Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1896 | 7500 St. Moritz (GR)

Badrutt's Palace Hotel

Your Tradition. Our Spirit.
Situated amid breathtakingly beautiful scenery, Badrutt's Palace Hotel is not only a symbol of St. Moritz but also of Swiss hotel legends par excellence. Opened in 1896, it is still owned by the Badrutt family. The hotel's grandeur is famous throughout the world.
Discover more
Situated amid breathtakingly beautiful scenery, Badrutt's Palace Hotel is not only a symbol of St. Moritz but also of Swiss hotel legends par excellence. Opened in 1896, it is still owned by the Badrutt family. The hotel's grandeur is famous throughout the world.

Majestically situated amid breathtakingly beautiful and unspoiled scenery. The Palace is a haven of tranquility. A historic symbol of St. Moritz. No two rooms are alike, each has its own distinct character. Badrutt's Palace is a celebration of style, sports, cuisine and fashion, with discreet service and traditional elegance evoking an atmosphere of pampered luxury for all. An ideal destination in both winter and summer, the hotel is located in one of the most challenging ski areas in the world and offers a host of summer alpine activities.

Location

In the mountains

Hotel classification

5 Stars Superior

Opening Hours

June - September and December - March

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Wellness/spa, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly, , Icomos Award
1 | 5

History

In the mid-1880s Caspar Badrutt bought the Beau Rivage (1872) in St. Moritz. His father, Johannes, was the proud owner of St. Moritz's Kulm and founder of the Badrutt hotel dynasty. Between 1892 and 1896, Caspar Badrutt expanded the Beau Rivage into the ­palatial Badrutt's Palace.
read more

Under his care and that of his descendants, generations of prominent guests came to appreciate the hotel's exclusive atmosphere. After opening in 1896, Badrutt's Palace, designed by Zurich architects Alfred Chiodera (1850-1916) and Theophil Tschudi (1847-1911), soon underwent further transformations. In 1907, one full floor and a new attic floor were added, as was, a little later, a three-story tract on the west-side with a dining room and indoor tennis court. After more alterations in the 1920s and in the decades after WW II, the entire premises were extensively renovated at the end of the 20th century. Through it all, Badrutt's Palace has kept its unmistakable ­castle-like character with its location on a steep bluff above Lake St. Moritz and the hotel's silhouette with its merlons and corner towers. A distinct main tower with a pyramid-roof rises up on the west side. The hotel sits on a two-story base with walls of unhewn stones. This is topped by a light-flooded main floor with public rooms, restaurants, boutiques, a veranda and a large terrace. Then, the floors with the guest rooms. The tower, completely rebuilt after a 1967 fire, houses a private suite. From the beginning, the façades and interior incorporated a rich variety of styles. The Gothic-Revival motif of the façades, with Tudor arches, continues in the hotel interiors. Filigree wood walls and imposing Renaissance-style wood coffered ceilings as well as Neo-Baroque ceiling paintings characterize the public rooms. Despite the many transformations, much attention has always been paid to the original structural fabric; early stamped sgraffiti on the ­façade were uncovered in 2006. Badrutt's Palace has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2006.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

Guest accommodations at Badrutt’s Palace Hotel invite you to take in their magnificent views of Lake St. Moritz or the charming village centre. Unique designs and layouts of the 155 guest rooms and suites add personality to your visit and are emblematic of this historic hotel property.
1 | 5

Gastronomy

10 restaurants, 3 bars and 1 club await you. Embark on a culinary adventure that includes the two Michelin-starred IGNIV by Andreas Caminada, Japanese-Peruvian Matsuhisa by celebrity chef Nobuyuki Matsuhisa, King's Social House, an exciting dinner-and-dance concept by Jason Atherton, and more. Badrutt's Palace entices with a charming variety of restaurants offering different cuisines.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Via Serlas 27, 7500 St. Moritz (GR)

+41 81 837 10 00
reservations@badruttspalace.com
badruttspalace.com

Arrival

Many ways lead to St. Moritz

By Car
Travelling to St. Moritz by car is easy and convenient from anywhere in Switzerland, Northern Italy, Southern Germany and Austria. The closest Airports are:

  • Zurich Airport – St. Moritz: 2 h30min
  • Milan Malpensa – St. Moritz: 2h30min

By Train
The journey on board of the Rhaetian Railway (RhB) from Chur to St. Moritz includes the Albula Unesco World Heritage route and is among the most picturesque in Europe.

  • Train travel time from Chur to St. Moritz: 2h10min
  • Train travel time from Zurich Airport to St. Moritz: 3h30min

By Plane
Private flights directly to the Engadin Airport, 10 minutes away from St. Moritz.

Awards

award-guide-michelin-gold
2 Stars
award-icomos-gold
Chesa Veglia 2009
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1896 | 7500 St. Moritz (GR)

Badrutt's Palace Hotel

Your Tradition. Our Spirit.
Umgeben von einer atemberaubend schönen Landschaft, gilt das Badrutt's Palace Hotel nicht nur als imposantes Wahrzeichen von St. Moritz, sondern als die Schweizer Hotellegende schlechthin. 1896 eröffnet, befindet es sich bis heute im Besitz der Familie Badrutt. Die Grandezza des Hotels gilt auf der ganzen Welt als unvergleichlich.
Mehr entdecken
Umgeben von einer atemberaubend schönen Landschaft, gilt das Badrutt's Palace Hotel nicht nur als imposantes Wahrzeichen von St. Moritz, sondern als die Schweizer Hotellegende schlechthin. 1896 eröffnet, befindet es sich bis heute im Besitz der Familie Badrutt. Die Grandezza des Hotels gilt auf der ganzen Welt als unvergleichlich.

Inmitten einer atemberaubenden, unberührten Landschaft an einer exponierten Lage liegt Badrutt's Palace in einer Oase der Ruhe und als historisches Wahrzeichen von St. Moritz. Kein Zimmer ist wie das Andere. Jedes hat seinen eigenen Charakter. Badrutt's Palace pflegt den exklusiven Stil, den Sport, die Kochkunst und die Mode. In einem der interessantesten Skigebiete der Welt gelegen und dank einem reichen Angebot an alpinen Sommeraktivitäten, ist das Hotel im Winter wie im Sommer das ideale Reiseziel.

Lage

In den Bergen

Klassifikation

5 Sterne Superior

Öffnungszeiten

Juni – September und Dezember – März

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Wellness/Spa, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Park/Garten, Familien-/Kinderfreundlich, , Icomos Auszeichnung
1 | 5

Geschichte

Mitte der 1880er Jahre kaufte Caspar Badrutt das 1872 erbaute Hotel Beau Rivage in St. Moritz. In einem vierjährigen Umbau machte er das kleine Gasthaus zum palastähnlichen Badrutt's Palace Hotel, das 1896 eröffnet wurde. Schon sein Vater Johannes Badrutt war im Gastgewerbe tätig gewesen: Als stolzer Besitzer des Kulm Hotels in St. Moritz war er der Begründer der Hoteldynastie Badrutt.
weiterlesen

In ihrer Obhut schätzten prominente Gäste aus der ganzen Welt über Jahrzehnte hinweg die exklusive Atmosphäre des Hauses. Nach dem Bau des Badrutt's Palace Hotel durch die Architekten Alfred Chiodera (1850-1916) und Theophil Tschudi (1847-1911) aus Zürich erlebte das Hotel einige Erweiterungen und Umbauten. 1907 wurde das Gebäude um ein Voll- und ein Dachgeschoss erhöht, etwas später kam ein dreistöckiger Westtrakt mit Speisesaal und Tennishalle dazu, gegen Ende des 20. Jahrhunderts wurden umfassende Renova­tionen durchgeführt. Die Lage am steilen Hang über dem St. Moritzersee und die Form mit den Zinnen und Ecktürmchen geben dem Badrutt's Palace Hotel bis heute einen unverwechselbaren schlossartigen Charakter. Ein markanter Hauptturm ragt an der Westseite mit seinem Pyramidendach in die Höhe. Das Gebäude wird getragen von einem zweistöckigen Sockel aus rustikalem Steinmauerwerk. Darüber befindet sich ein lichtdurchflutetes Erdgeschoss mit öffentlichen Bereichen, Restaurants, Boutiquen, einer Veranda und einer grossen Terrasse. Die oberen Geschosse sind Gästezimmer, in der Turmspitze befindet sich eine ­Suite, die nach dem Turmbrand 1967 neu aufgebaut wurde. Schon von Beginn an zeigten sich Fassade und Interieur in grosser gestalterischer Vielfalt. Das neugotische Motiv der Fassade mit englischen Spitzbögen setzt sich im Innern des Hauses fort. Filigrane Holzwände und imposante Holzkassettendecken im Renaissancestil sowie neobarocke Deckenmale­reien zeichnen die öffentlichen Bereiche aus. Trotz der vielen Umbauten wurde dem Erhalt der Originalsubstanz stets viel Sorge getragen; so legte man 2006 das ursprüngliche Stempelsgraffito an der Fassade wieder frei. Seit 2006 ist das Badrutt's Palace Hotel Mitglied von Swiss Historic ­Hotels.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Zimmer

Das Badrutt's Palace Hotel verfügt über 155 elegante Zimmer und Suiten, die alle einen atemberaubenden Blick auf den See oder das charmante Dorfzentrum bieten. Einzigartige Zimmerdesigns und einen legendären Service zeichnen das historische Hotel aus.
1 | 5

Gastronomie

10 Restaurants, 3 Bars und 1 Club warten auf Sie. Begeben Sie sich auf ein kulinarisches Abenteuer, zu dem das mit zwei Michelin-Sternen ausgezeichnete IGNIV von Andreas Caminada, das japanisch-peruanische Matsuhisa von Starkoch Nobuyuki Matsuhisa, das King's Social House, ein aufregendes Konzept zum Essen und Tanzen von Jason Atherton, und vieles mehr gehören. Badrutt's Palace lockt mit einer bezaubernden Vielfalt an Restaurants, die unterschiedliche Küchen anbieten.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Via Serlas 27, 7500 St. Moritz (GR)

+41 81 837 10 00
reservations@badruttspalace.com
badruttspalace.com

Anreise

Mit dem Auto
Die Anreise nach St. Moritz mit dem Auto ist von überall in der Schweiz, Norditalien, Süddeutschland und Österreich einfach und bequem. Die nächstgelegenen Flughäfen sind:

  • Flughafen Zürich – St. Moritz: 2 h 30 min
  • Mailand Malpensa – St. Moritz: 2 h 30 min

Unser Concierge-Team ist Ihnen gerne bei der Organisation von Transfers behilflich.

Mit dem Zug
Die Fahrt mit der Rhätischen Bahn (RhB) von Chur nach St. Moritz führt über die Unesco-Welterbestrecke Albula und gehört zu den schönsten in Europa.

  • Fahrzeit Zug von Chur nach St. Moritz: 2h 10 min
  • Zugfahrzeit von Zürich Flughafen nach St. Moritz: 3h 30 min

Online-Zugfahrplan

Mit dem Flugzeug
Privatflüge direkt zum Engadin Airport, 10 Minuten von St. Moritz entfernt.

Auszeichnungen

award-guide-michelin-gold
2 Sterne
award-icomos-gold
Chesa Veglia 2009
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall