Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1829 | 1820 Montreux-Veytaux (VD)

Hôtel Masson

The art of living in the present with a wink at the past.
Discover more

The charming Hotel Masson with 31 rooms is located in Montreux Veytaux, on an elevated site affording extensive views, alongside the old Simplon road. The contemporary structure began life as the house of a wine-grower, and may have even been a guesthouse before that.

Location

In the city, By the water

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

March to December

Type

Seminar/business, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, Icomos Award
1 | 3

History

The Hôtel Masson in Veytaux-Chillon, built by Jean François Masson in 1829, is considered one of the oldest inns in Montreux and is thus an important example of early hotel history on the shores of Lake Geneva. The typical vintner's house with wine cellar had a press house beside it. In the second half of the 19th century, the initially modest inn was renovated and expanded several times.
read more

In 1861, three decades before electric lights became common, an imposing interior light well and staircase were added on the back. In the late 1870s the owner of the second generation, newly in charge, beautified the hotel by adding new balconies and verandas as were popular at the time. The building was surrounded by large vineyards into the 1930s; today's large garden with the orchard retains a touch of the original setting. Until the early 20th century the hotel was still owned by the Masson family; Elise Masson and her husband Charles Albert Rolli, who ran the hotel from 1873 to 1906, played a particularly strong role in its history. The hotel then changed owners several times, until in 1947 it was finally acquired by René ­Jaquier, the father of the current hôtelière. Despite the two World Wars and the related crises of Swiss tourism, the hotel has always remained opened. The current owners resisted the government-subsidized wave of renewal of the post-war years, always keeping the hotel in authentic condition. In this way, they have been able to preserve the hotel's historic splendor, including its creaking parquet floors and the original period furniture. In 1999, the Icomos jury gave the Hôtel Masson a special award for the exemplary preservation of the original structure". The hotel has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2005.

Awards

award-icomos-gold
Special mention 1999
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1829 | 1820 Montreux-Veytaux (VD)

Hôtel Masson

Die Kunst des Lebens in der Gegenwart mit einem Augenzwinkern auf die Vergangenheit.
Mehr entdecken
Das charmante Hôtel Masson mit 31 Zimmern liegt in der Gemeinde Veytaux bei Montreux, in erhöhter, aussichtsreicher Lage an der alten Simplonstrasse. Das heutige Gebäude entstand im Jahre 1829 aus einem ursprünglichen Weinbauernhaus, vielleicht sogar aus einem alten Gasthaus.

Lage

In der Stadt, Am Wasser

Klassifikation

3 Sterne

Öffnungszeiten

März – Dezember

Hoteltyp

Seminar/Business, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Park/Garten, Familien-/Kinderfreundlich, Kunst & Kultur, Icomos Auszeichnung
1 | 3

Geschichte

Das 1829 von Jean François Masson erbaute Hôtel Masson in Veytaux-Chillon gilt als eine der ältesten Pensionen in Montreux und damit als wichtiger Bauzeuge für die frühe Hotelgeschichte am Ufer des Genfersees. Das typische Winzerhaus mit Weinkeller war flankiert von einem Keltergebäude. In der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts wurde die ehemals bescheidene Pension mehrmals umgebaut und erweitert.
weiterlesen
So kam 1861, drei Jahrzehnte vor der Verbreitung des elektrischen Lichts, mit einem hangseitigen Erweiterungsbau der imposante innere Lichthof mit Treppenanlage hinzu. In den späten 1870er Jahren verschönerte die neue Eigentümerin der zweiten Generation das Haus mit neuen Balkonen und Veranden, ganz im Sinne der damaligen Zeit. Bis in die 1930er Jahre blieb das Gebäude von grossen Weinbergen umgeben, heute weist noch ein grosser Garten mit Obstbäumen auf die ursprüngliche Umgebung hin. Bis ins frühe 20. Jahrhundert blieb das Hotel im Besitz der Familie Masson; besonders prägende Hoteliers waren von 1873 bis 1906 Elise Masson und ihr Gatte Charles Albert Rolli. ­Danach wechselten die Besitzer mehrmals, bis das Hotel schliesslich 1947 in den Besitz von René Jaquier kam, dem Vater der heutigen Hotelière. Trotz der beiden Weltkriege und der damit verbundenen Krisen in der Schweizer Hotellerie blieb das Haus stets für Gäste geöffnet. Die heutigen Besitzer widerstanden der staatlich subventionierten Erneuerungswelle der Nachkriegszeit und erhielten das Haus stets in einem authentischen Zustand. Dadurch gelang es ihnen, das Hotel in seiner historischen Pracht zu erhalten, mitsamt den knarrenden Parkettböden und den originalen Stilmöbeln. 1999 erhielt das Hôtel Masson von der Icomos-Jury eine besondere Auszeichnung «für die vorbildliche Erhaltung der Originalsubstanz». Seit 2005 ist das Haus Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels.

Auszeichnungen

award-icomos-gold
Besondere Auszeichnung 1999
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall