à propos de son séjour : "J'ai séjourné dans beaucoup d'endroits charmants, mais nulle part je ne me suis senti aussi heureux que sur l'île Saint-Pierre, au milieu du lac de Bienne, et je ne repense à aucun séjour avec autant de nostalgie". Après une première rénovation en profondeur du complexe hôtelier dans les années 1980, celui-ci a été rénové à nouveau en 2008/2009 avec le soutien de l'Office cantonal de la conservation des monuments historiques. Les chambres ont été soigneusement restaurées et équipées de salles de bains modernes. Les salles publiques du rez-de-chaussée ont été restaurées dans leur état d'origine après avoir fait l'objet de recherches approfondies et ont été dotées d'équipements modernes. Ainsi, les qualités originales et historiquement significatives de l'ancien complexe monastique ont été combinées avec succès aux exigences actuelles d'un hôtel contemporain. Le jury d'Icomos l'a nommé Hôtel historique de l'année 2010, en soulignant qu'il "donne vie à 1000 ans de culture européenne et d'histoire architecturale, ce qui, associé à une campagne intacte et à une cuisine raffinée, crée une expérience unique pour tous les sens". Le Restaurant & Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel est membre de Swiss Historic Hotels depuis 2005.

Balises & Affiliations

award-icomos-gold
Hôtel historique de l'année 2010
Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall