Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1903 | 7018 Flims Waldhaus (GR)

Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof

Family-run first-class hotel in the picturesque setting of the Flims forest with a view of the impressive mountains.
Fin de siècle, Belle Époque and Art Nouveau styles set the atmosphere at the Schweizerhof Flims. Rich in tradition, this hotel was built in 1903 in the Belle Époque and Art Nouveau styles and where the likes of Albert Einstein, the Empress Zita and Marie Curie chose to spend their "summer retreat".
Discover more
Fin de siècle, Belle Époque and Art Nouveau styles set the atmosphere at the Schweizerhof Flims. Rich in tradition, this hotel was built in 1903 in the Belle Époque and Art Nouveau styles and where the likes of Albert Einstein, the Empress Zita and Marie Curie chose to spend their "summer retreat".

The history of the Schweizerhof can be read in the book "Literary Grand Hotels of Switzerland". In summer it is Lake Cauma and the fragrant alpine flora that invite the visitor, and in the winter it is the 220 kilometres of ski slopes and beautiful winter hiking trails. Since 2008, the hotel has been managed by the 4th generation of the Schmid family. Belle Époque restaurant, half board or a la carte, for high quality meals with a French influence.

Location

In the mountains

Hotel classification

4 Stars

Opening Hours

December to March / June to October

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Wellness/spa, Active/sport, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, Icomos Award

Host

In summer 2008, the 4th generation, Christoph Schmidt and his wife Sandra, stepped into the spotlight of the Schweizerhof Hotel stage. Despite visions and changes, they remain true to their values as a family-run first-class hotel.
1 | 4

History

The history of the Schweizerhof begins in 1869, when Walter Candrian of Sagogn, the great-grandfather of the current host family, acquired at auction the Pension Segnes following the death of its earlier owner, a widow who had died childless. His younger brother Mathias returned from Stettin, where he had worked as a confectioner, and took over operations at the inn.
read more

The family ran the inn until it was sold in 1901. Their daughter Mengia Candrian then built the new Schwei­zerhof with her husband Daniel Schmidt. The Historicist building influenced by Art Nouveau with its little corner turrets and large veranda was one of the first large hotels in Flims Waldhaus. Shortly after the hotel's opening, electric lights and a phone line were installed. Before World War I, tourism flourished in Flims, even Albert Einstein and Marie Curie came to stay at the Schweizerhof. In 1907/08, the two villas Helvetia and Gentiana were built as annexes. The younger son of the next generation, Arthur Schmidt, was a hotelier, ski instructor, musician, hunter and entertainer, composer of the still-popular 'Lake Cauma' and 'Arosa' songs. Another famous family member was film director Daniel Schmid, who with Zwischensaison basically documented his own life both on the hotel's stage and behind the scenes. In 1972, an indoor pool was added, a very progressive addition for a hotel at the time. Five years later, the hotel got its new dusky-pink coat, while in the 1980s the guest rooms were renovated. The various public rooms which are largely in original condition, having been skillfully restored by the owners, are particularly valuable. Admirably committed to conservation, the family have returned a number of floors and walls to their original condition. In 1998, Icomos Switzerland gave the Schweizerhof a special award for the owner family's passionate dedication to receiving their guests in their long-established hotel in the style and with the care worthy of the Belle Époque. The hotel has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2010.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 3

Rooms

This is your home from home – where fin de siècle grandeur meets modern comfort and where the views from your window and balcony reveal nature at its finest. Our 48 lovingly restored and carefully renovated rooms and apartments emanate the charm of the late Belle Epoque and offer glorious views over the spectacular Flims landscape. The view is breathtaking from all sides, whether it is the gardens and the forest to the south or the Grison Alps to the north.
1 | 5

Gastronomy

Food tastes even better when it’s sourced and cooked as regionally and sustainably as possible – whether it is vegetarian, vegan, or with a a flavourful piece of meat. Our food is almost as good for your conscience as it is for your body. Enjoy the lovingly prepared dishes in our restaurant, sometimes with local Grisons cuisine, sometimes French-inspired dishes – and how about an excellent wine to accompany your candlelight meal?

Region

1 | 4

Flims Laax Falera

Biking, hiking, skiing, snowboarding - enjoy unique experiences during your summer and winter vacations in Flims Laax Falera! Don't miss the highlights like the Swiss Grand Canyon, Lake Cauma, Lake Cresta, UNESCO World Heritage Tectonic Arena Sardona and many more.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Rudi Dadens 1, 7018 Flims Waldhaus (GR)

+41 81 928 10 10
info@schweizerhof-flims.ch
www.schweizerhof-flims.ch

Arrival

Public transport
Regular train connections take you to Chur. There you change to the post bus to Flims, Laax, Falera and get off at "Flims Waldhaus, Caumasee". The bus station is a 3-minute walk from the hotel.

Car
Take the A3/A13 via Chur and take the Reichenau exit, or you can reach the region after an impressive drive over the Lukmanier or Oberalp passes (passes are only open in summer).

Awards & Memberships

award-icomos-gold
Special mention 1998
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1903 | 7018 Flims Waldhaus (GR)

Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims

Familiär geführtes Erstklasshotel malerisch eingebettet in den Flimser Grosswald mit Blick auf die imposante Bergwelt.
Fin de siècle, Belle Epoque und Jugendstil bestimmen das Ambiente im Schweizerhof Flims. Im Sommer locken Naturspektakel wie der malerische Caumasee oder das imposante UNESCO Weltnaturerbe Tektonikarena Sardona und die Rheinschlucht Ruinaulta.
Mehr entdecken
Fin de siècle, Belle Epoque und Jugendstil bestimmen das Ambiente im Schweizerhof Flims. Im Sommer locken Naturspektakel wie der malerische Caumasee oder das imposante UNESCO Weltnaturerbe Tektonikarena Sardona und die Rheinschlucht Ruinaulta.

Im Winter warten 235 Pistenkilometer und herrliche Winterwanderwege in einem der modernsten Skigebiete der Alpen. Seit 2008 führt Familie Schmidt das Hotel in 4. Generation. Restaurant Belle Epoque, Halbpension oder a la carte, moderne, leichte Küche mit französischem Akzent. Traditionsreiches Haus, 1903 im Belle Epoque und Jugendstil erbaut und noch heute erhalten. Der Regisseur Daniel Schmid war Enkel der Hotelgründer und hat das Haus kulturell mitgeprägt, das auch Albert Einstein, Kaiserin Zita und Marie Curie für ihre "Sommerfrische" nutzten. Nachzulesen ist die Geschichte vom Schweizerhof im Buch "Literarische Grandhotels der Schweiz".

Lage

In den Bergen

Klassifikation

4 Sterne

Öffnungszeiten

Mai - März

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Wellness/Spa, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Familien-/Kinderfreundlich, Kunst & Kultur, Icomos Auszeichnung

Gastgeber

Im Sommer 2008 ist die 4. Generation mit Christoph Schmidt und seiner Ehefrau Sandra ins Rampenlicht der Schweizerhof Hotelbühne getreten. Sie bleiben trotz Visionen und Veränderungen Ihren Werten als familiär geführtes Erstklasshotel treu.
1 | 4

Geschichte

Die Geschichte des Hotels Schweizerhof begann 1869, als Walter Candrian aus Sagogn, der Urgrossvater der heutigen Gastgeberfamilie, die Pension Segnes nach dem Tod der früheren Besitzerin, einer kinderlos verstorbenen Witwe, ersteigerte. Sein jüngerer Bruder Mathias kam darauf aus Stettin zurück, wo er als Zuckerbäcker tätig gewesen war, und übernahm den Betrieb der Pension.
weiterlesen

Die Familie führte die Pension, bis sie 1901 verkauft wurde. Tochter Mengia Candrian baute darauf zusammen mit ihrem Gatten Daniel Schmidt das neue Hotel Schweizerhof. Der vom Jugendstil beeinflusste Historismusbau mit Ecktürmchen und grosser Veranda war eines der ersten grossen Hotels in Flims Waldhaus. Kurz nach der Eröffnung erhielt das Haus elektrisches Licht und einen Telefonanschluss. In der Zeit vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg blühte der Tourismus in Flims, sogar Albert Einstein und Marie Curie haben damals im Schweizerhof übernachtet. 1907/08 wurden deshalb die beiden Villen Helvetia und Gentiana als Dépendancen gebaut. Der jüngere Sohn aus der nächsten Generation, Arthur Schmidt, war als Hotelier, Skilehrer, Musiker, Jäger und Unterhaltungskünstler der Komponist des Caumaseeliedes und des Arosaliedes. Zu den berühmten Vertretern der Familie gehört der Regisseur Daniel Schmid, der mit dem Film Zwischensaison gleichsam sein Leben vor und hinter den Kulissen eines Hotelbetriebs darstellte. 1972 erhielt das Haus ein Hallenbad, damals eine sehr fortschrittliche Ergänzung zu einem Hotelbetrieb. Fünf Jahre später wurde die Fassade in Altrosa neu gestrichen, in den 1980er Jahren wurden die Hotelzimmer erneuert. Besonders wertvoll erscheinen heute die noch weitgehend im historischen Zustand erhaltenen Gesellschaftsräume, die von der Besitzerfamilie fachgerecht restauriert wurden. So konnten zahlreiche Böden und Wände mit viel Engagement wieder in den Originalzustand zurückgeführt werden. 1998 erhielt der Schweizerhof von Icomos Schweiz eine beson­dere Auszeichnung für die Begeisterung der Besitzerfamilie, im traditionellen Hotel mit Sorgfalt und Qualität im Stil der Belle Epoque Gäste zu empfangen. Seit 2010 ist das Hotel Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 3

Zimmer

Wo Fin de Siècle-Grandezza auf modernen Komfort trifft und der Blick aus dem Fenster und von den Sonnenbalkonen ein Naturspektakel offenbart, da ist Ihr Zuhause auf Zeit. Unsere 48 liebevoll restaurierten und sanft renovierten Zimmer und ein Appartement versprühen den Charme der Belle Epoque und geben die Sicht frei auf die spektakuläre Flimser Natur: Im Süden Garten und Wald, im Norden die Bündner Bergwelt mit dem Flimser Stein, rundum atemberaubender Weitblick.
1 | 5

Gastronomie

Die schönste Hauptsache der Welt schmeckt nachhaltig einfach noch besser. Bei uns speisen Sie möglichst regional und klimafreundlich – vegetarisch, vegan oder gerne konventionell mit einem feinen Stück Fleisch. Bei uns schmeckt es dem Gewissen fast genauso gut wie dem Bäuchlein. Geniessen Sie in unserem Restaurant die liebevoll zubereiteten Gerichte mal bodenständig bündnerisch, mal französisch inspiriert – und dazu vielleicht einen Spitzenwein im Kerzenschein?

Region

1 | 4

Flims Laax Falera

Biken, Wandern, Skifahren, Snowboarden - Geniessen Sie einzigartige Erlebnisse in Ihren Sommer- und Winterferien in Flims Laax Falera! Verpassen Sie nicht die Highlights wie den Swiss Grand Canyon, Caumasee, Crestasee, UNESCO Welterbe Tektonikarena Sardona und viele mehr.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Rudi Dadens 1, 7018 Flims Waldhaus (GR)

+41 81 928 10 10
info@schweizerhof-flims.ch
www.schweizerhof-flims.ch

Anreise

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel
Die regelmässigen Zugverbindungen führen Sie nach Chur. Dort steigen Sie in das Postauto nach Flims, Laax, Falera um und steigen in «Flims Waldhaus, Caumasee» aus. Die Busstation ist 3 Gehminuten vom Hotel entfernt.

Auto
Sie fahren über die A3/A13 via Chur und nehmen die Ausfahrt Reichenau oder Sie erreichen die Region nach einer eindrucksvollen Fahrt über den Lukmanier- oder Oberalppass (Pässe sind nur im Sommer geöffnet).

Auszeichnungen & Mitgliedschaften

award-icomos-gold
Besondere Auszeichnung 1998
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall