Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1873 | 4058 Basel (BS)

Hotel Krafft

Beautiful moments at the Rhine
Character, charm and quality. The Krafft Basel is a traditional city hotel with restaurant in a prime location directly on the Rhine in Kleinbasel.
Discover more
Character, charm and quality. The Krafft Basel is a traditional city hotel with restaurant in a prime location directly on the Rhine in Kleinbasel.

In the renovated house dating from 1873, classic and contemporary design enter into exciting alliances: Individually designed comfort rooms and junior suites with many extras as well as comfortable design rooms in the Consum Residence opposite. With innovation and style, the restaurant allows its guests to experience market-fresh variety and unadulterated pleasure anew every day. The wine bar consum completes the Krafft offer. Whether hotel or restaurant - at Krafft Basel, quality and authenticity are paramount. Together with the guests, the staff also always feel comfortable and appreciated here. The atmosphere at Krafft Basel is unique for everyone. The motto is: Beautiful moments on the Rhine.

Location

In the city, By the water

Hotel classification

4 Stars

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Icomos Award

History

In 1872, Ernst Krafft replaced three medieval artisans' houses on the Kleinbasel banks of the Rhine with a new hotel. Over the years the four-story hotel, seven window-axes wide, with its prime location on the Rhine and a view of the cathedral hill had its share of famous visitors. Hermann Hesse (1877-1962) wrote much of Steppenwolf here.
read more

After a lean period in the 20th century, during which old hotels were no longer held in high regard, the Krafft was renovated and expanded in 1958. Following another standstill, the hotel was taken under the wings of the Edith Maryon Foundation at the initiative of its current leaseholder. With the support of the office for the preservation of historic buildings and monuments, the historic hotel was skillfully renovated over the next few years. The renovation's main aim was to leave the checkered history of the hotel visible rather than introducing a uniform style. Since then, Swiss 'Typenmöbel' from the 20th century have provided the hotel with an unmistakable atmosphere. The hotel's designation as Historic Hotel of the Year 2007 was a logical consequence of this careful renovation, carried out with much cultural-historical professionalism. The Icomos jury also noted the contemporary touches added with fresh creativity and particularly the enthusiasm with which the current managers have brightened up and brought back to life this historic city hotel. This success apparently inspired the owners to subsequently take over the neighboring building at Rheingasse 19, location of Kleinbasel's first Consum store. In 2009, they opened the annex, again very professionally renovated. Modern guest rooms are on the top floors while a popular bar occupies the main floor. The Krafft has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2005.

We are a melange of long-time Krafft employees and young guns. We welcome everyone – at any time – and sometimes pop the corks for ourselves.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

Since the founding of the hotel in 1873, our guests look out from 48 individually furnished rooms either onto the Rhine with its promenade or onto the alley of the old town. In the Dependence opposite, which is just as rich in history, it is safe to stay. Each room combines timeless design with an incomparable view of the city's lifeline - the Rhine. In the City Rooms, you are close to the action or above the rooftops of Kleinbasel's old town.
1 | 3

Gastronomy

From the foyer, you are almost magically drawn through the double doors into the large hall. There, the herringbone parquet floor creaks charmingly underfoot and life pulsates on the Rhine promenade outside the windows. The cuisine is characterized by selected regional products and combines traditional craftsmanship and creative recipes of today. In the restaurant and on the terrace you are welcomed with cordiality – no matter if you, you or you.

Region

Region

Basel is characterized by its many world-class museums and shines with excellent architecture far beyond the country's borders. Some claim that the city is crossed in less than 1 hour - others let themselves float in the Rhine for just as long.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Hotel Krafft
Rheingasse 12, 4058 Basel (BS)

+41 61 690 91 30
info@krafftbasel.ch
www.krafftbasel.ch

Arrival

The hotel driveway may be used for loading and unloading. The car can be parked in one of our partner parking lots nearby. Special conditions apply. Streetcar stop Rheingasse. From SBB train station: Tram no. 8 direction Kleinhüningen. From Badischer Bahnhof: streetcar no. 6 direction Allschwil.

Awards

award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 2007
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1873 | 4058 Basel (BS)

Hotel Krafft

Schöne Momente am Rhein
Charakter, Charme und Qualität. Das Krafft Basel ist ein traditionsreiches Stadthotel mit Restaurant an bester Lage direkt am Rhein in Kleinbasel.
Mehr entdecken
Charakter, Charme und Qualität. Das Krafft Basel ist ein traditionsreiches Stadthotel mit Restaurant an bester Lage direkt am Rhein in Kleinbasel.

Im renovierten Haus von 1873 gehen klassisches und aktuelles Design spannende Verbindungen ein: Individuell gestaltete Komfortzimmer und Juniorsuiten mit vielen Extras sowie komfortable Design Zimmer in der Consum Residence gegenüber. Mit Innovation und Stil lässt das Restaurant seine Gäste täglich marktfrische Vielfalt und unverfälschten Genuss neu erleben. Die Weinbar consum vervollständigt das Krafft-Angebot. Ob Hotel oder Restaurant – im Krafft Basel werden Qualität und Echtheit grossgeschrieben. Gemeinsam mit den Gästen fühlen sich hier auch die Mitarbeitenden stets wohl und geschätzt. Die Stimmung im Krafft Basel ist für alle einmalig. Es gilt: Schöne Momente am Rhein.

Lage

In der Stadt, Am Wasser

Klassifikation

4 Sterne

Öffnungszeiten

ganzjährig

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Icomos Auszeichnung

Geschichte

1872 erbaute Ernst Krafft am Kleinbasler Rheinufer anstelle von drei mittelalterlichen Handwerkerhäusern ein neues Hotel. Das vierstöckige und sieben Fensterachsen breite Haus an bevorzugter Lage am Rheinufer und mit Blick auf den Münsterhügel konnte im Laufe der Zeit berühmte Gäste beherbergen: Hier verfasste beispielsweise Hermann Hesse (1877-1962) einen grossen Teil seines Steppenwolfs.
weiterlesen

Nach einer langen Durststrecke im 20. Jahrhundert, in der alte Hotels keine Wertschätzung mehr genossen, wurde das Haus 1958 renoviert und erweitert. Nach einer weiteren Phase des Stillstands kam das Hotel über die heutigen Pächter in die Hand der Stiftung Edith Maryon. Mit Unterstützung der Denkmalpflege erhielt das historische Gebäude in den folgenden Jahren eine fachgerechte Erneuerung. Oberstes Ziel dieser Arbeiten war es, die bewegte Geschichte des Hauses ablesbar zu belassen und den Ausstattungsstil nicht zu vereinheitlichen. Seither verleihen Schweizer Typenmöbel aus dem 20. Jahrhundert dem Haus ein unverwechselbares Ambiente. Die Auszeichnung zum Historischen Hotel des Jahres 2007 war die logische Folge dieser behutsamen und mit viel kulturhistorischem Sachverstand ausgeführten Renovation. Die Icomos-Jury würdigte unter anderem auch die mit frischer Gestaltungskraft eingefügten zeitgenössischen Ergänzungen und vor allem die Begeisterung, mit der die heutigen Betreiber das historische Stadthotel beleben und beseelen. Dieser Erfolg beflügelte die Eigentümer offensichtlich, denn sie übernahmen daraufhin auch das Nachbargebäude Rheingasse 19, Standort des ersten Consum-Ladens in Kleinbasel. 2009 eröffneten sie das wiederum mit viel Sachverstand erneuerte Haus mit zeitgemässen Gästezimmern in den Obergeschossen und einer mittlerweile stadtbekannten Bar im Erdgeschoss. Seit 2005 ist das Haus Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels.

Wir sind eine Melange aus langjährigen Krafft-Mitarbeitenden und jungen Wilden. Wir empfangen alle – jederzeit – und lassen auch mal die Korken für uns selbst knallen.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Zimmer

Seit der Gründerzeit 1873 blicken unsere Gäste aus 48 individuell eingerichteten Zimmer entweder auf den Rhein mit seiner Promenade oder auf die Gasse der Altstadt. In der ebenso geschichtsreichen Dependence vis-à-vis wohnt es sich geborgen. Jedes Zimmer vereint zeitloses Design mit einem unvergleichlichen Ausblick auf die Lebensader der Stadt - den Rhein. In den Stadt-Zimmern ist man nah am Geschehen oder über den Dächern der Kleinbasler Altstadt.
1 | 3

Gastronomie

Vom Foyer zieht es einen beinahe magisch durch die Flügeltüre in den grossen Saal hinein. Dort knarrt der Fischgrätparkett charmant unter den Füssen und vor den Fenstern pulsiert das Leben auf der Rheinpromenade. Die Küche zeichnet sich durch ausgewählte regionale Produkte aus und verbindet traditionelles Handwerk und kreative Rezepte von heute. Im Restaurant und auf der Terrasse wird man mit Herzlichkeit empfangen - ganz egal ob Du, Sie oder Ihr.

Region

Region

Basel zeichnet sich durch seine vielen weltklasse Museen aus und strahlt mit ausgezeichneter Architektur bis weit über die Landesgrenzen. Manche behalupten, die Stadt sei in weniger als 1 Stunde durchquert - andere lassen sich genau so lange im Rhein treiben.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Hotel Krafft
Rheingasse 12, 4058 Basel (BS)

+41 61 690 91 30
info@krafftbasel.ch
www.krafftbasel.ch

Anreise

Die Hotelvorfahrt darf zum ein- und ausladen genutzt werden. Das Auto kann in einem unserer Partner-Parkhäusern in der Nähe untergebracht werden. Es bestehen spezielle Konditionen. Tramhaltestelle Rheingasse. Vom Bahnhof SBB: Tram Nr. 8 Richtung Kleinhüningen. Vom Badischen Bahnhof: Tram Nr. 6 Richtung Allschwil

Auszeichnungen

award-icomos-gold
Historisches Hotel des Jahres 2007
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall