Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1852 | 3600 Thun (BE)

Schloss Schadau

Back to now! since 165 years a place of enjoyment
Schloss Schadau is a listed building from 1852 and located in the Schadau Park, directly on the shores of Lake Thun. In 2019, the castle was completely renovated and possess now nine hotel rooms, some with a wonderful lake view.
Discover more
Schloss Schadau is a listed building from 1852 and located in the Schadau Park, directly on the shores of Lake Thun. In 2019, the castle was completely renovated and possess now nine hotel rooms, some with a wonderful lake view.

You will enjoy the magnificent view over the lake to the alps from our garden terrace and the veranda. During winter, you will enjoy the modern French-Mediterranean cuisine in a warm castle atmosphere. The bar "au milieu" with a large sherry assortment completes the Schadau experience. The rooms for banquets and seminars have all lake view, some also with balcony. The "Rougemont-Saal" is the venue for your banquet for up to 70 guests. For weddings, the meadow at the lake is the perfect location for your wedding ceremony. A tower suite can be complemented with a meeting and dining room with a total of almost 100 square meters. Your private office away from home. All banquet and seminar rooms offer a view of the lake and the famous mountains Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. Schloss Schadau hotel guests can use, free of charge, the wellness area with sauna and steam bath in the Congress Seepark Hotel located within a 2-minute walk away in the parc area.

Location

By the water

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Park/garden, Icomos Award,

Host

Roger Lehmann is a native of the region and has leased Schadau Castle since it opened as a hotel in 2019. In addition to Schadau Castle, the company portfolio also includes two historic restaurants in Basel. A motivated team ensures that guests have everything they need and the architectural heritage is brought closer to those interested on guided tours of the castle.

History

Schadau Castle and its surroundings have a history dating back to 1348, when the house of Schadau was first mentioned in writing. The 3.6 hectare Schadau Park has been open to the public since 1860 and is modeled on an English garden. The location of the castle directly on Lake Thun and on the outflow of the Aare is unique and forms a harmonious ensemble with the Scherzlig Church, one of the thousand-year-old churches on Lake Thun.
read more

The construction of the current chateau building was commissioned by the Neuchâtel banker, Denis Alfred de Rougemont, from 1847 to 1852. James Victor Colin of Neuchâtel and Pierre-Charles Dusillion, an architect trained at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris, created a building which, from the rich sandstone ornamentation to the exquisite interior decoration, bears witness to the highest craftsmanship. As one of the most important works of romantic historicism in Switzerland, Schadau Castle represents a cultural asset of national importance. In the entrance hall of the castle, the sandstone staircase designed by sculptor Joseph Hubert Verbunt leads to the upper floors, and throughout the building there are outstanding imitations of wood, marble and stucco. Since 1925 the castle and the park have been owned by the city of Thun and since 1928 there has been a restaurant on the first floor. Schadau Castle, after various mixed uses, was renovated from 2017 - 2019 into a holistic restaurant and hotel operation, allowing an authentic mediation of the architectural heritage. During this renovation, the building historical investigation confirmed that practically the entire fixed interior from the construction period has been preserved. This applies to the wooden elements such as windows, niche coverings, doors, knee woodwork and floor coverings as well as the paintings, which were revealed under more recent layers of paint. Although Schadau Castle was built as a private summer residence, it has always been one of the social centers on the lake and is now available to all visitors as a total work of art that can be experienced and lived in.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

All our 9 rooms and suites, 4 of them with a fantastic lake view, have original parquet floors and woodwork from 1847. The rooms provide our guests with finest bed linen, Happy Swiss Deluxe mattresses, free WiFi, free water bottles, TV/ MP3 player, telephone, room safe, shower/toilet, luxurious products from "Feuerstein Essentials Switzerland", bathrobe, hairdryer and Swiss terry towels. Drinks, coffee and tea are available for free in a lounge room on the first floor.

Gastronomy

You are welcomed in the "Au Milieu" bar where a selection of sherry and port wines complement the bar offering, joining the past to the present. On the terrace with a fantastic view of the lake, on the veranda as well as in the interior salons, a fine Mediterranean-French cuisine is served, complemented by a comprehensive selection of wines. The history of nobility is also taken into account through the daily breakfast offer, the afternoon tea and the Sunday brunch.

Region

1 | 4

Region

The English style "Schadau Park" offers the perfect relaxing environment and includes both a meditation path and a plant discovery trail. With its historic old town, Thun is the ideal starting point for exploring the Lake Thun region and the Bernese Oberland.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Schloss Schadau
Seestrasse 45, 3600 Thun (BE)

+41 33 222 25 00
info@schloss-schadau.ch
www.schloss-schadau.ch

Arrival

Coming from the highway, follow the sign "Thun City" and then the signs of the parking guidance system "Scherzligen - Schadau". Hotel guests can drive through the parc directly in front of the castle to unload their luggage (max. 15 minutes). Public parkings are located nearby, with a 2 to 5 min. walk. Check-in is possible from 3 p.m. to 10 p.m. Hotel rooms are available until 11:00 a.m. on the day of departure.

Awards & Memberships

award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 2021
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Ouvrir la galerie
Depuis 1852 | 3600 Thun (BE)

Schloss Schadau

Retour au présent ! Depuis 165 ans, un lieu de plaisir
Le Schloss Schadau est un bâtiment classé datant de 1852 et situé dans le parc de Schadau, directement sur les rives du lac de Thoune. En 2019, le château a été entièrement rénové et possède désormais neuf chambres d'hôtel, dont certaines avec une vue magnifique sur le lac.
Découvrir plus
Le Schloss Schadau est un bâtiment classé datant de 1852 et situé dans le parc de Schadau, directement sur les rives du lac de Thoune. En 2019, le château a été entièrement rénové et possède désormais neuf chambres d'hôtel, dont certaines avec une vue magnifique sur le lac.

Vous apprécierez la vue magnifique sur le lac et les Alpes depuis la terrasse du jardin et la véranda. En hiver, vous apprécierez la cuisine moderne franco-méditerranéenne dans l'atmosphère chaleureuse du château. Le bar "au milieu" avec un grand assortiment de sherry complète l'expérience Schadau. Les salles pour les banquets et les séminaires ont toutes une vue sur le lac, certaines avec un balcon. Le "Rougemont-Saal" est le lieu idéal pour un banquet pouvant accueillir jusqu'à 70 personnes. Pour les mariages, la prairie au bord du lac est l'endroit idéal pour la cérémonie. Une suite de la tour peut être complétée par une salle de réunion et une salle à manger d'une superficie totale de près de 100 mètres carrés. Votre bureau privé loin de chez vous. Toutes les salles de banquet et de séminaire offrent une vue sur le lac et les célèbres montagnes Eiger, Mönch et Jungfrau. Les clients de l'hôtel Schloss Schadau peuvent utiliser gratuitement l'espace bien-être avec sauna et bain de vapeur de l'hôtel Congress Seepark situé à 2 minutes de marche dans le parc.

Emplacement

Au bord de l’eau

Classification d'hôtel

3 Étoiles

Horaires d'ouverture

toute l'année

Type

Banquets/Mariages, Séminaires/affaires, Parc/jardin, Adhésions,

Hôte

Roger Lehmann est originaire de la région et gérant du château Schadau depuis son ouverture en tant qu'hôtel en 2019. Outre le château Schadau, le portefeuille comprend également deux restaurants historiques à Bâle. Une équipe motivée sur place s'assure que les hôtes disposent de tout ce dont ils ont besoin. La valeur historique du lieu peut être découverte et approfondie lors de visites guidées du château disponibles sur réservation.

Histoire

Le château de Schadau et ses environs ont une histoire qui remonte à 1348, date à laquelle la maison de Schadau a été mentionnée pour la première fois par écrit. Le parc de Schadau, d'une superficie de 3,6 hectares, est ouvert au public depuis 1860 et s'inspire d'un jardin anglais. L'emplacement du château, directement sur le lac de Thoune et sur la décharge de l'Aar, est unique et forme un ensemble harmonieux avec l'église de Scherzlig, l'une des églises millénaires du lac de Thoune.
lire la suite

La construction du château actuel a été commandée par le banquier neuchâtelois, Denis Alfred de Rougemont, de 1847 à 1852. James Victor Colin de Neuchâtel et Pierre-Charles Dusillion, un architecte formé à l'Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Paris, ont créé un bâtiment qui, de la riche ornementation en grès à la décoration intérieure exquise, témoigne de la plus haute qualité artisanale. Le château de Schadau, l'une des œuvres les plus importantes de l'historicisme romantique en Suisse, représente un bien culturel d'importance nationale. Dans le hall d'entrée du château, l'escalier en grès conçu par le sculpteur Joseph Hubert Verbunt mène aux étages supérieurs, et dans tout le bâtiment, on trouve de remarquables imitations de bois, de marbre et de stuc. Depuis 1925, le château et le parc appartiennent à la ville de Thoune et depuis 1928, un restaurant est installé au premier étage. Le château de Schadau, après diverses utilisations mixtes, a été rénové de 2017 à 2019 pour devenir un restaurant et un hôtel holistique, permettant une médiation authentique du patrimoine architectural. Au cours de cette rénovation, l'étude historique du bâtiment a confirmé que pratiquement tout l'intérieur fixe de la période de construction a été préservé. Cela s'applique aux éléments en bois tels que les fenêtres, les couvertures de niche, les portes, les boiseries de genou et les revêtements de sol, ainsi qu'aux peintures, qui ont été révélées sous des couches de peinture plus récentes. Bien que le château de Schadau ait été construit comme une résidence d'été privée, il a toujours été l'un des centres sociaux du lac et est désormais accessible à tous les visiteurs en tant qu'œuvre d'art totale qui peut être vécue et habitée.

Chambres & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Chambres

Toutes nos 9 chambres et suites, dont 4 avec une fantastique vue sur le lac, ont des parquets et des boiseries d'origine datant de 1847. Elles sont équipées d'un linge de lit très fin, disposent de matelas Happy Swiss Deluxe, de WiFi gratuit, d'eau en bouteille gratuite dans la chambre, d'une TV / lecteur MP3, d'un téléphone, d'un coffre-fort, de douche/WC avec produits de luxe "Feuerstein Essentials Switzerland", d'un peignoir, sèche-cheveux et de serviettes en éponge suisses.

Gastronomie

Vous êtes accueillis au bar « Au Milieu », où une sélection de vins sherry et porto complète l'offre du bar, conjugant le passé au présent. Une cuisine franco-méditerranéenne de niveau vous est servie sur la terrasse avec vue imprenable sur le lac, dans le jardin d'hiver et dans les salons intérieurs, complétée par une vaste sélection de vins de qualité. L'histoire de la noblesse est également reflectée dans le petit-déjeuner, le afternoon-tea ainsi que le brunch du dimanche.

Région

1 | 4

Région

Le parc Schadau, avec son dessin à l'anglaise, offre un environnement parfait de relaxation avec un chemin de méditation ainsi qu'un sentier de découverte arboral. Thoune, avec son ancien centre ville, est le point de départ idéal pour explorer la région ainsi que l'Oberland Bernois.

Contact & Accès

Online Booking
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes

Contact

Schloss Schadau
Seestrasse 45, 3600 Thun (BE)

+41 33 222 25 00
info@schloss-schadau.ch
www.schloss-schadau.ch

Arrivée

En venant de l'autoroute, suivez le panneau "Thun City" et puis les panneaux de repère du stationnement "Scherzligen - Schadau". En tant que hôte de l'hôtel, vous pouvez rouler jusqu'au château pour décharger vos bagages (15 minutes maximum). Des places de stationnement publique payantes sont situées à 2 - 5 minutes à pied. Le check-in est possible entre 15h et 22h, et la chambre est à votre disposition jusqu'à 11h00 le jour de votre départ.

Balises & Affiliations

award-icomos-gold
Hôtel historique de l'année 2021
Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall