Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1852 | 3600 Thun (BE)

Schloss Schadau

Back to now! since 165 years a place of enjoyment
Schloss Schadau is a listed building from 1852 and located in the Schadau Park, directly on the shores of Lake Thun. In 2019, the castle was completely renovated and possess now nine hotel rooms, some with a wonderful lake view.
Discover more
Schloss Schadau is a listed building from 1852 and located in the Schadau Park, directly on the shores of Lake Thun. In 2019, the castle was completely renovated and possess now nine hotel rooms, some with a wonderful lake view.

You will enjoy the magnificent view over the lake to the alps from our garden terrace and the veranda. During winter, you will enjoy the modern French-Mediterranean cuisine in a warm castle atmosphere. The bar "au milieu" with a large sherry assortment completes the Schadau experience. The rooms for banquets and seminars have all lake view, some also with balcony. The "Rougemont-Saal" is the venue for your banquet for up to 70 guests. For weddings, the meadow at the lake is the perfect location for your wedding ceremony. A tower suite can be complemented with a meeting and dining room with a total of almost 100 square meters. Your private office away from home. All banquet and seminar rooms offer a view of the lake and the famous mountains Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. Schloss Schadau hotel guests can use, free of charge, the wellness area with sauna and steam bath in the Congress Seepark Hotel located within a 2-minute walk away in the parc area.

Location

By the water

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Park/garden, Icomos Award,

Host

Roger Lehmann is a native of the region and has leased Schadau Castle since it opened as a hotel in 2019. In addition to Schadau Castle, the company portfolio also includes two historic restaurants in Basel. A motivated team ensures that guests have everything they need and the architectural heritage is brought closer to those interested on guided tours of the castle.

History

Schadau Castle and its surroundings have a history dating back to 1348, when the house of Schadau was first mentioned in writing. The 3.6 hectare Schadau Park has been open to the public since 1860 and is modeled on an English garden. The location of the castle directly on Lake Thun and on the outflow of the Aare is unique and forms a harmonious ensemble with the Scherzlig Church, one of the thousand-year-old churches on Lake Thun.
read more

The construction of the current chateau building was commissioned by the Neuchâtel banker, Denis Alfred de Rougemont, from 1847 to 1852. James Victor Colin of Neuchâtel and Pierre-Charles Dusillion, an architect trained at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris, created a building which, from the rich sandstone ornamentation to the exquisite interior decoration, bears witness to the highest craftsmanship. As one of the most important works of romantic historicism in Switzerland, Schadau Castle represents a cultural asset of national importance. In the entrance hall of the castle, the sandstone staircase designed by sculptor Joseph Hubert Verbunt leads to the upper floors, and throughout the building there are outstanding imitations of wood, marble and stucco. Since 1925 the castle and the park have been owned by the city of Thun and since 1928 there has been a restaurant on the first floor. Schadau Castle, after various mixed uses, was renovated from 2017 - 2019 into a holistic restaurant and hotel operation, allowing an authentic mediation of the architectural heritage. During this renovation, the building historical investigation confirmed that practically the entire fixed interior from the construction period has been preserved. This applies to the wooden elements such as windows, niche coverings, doors, knee woodwork and floor coverings as well as the paintings, which were revealed under more recent layers of paint. Although Schadau Castle was built as a private summer residence, it has always been one of the social centers on the lake and is now available to all visitors as a total work of art that can be experienced and lived in.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

All our 9 rooms and suites, 4 of them with a fantastic lake view, have original parquet floors and woodwork from 1847. The rooms provide our guests with finest bed linen, Happy Swiss Deluxe mattresses, free WiFi, free water bottles, TV/ MP3 player, telephone, room safe, shower/toilet, luxurious products from "Feuerstein Essentials Switzerland", bathrobe, hairdryer and Swiss terry towels. Drinks, coffee and tea are available for free in a lounge room on the first floor.

Gastronomy

You are welcomed in the "Au Milieu" bar where a selection of sherry and port wines complement the bar offering, joining the past to the present. On the terrace with a fantastic view of the lake, on the veranda as well as in the interior salons, a fine Mediterranean-French cuisine is served, complemented by a comprehensive selection of wines. The history of nobility is also taken into account through the daily breakfast offer, the afternoon tea and the Sunday brunch.

Region

1 | 4

Region

The English style "Schadau Park" offers the perfect relaxing environment and includes both a meditation path and a plant discovery trail. With its historic old town, Thun is the ideal starting point for exploring the Lake Thun region and the Bernese Oberland.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Schloss Schadau
Seestrasse 45, 3600 Thun (BE)

+41 33 222 25 00
info@schloss-schadau.ch
www.schloss-schadau.ch

Arrival

Coming from the highway, follow the sign "Thun City" and then the signs of the parking guidance system "Scherzligen - Schadau". Hotel guests can drive through the parc directly in front of the castle to unload their luggage (max. 15 minutes). Public parkings are located nearby, with a 2 to 5 min. walk. Check-in is possible from 3 p.m. to 10 p.m. Hotel rooms are available until 11:00 a.m. on the day of departure.

Awards & Memberships

award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 2021
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1852 | 3600 Thun (BE)

Schloss Schadau

Zurück ins Jetzt! Seit 1852 ein Zeichen für Genuss direkt am Thunersee.
Das Schloss Schadau wurde von 1846 – 1852 als Sommerresidenz erbaut und ist heute ein Gebäude von nationaler Bedeutung. Als eines der ersten Gebäude brach das Schloss Schadau mit der herkömmlichen Architektur-Tradition und stellt sich als Vorreiter des Historismus dar.
Mehr entdecken
Das Schloss Schadau wurde von 1846 – 1852 als Sommerresidenz erbaut und ist heute ein Gebäude von nationaler Bedeutung. Als eines der ersten Gebäude brach das Schloss Schadau mit der herkömmlichen Architektur-Tradition und stellt sich als Vorreiter des Historismus dar.
Seit jeher ein Ort der Offenheit und Gastfreundschaft, ist das Schloss heute ein bewohnbares Gesamtkunstwerk mit 9 Hotelzimmern, historischen Sälen, einem Restaurant mit modern-französischer Küche, einer Veranda und der Seeterrasse. Ganz der Tradition verpflichtet, ergänzt ein Sherry- und Portweinsortiment das Angebot genauso, wie der Sonntagsbrunch oder der Afternoon-Tea. Die einmalige Lage im Schadau-Park am Ufer des Thunersees bietet ideale Voraussetzungen, das Berner Oberland zu erkunden. Alle Bankett- und Seminarräume bieten Ausblick auf den See und das Dreigestirn, Eiger, Mönch und Jungfrau.

Lage

Am Wasser

Klassifikation

3 Sterne

Öffnungszeiten

ganzjährig

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Park/Garten, Icomos Auszeichnung,

Gastgeber

Roger Lehmann stammt aus der Region und führt das Schloss Schadau seit der Neueröffnung als Hotel 2019 in Pacht. Neben dem Schloss Schadau gehören auch zwei historische Restaurants in Basel zum Portfolio. Ein motiviertes Team sorgt dafür, dass es Gästen an nichts fehlt und das baukulturelle Erbe wird auf Schlossführungen Interessierten näher gebracht.

Geschichte

Das Schloss Schadau und dessen Umgebung haben eine Geschichte, die bis in das Jahr 1348 reicht, wo das Haus Schadau zum ersten Mal schriftlich erwähnt wird. Der 3,6 Hektaren grosse Schadau-Park ist seit 1860 für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich und einer englischen Gartenanlage nachempfunden. Die Lage des Schlosses direkt am Thunersee und am Ausfluss der Aare ist einmalig und bildet mit der Scherzlig-Kirche, einer der tausendjährigen Kirchen am Thunersee, ein harmonisches Ensemble.
weiterlesen
Der Bau des heutigen Schlossgebäudes wurde von 1847 bis 1852 vom Neuenburger Bankier, Denis Alfred de Rougemont, in Auftrag gegeben. Der Neuenburger James Victor Colin und der an der Pariser Ecole des Beaux-Arts ausgebildete Architekt Pierre-Charles Dusillion haben ein Bauwerk erschaffen, welches von den reichen Sandstein-Schmuckwerken bis zur exquisiten Innenausstattung von höchster Handwerkskunst zeugt. Als eines der bedeutendsten Werke des romantischen Historismus in der Schweiz stellt das Schloss Schadau ein Kulturgut von nationaler Bedeutung dar. In der Eingangshalle des Schlosses führt die vom Bildhauer Joseph Hubert Verbunt gestaltete Sandsteintreppe in die oberen Stockwerke und im ganzen Gebäude finden sich herausragende Holz-, Marmor- und Stuckimitationen. Seit 1925 ist das Schloss und der Park im Besitze der Stadt Thun und seit 1928 befindet sich im Erdgeschoss ein Restaurationsbetrieb. Das Schloss Schadau wurde, nach diversen Mischnutzungen, von 2017 – 2019 zum ganzheitlichen Restaurant- und Hotelbetrieb umgebaut und ermöglicht eine authentische Vermittlung des baukulturellen Erbes. Bei dieser Renovation bestätigte die bauhistorische Untersuchung, dass praktisch die komplette feste Innenausstattung aus der Bauzeit erhalten ist. Dies betrifft die hölzernen Elemente wie Fenster, Nischenverkleidungen, Türen, Knietäfer und Bodenbeläge genau so wie die Malereien, welche unter jüngeren Farbschichten zum Vorschein kamen. Obschon das Schloss Schadau als private Sommerresidenz erbaut wurde, war es immer einer der gesellschaftlichen Mittelpunkte am See und steht heute allen Besuchern als erleb- und bewohnbares Gesamtkunstwerk zur Verfügung.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Zimmer

Alle unsere 9 Zimmer und Suiten, 4 davon mit traumhafter Seesicht, verfügen über originale Parkett-Böden und Holzarbeiten aus dem Jahr 1847. Sie sind ausgestattet mit feinster Bettwäsche, Happy Swiss Deluxe Matratzen, kostenlosem W-Lan, gratis Wasser im Zimmer, TV/MP3-Player, Telefon, Zimmersafe, Dusche/WC, luxuriöse Produkte von "Feuerstein Essentials Switzerland", Bademantel, Haartrockner und Schweizer Frottee-Wäsche. Im Aufenthaltsraum kostenlos Getränke, Kaffee und Tee zur Verfügung.

Gastronomie

In der Bar «Au Milieu» kommt man an. Eine Auswahl an Sherry und Portwein ergänzen das Barangebot und bringen die Vergangenheit ins Jetzt. Auf der Terrasse mit traumhafter Seesicht, auf der Veranda und in den Innensalons überzeugt eine mediterran-französische Küche, ergänzt mit einer umfassenden Weinauswahl. Der Geschichte des Adels wird auch mit dem täglichen Schlossfrühstück, dem Afternoon-Tea und dem Sonntagsbrunch Rechnung getragen.

Region

1 | 4

Region

Der Schadau-Park, eine englische Gartenanlage, bietet die perfekte Umgebung mit Meditations-Weg und Pflanzenlehrpfad. Thun ist mit seiner historischen Altstadt der ideale Ausgangspunkt, um die Thunersee-Region und das Berner Oberland zu erkunden.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Schloss Schadau
Seestrasse 45, 3600 Thun (BE)

+41 33 222 25 00
info@schloss-schadau.ch
www.schloss-schadau.ch

Anreise

Von der Autobahn herkommend, folgen Sie dem Wegweiser "Thun City" und anschließend den Wegweisern und dem Parkleitsystem "Scherzligen - Schadau". Zum Ausladen des Gepäcks können Sie vor das Schloss fahren (maximal 15 Minuten). Öffentliche, gebührenpflichtige Parkplätze befinden Sich 2 bis 5 Gehminuten entfernt. Check-in ist von 15.00 bis 22.00 Uhr möglich. Das Zimmer steht Ihnen bis 11.00 Uhr am Abreisetag zur Verfügung.

Auszeichnungen & Mitgliedschaften

award-icomos-gold
Historische Hotel des Jahres 2021
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall