Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1900 | 7270 Davos Platz (GR)

Berghotel Schatzalp

Schatzalp - enchanted holiday on the Magic Mountain
The Schatzalp was built in 1900 in art nouveau style as a luxury sanatorium, and was the setting for Thomas Mann's novel The Magic Mountain.
Discover more
The Schatzalp was built in 1900 in art nouveau style as a luxury sanatorium, and was the setting for Thomas Mann's novel The Magic Mountain.

It was later converted into a hotel, but the soul of the building - its architecture - remains unchanged. The hotel lies on a glorious, sunny and carfree mountain terrace 300 metres above Davos, with breathtaking views of the Swiss Alps, and is surrounded by a delightful botanic garden - the Alpinum Schatzalp - with 3,000 species of alpine plants. This exceptional setting makes for a uniquely restful and relaxing holiday and, thanks to the hotel's own private funicular, the "Magic Mountain" is just a four-minute ride up from the resort.

Location

In the mountains

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

Summer: June to OctoberWinter: December to April

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport, Icomos Award

History

In 1900, at Willem Jan Holsboer's initiative, the Schatz­alp sanatorium was built on a high plateau above Davos to provide rest cures for tuberculosis patients. Built by Zurich architects Pfleghardt and Häfeli, the building served as a sanatorium for almost fifty years. At the time, it was thought that a sunny location and good alpine air and cleanliness were the keys to curing tuberculosis.
read more

The building thus faced south, and all of the rooms on that side had large, sunny balconies for the patients. A high degree of sanitary comfort - the hotel had its own water supply - ensured the necessary hygiene. Floor heating, an elevator and a flat roof from which the melt water was drained into the building were a few of the newest technologies in what was at the time a luxury sanatorium. It was one of the first reinforced concrete structures in Switzerland. Architecturally, the building stands at the crossroads between Historicism and Modernism. The complex, with projecting sections in the middle and on the sides, shows the use of form and function. With their designs for the façade and the interior rooms, the architects tried to integrate the building into its surroundings by using regional motifs. The sun porches show patterns of the 'Swiss style', while the façades are covered with sgraffiti and colors associated with the Engadine. In almost willful contrast, there are Art Nouveau decorative elements throughout the house. At the end of the 1940s, when the first effective drugs against the tuberculosis bacteria came on the market, the sanatoriums for patients with pulmonary disease became superfluous. The sanatorium on Schatzalp was turned into a hotel in 1954. Large parts of the historic building were left untouched. Many historic rooms and bathrooms and the original elevator are still preserved today. The Schatzalp Hotel has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2007. In 2008, it was named Historic Hotel of the Year by Icomos.

Awards

award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 2008
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Ouvrir la galerie
Depuis 1900 | 7270 Davos Platz (GR)

Berghotel Schatzalp

Schatzalp - vacances enchantées dans la montagne magique
Le Schatzalp a été construit en 1900 dans un style art nouveau pour servir de sanatorium de luxe. Il a servi de cadre au roman de Thomas Mann, La montagne magique.
Découvrir plus
Le Schatzalp a été construit en 1900 dans un style art nouveau pour servir de sanatorium de luxe. Il a servi de cadre au roman de Thomas Mann, La montagne magique.

Il a ensuite été transformé en hôtel, mais l'âme du bâtiment - son architecture - est restée inchangée. L'hôtel se trouve sur une magnifique terrasse de montagne ensoleillée et sans voiture, à 300 mètres au-dessus de Davos, avec une vue à couper le souffle sur les Alpes suisses. Il est entouré d'un charmant jardin botanique, l'Alpinum Schatzalp, qui compte 3 000 espèces de plantes alpines. Ce cadre exceptionnel permet de passer des vacances particulièrement reposantes et relaxantes et, grâce au funiculaire privé de l'hôtel, la "montagne magique" n'est qu'à quatre minutes du centre de villégiature.

Emplacement

À la montagne

Classification d'hôtel

3 Étoiles

Horaires d'ouverture

Été : Juin à octobre | Hiver : décembre à avril

Type

Banquets/Mariages, Séminaires/affaires, Actif/sport, Adhésions

Histoire

En 1900, à l'initiative de Willem Jan Holsboer, le sanatorium Schatzalp a été construit sur un haut plateau au-dessus de Davos pour offrir des cures de repos aux tuberculeux. Construit par les architectes zurichois Pfleghardt et Häfeli, le bâtiment a servi de sanatorium pendant près de cinquante ans. À l'époque, on pensait qu'un emplacement ensoleillé, un bon air alpin et la propreté étaient les clés de la guérison de la tuberculose.
lire la suite

Le bâtiment était donc orienté vers le sud, et toutes les chambres de ce côté disposaient de grands balcons ensoleillés pour les patients. Un grand confort sanitaire - l'hôtel disposait de son propre système d'approvisionnement en eau - garantissait l'hygiène nécessaire. Le chauffage par le sol, un ascenseur et un toit plat d'où l'eau de fonte était évacuée dans le bâtiment étaient quelques-unes des technologies les plus récentes dans ce qui était à l'époque un sanatorium de luxe. Il s'agit de l'une des premières constructions en béton armé de Suisse. Sur le plan architectural, le bâtiment se situe à la croisée des chemins entre l'historicisme et le modernisme. Le complexe, avec des sections en saillie au milieu et sur les côtés, montre l'utilisation de la forme et de la fonction. En concevant la façade et les pièces intérieures, les architectes ont essayé d'intégrer le bâtiment dans son environnement en utilisant des motifs régionaux. Les vérandas présentent des motifs du "style suisse", tandis que les façades sont recouvertes de sgraffites et de couleurs associées à l'Engadine. En contraste presque volontaire, on trouve des éléments décoratifs Art nouveau dans toute la maison. À la fin des années 1940, lorsque les premiers médicaments efficaces contre la bactérie de la tuberculose ont été mis sur le marché, les sanatoriums pour les patients atteints de maladies pulmonaires sont devenus superflus. Le sanatorium de Schatzalp a été transformé en hôtel en 1954. De grandes parties du bâtiment historique ont été laissées intactes. De nombreuses chambres et salles de bains historiques, ainsi que l'ascenseur d'origine, sont encore préservés aujourd'hui. L'hôtel Schatzalp est membre de Swiss Historic Hotels depuis 2007. En 2008, il a été nommé Hôtel historique de l'année par Icomos.

Balises

award-icomos-gold
Hôtel historique de l'année 2008
Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall