Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1829 | 1820 Montreux-Veytaux (VD)

Hôtel Masson

The art of living in the present with a wink at the past.
Discover more

The charming Hotel Masson with 31 rooms is located in Montreux Veytaux, on an elevated site affording extensive views, alongside the old Simplon road. The contemporary structure began life as the house of a wine-grower, and may have even been a guesthouse before that.

Location

In the city, By the water

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

March to December

Type

Seminar/business, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, Icomos Award
1 | 3

History

The Hôtel Masson in Veytaux-Chillon, built by Jean François Masson in 1829, is considered one of the oldest inns in Montreux and is thus an important example of early hotel history on the shores of Lake Geneva. The typical vintner's house with wine cellar had a press house beside it. In the second half of the 19th century, the initially modest inn was renovated and expanded several times.
read more

In 1861, three decades before electric lights became common, an imposing interior light well and staircase were added on the back. In the late 1870s the owner of the second generation, newly in charge, beautified the hotel by adding new balconies and verandas as were popular at the time. The building was surrounded by large vineyards into the 1930s; today's large garden with the orchard retains a touch of the original setting. Until the early 20th century the hotel was still owned by the Masson family; Elise Masson and her husband Charles Albert Rolli, who ran the hotel from 1873 to 1906, played a particularly strong role in its history. The hotel then changed owners several times, until in 1947 it was finally acquired by René ­Jaquier, the father of the current hôtelière. Despite the two World Wars and the related crises of Swiss tourism, the hotel has always remained opened. The current owners resisted the government-subsidized wave of renewal of the post-war years, always keeping the hotel in authentic condition. In this way, they have been able to preserve the hotel's historic splendor, including its creaking parquet floors and the original period furniture. In 1999, the Icomos jury gave the Hôtel Masson a special award for the exemplary preservation of the original structure". The hotel has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2005.

Awards

award-icomos-gold
Special mention 1999
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Réserver un hôtel

 
Choisir un hôtel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Atrium Hotel Blume
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adultes
1 Adultes
Tous les hôtels
Ouvrir la galerie
Depuis 1829 | 1820 Montreux-Veytaux (VD)

Hôtel Masson

L'art de vivre au présent avec un clin d'œil au passé.
Découvrir plus

Le charmant Hôtel Masson, qui compte 31 chambres, est situé à Montreux Veytaux, sur un site élevé offrant une vue étendue, le long de l'ancienne route du Simplon. Cette structure contemporaine a d'abord été la maison d'un vigneron, et peut-être même une maison d'hôtes.

Emplacement

En ville, Au bord de l’eau

Classification d'hôtel

3 Étoiles

Horaires d'ouverture

De mars à décembre

Type

Séminaires/affaires, Actif/sport, Parc/jardin, Adapté aux familles/enfants, Art & culture, Adhésions
1 | 3

Histoire

L'Hôtel Masson à Veytaux-Chillon, construit par Jean François Masson en 1829, est considéré comme l'une des plus anciennes auberges de Montreux et constitue donc un exemple important des débuts de l'histoire hôtelière sur les rives du lac Léman. La maison typique du vigneron, avec sa cave à vin, possédait un pressoir à côté. Dans la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle, l'auberge, d'abord modeste, a été rénovée et agrandie à plusieurs reprises.
lire la suite

En 1861, trois décennies avant que l'éclairage électrique ne devienne courant, un imposant puits de lumière intérieur et un escalier ont été ajoutés à l'arrière. À la fin des années 1870, le propriétaire de la deuxième génération, nouvellement en charge, a embelli l'hôtel en ajoutant de nouveaux balcons et vérandas, comme c'était le cas à l'époque. Le bâtiment a été entouré de vastes vignobles jusque dans les années 1930 ; le grand jardin d'aujourd'hui, avec le verger, conserve une touche du cadre d'origine. Jusqu'au début du XXe siècle, l'hôtel appartenait encore à la famille Masson ; Elise Masson et son mari Charles Albert Rolli, qui ont dirigé l'hôtel de 1873 à 1906, ont joué un rôle particulièrement important dans l'histoire de l'hôtel. L'hôtel a ensuite changé plusieurs fois de propriétaires, avant d'être finalement acquis en 1947 par René Jaquier, le père de l'hôtelière actuelle. Malgré les deux guerres mondiales et les crises du tourisme suisse qui en découlent, l'hôtel est toujours resté ouvert. Les propriétaires actuels ont résisté à la vague de rénovation des années d'après-guerre, subventionnée par le gouvernement, et ont toujours conservé l'hôtel dans son état authentique. Ils ont ainsi pu préserver la splendeur historique de l'hôtel, y compris ses parquets grinçants et son mobilier d'époque. En 1999, le jury Icomos a décerné à l'Hôtel Masson un prix spécial pour la préservation exemplaire de la structure d'origine. L'hôtel est membre de Swiss Historic Hotels depuis 2005.

Balises

award-icomos-gold
Mention spéciale 1999
Bons-cadeaux

Vous recevrez le bon directement au format PDF et pourrez l'imprimer immédiatement.

Bons-cadeaux
Newsletter

Nous vous tiendrons régulièrement informés sur les offres de Swiss Historic Hotels.

Enregistrer
Social Media

Partagez vos meilleurs moments avec #swisshistorichotels et inspirez les autres.

Vers le Social Wall