Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1903 | 7018 Flims Waldhaus (GR)

Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof

Family-run first-class hotel in the picturesque setting of the Flims forest with a view of the impressive mountains.
Fin de siècle, Belle Époque and Art Nouveau styles set the atmosphere at the Schweizerhof Flims. Rich in tradition, this hotel was built in 1903 in the Belle Époque and Art Nouveau styles and where the likes of Albert Einstein, the Empress Zita and Marie Curie chose to spend their "summer retreat".
Discover more
Fin de siècle, Belle Époque and Art Nouveau styles set the atmosphere at the Schweizerhof Flims. Rich in tradition, this hotel was built in 1903 in the Belle Époque and Art Nouveau styles and where the likes of Albert Einstein, the Empress Zita and Marie Curie chose to spend their "summer retreat".

The history of the Schweizerhof can be read in the book "Literary Grand Hotels of Switzerland". In summer it is Lake Cauma and the fragrant alpine flora that invite the visitor, and in the winter it is the 220 kilometres of ski slopes and beautiful winter hiking trails. Since 2008, the hotel has been managed by the 4th generation of the Schmid family. Belle Époque restaurant, half board or a la carte, for high quality meals with a French influence.

Location

In the mountains

Hotel classification

4 Stars

Opening Hours

December to March / June to October

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Wellness/spa, Active/sport, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, Icomos Award

Host

In summer 2008, the 4th generation, Christoph Schmidt and his wife Sandra, stepped into the spotlight of the Schweizerhof Hotel stage. Despite visions and changes, they remain true to their values as a family-run first-class hotel.
1 | 4

History

The history of the Schweizerhof begins in 1869, when Walter Candrian of Sagogn, the great-grandfather of the current host family, acquired at auction the Pension Segnes following the death of its earlier owner, a widow who had died childless. His younger brother Mathias returned from Stettin, where he had worked as a confectioner, and took over operations at the inn.
read more

The family ran the inn until it was sold in 1901. Their daughter Mengia Candrian then built the new Schwei­zerhof with her husband Daniel Schmidt. The Historicist building influenced by Art Nouveau with its little corner turrets and large veranda was one of the first large hotels in Flims Waldhaus. Shortly after the hotel's opening, electric lights and a phone line were installed. Before World War I, tourism flourished in Flims, even Albert Einstein and Marie Curie came to stay at the Schweizerhof. In 1907/08, the two villas Helvetia and Gentiana were built as annexes. The younger son of the next generation, Arthur Schmidt, was a hotelier, ski instructor, musician, hunter and entertainer, composer of the still-popular 'Lake Cauma' and 'Arosa' songs. Another famous family member was film director Daniel Schmid, who with Zwischensaison basically documented his own life both on the hotel's stage and behind the scenes. In 1972, an indoor pool was added, a very progressive addition for a hotel at the time. Five years later, the hotel got its new dusky-pink coat, while in the 1980s the guest rooms were renovated. The various public rooms which are largely in original condition, having been skillfully restored by the owners, are particularly valuable. Admirably committed to conservation, the family have returned a number of floors and walls to their original condition. In 1998, Icomos Switzerland gave the Schweizerhof a special award for the owner family's passionate dedication to receiving their guests in their long-established hotel in the style and with the care worthy of the Belle Époque. The hotel has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2010.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 3

Rooms

This is your home from home – where fin de siècle grandeur meets modern comfort and where the views from your window and balcony reveal nature at its finest. Our 48 lovingly restored and carefully renovated rooms and apartments emanate the charm of the late Belle Epoque and offer glorious views over the spectacular Flims landscape. The view is breathtaking from all sides, whether it is the gardens and the forest to the south or the Grison Alps to the north.
1 | 5

Gastronomy

Food tastes even better when it’s sourced and cooked as regionally and sustainably as possible – whether it is vegetarian, vegan, or with a a flavourful piece of meat. Our food is almost as good for your conscience as it is for your body. Enjoy the lovingly prepared dishes in our restaurant, sometimes with local Grisons cuisine, sometimes French-inspired dishes – and how about an excellent wine to accompany your candlelight meal?

Region

1 | 4

Flims Laax Falera

Biking, hiking, skiing, snowboarding - enjoy unique experiences during your summer and winter vacations in Flims Laax Falera! Don't miss the highlights like the Swiss Grand Canyon, Lake Cauma, Lake Cresta, UNESCO World Heritage Tectonic Arena Sardona and many more.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Rudi Dadens 1, 7018 Flims Waldhaus (GR)

+41 81 928 10 10
info@schweizerhof-flims.ch
www.schweizerhof-flims.ch

Arrival

Public transport
Regular train connections take you to Chur. There you change to the post bus to Flims, Laax, Falera and get off at "Flims Waldhaus, Caumasee". The bus station is a 3-minute walk from the hotel.

Car
Take the A3/A13 via Chur and take the Reichenau exit, or you can reach the region after an impressive drive over the Lukmanier or Oberalp passes (passes are only open in summer).

Awards & Memberships

award-icomos-gold
Special mention 1998
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Ouvrir la galerie
Depuis 1903 | 7018 Flims Waldhaus (GR)

Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof

Hôtel familial de première classe situé dans le cadre pittoresque de la forêt de Flims, avec vue sur les montagnes impressionnantes.
Les styles fin de siècle, Belle Époque et Art nouveau créent l'atmosphère du Schweizerhof Flims. Riche en traditions, cet hôtel construit en 1903 dans les styles Belle Époque et Art nouveau a accueilli Albert Einstein, l'impératrice Zita et Marie Curie pour leur "retraite d'été".
Découvrir plus
Les styles fin de siècle, Belle Époque et Art nouveau créent l'atmosphère du Schweizerhof Flims. Riche en traditions, cet hôtel construit en 1903 dans les styles Belle Époque et Art nouveau a accueilli Albert Einstein, l'impératrice Zita et Marie Curie pour leur "retraite d'été".

L'histoire du Schweizerhof peut être lue dans le livre "Grands hôtels littéraires de Suisse". En été, c'est le lac Cauma et la flore alpine odorante qui invitent le visiteur, et en hiver, ce sont les 220 kilomètres de pistes de ski et les magnifiques sentiers de randonnée hivernale. Depuis 2008, l'hôtel est géré par la quatrième génération de la famille Schmid. Restaurant Belle Époque, en demi-pension ou à la carte, pour des repas de qualité avec une influence française.

Emplacement

À la montagne

Classification d'hôtel

4 Étoiles

Horaires d'ouverture

Décembre à mars / juin à octobre

Type

Banquets/Mariages, Séminaires/affaires, Wellness/spa, Actif/sport, Adapté aux familles/enfants, Art & culture, Adhésions

Hôte

À l'été 2008, la quatrième génération, Christoph Schmidt et sa femme Sandra, a pris les rênes de l'hôtel Schweizerhof. Malgré les visions et les changements, ils restent fidèles à leurs valeurs en tant qu'hôtel familial de première classe.
1 | 4

Histoire

L'histoire du Schweizerhof commence en 1869, lorsque Walter Candrian de Sagogn, l'arrière-grand-père de l'actuelle famille d'accueil, acquiert aux enchères la Pension Segnes après le décès de son ancien propriétaire, une veuve morte sans enfant. Son jeune frère Mathias revient de Stettin, où il travaillait comme confiseur, et reprend l'exploitation de l'auberge.
lire la suite

La famille a géré l'auberge jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit vendue en 1901. Leur fille Mengia Candrian a alors construit le nouveau Schweizerhof avec son mari Daniel Schmidt. Ce bâtiment historiciste influencé par l'Art nouveau, avec ses petites tourelles d'angle et sa grande véranda, fut l'un des premiers grands hôtels de Flims Waldhaus. Peu après l'ouverture de l'hôtel, l'éclairage électrique et une ligne téléphonique ont été installés. Avant la Première Guerre mondiale, le tourisme était florissant à Flims. Albert Einstein et Marie Curie sont même venus séjourner au Schweizerhof. En 1907/08, les deux villas Helvetia et Gentiana ont été construites en tant qu'annexes. Le fils cadet de la génération suivante, Arthur Schmidt, était hôtelier, moniteur de ski, musicien, chasseur et animateur, compositeur des chansons toujours populaires "Lake Cauma" et "Arosa". Un autre membre célèbre de la famille était le réalisateur Daniel Schmid, qui, avec Zwischensaison, a essentiellement documenté sa propre vie sur la scène de l'hôtel et dans les coulisses. En 1972, l'hôtel s'est doté d'une piscine intérieure, ce qui était très novateur pour un hôtel à l'époque. Cinq ans plus tard, l'hôtel a reçu son nouveau manteau rose foncé, tandis que dans les années 1980, les chambres ont été rénovées. Les diverses salles publiques, qui sont en grande partie dans leur état d'origine, après avoir été habilement restaurées par les propriétaires, sont particulièrement précieuses. Admirablement attachée à la conservation, la famille a redonné à plusieurs sols et murs leur état d'origine. En 1998, Icomos Suisse a décerné au Schweizerhof un prix spécial pour le dévouement passionné de la famille propriétaire à recevoir ses clients dans son hôtel établi de longue date, dans un style et avec un soin dignes de la Belle Époque. L'hôtel est membre de Swiss Historic Hotels depuis 2010.

Chambres & Gastronomie

1 | 3

Chambres

Il s'agit de votre maison, où la grandeur fin de siècle rencontre le confort moderne et où les vues de votre fenêtre et de votre balcon révèlent la nature dans toute sa splendeur. Nos 48 chambres et appartements restaurés avec amour et rénovés avec soin dégagent le charme de la fin de la Belle Époque et offrent des vues splendides sur le paysage spectaculaire de Flims. La vue est époustouflante de tous les côtés, qu'il s'agisse des jardins et de la forêt au sud ou des Alpes grisonnes au nord.
1 | 5

Gastronomie

Les aliments sont encore meilleurs lorsqu'ils proviennent de sources régionales et sont cuisinés de manière aussi durable que possible, qu'ils soient végétariens, végétaliens ou accompagnés d'un morceau de viande savoureux. Notre nourriture est presque aussi bonne pour votre conscience que pour votre corps. Savourez les plats préparés avec amour dans notre restaurant, tantôt avec la cuisine locale des Grisons, tantôt avec des plats d'inspiration française.

Région

1 | 4

Flims Laax Falera

Vélo, randonnée, ski, snowboard - vivez des expériences uniques pendant vos vacances d'été et d'hiver à Flims Laax Falera ! Ne manquez pas les points forts comme le Grand Canyon suisse, le lac de Cauma, le lac de Cresta, l'arène tectonique de Sardona classée au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO et bien d'autres encore.

Contact & Accès

Online Booking
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes

Contact

Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Rudi Dadens 1, 7018 Flims Waldhaus (GR)

+41 81 928 10 10
info@schweizerhof-flims.ch
www.schweizerhof-flims.ch

Arrivée

Transports publics
Des liaisons ferroviaires régulières vous amènent à Coire. Là, vous changez pour le bus postal à destination de Flims, Laax, Falera et descendez à "Flims Waldhaus, Caumasee". La gare routière se trouve à 3 minutes de marche de l'hôtel.

En voiture
Prenez l'A3/A13 via Coire et prenez la sortie Reichenau, ou vous pouvez atteindre la région après un trajet impressionnant par les cols Lukmanier ou Oberalp (les cols ne sont ouverts qu'en été).

Balises & Affiliations

award-icomos-gold
Mention spéciale 1998
Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall