Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1651 | 7536 Sta. Maria-Val Müstair (GR)

Chasa de Capol

Retreat and accommodation in an 800-year-old knight’s mansion.
«Here you can experience magic without having to consume magic mushrooms,” noted LSD discoverer Albert Hofmann in our guest book. Was it our kitchen, where scrumptious alpine recipes are prepared in copper pans to this day?
Discover more
«Here you can experience magic without having to consume magic mushrooms,” noted LSD discoverer Albert Hofmann in our guest book. Was it our kitchen, where scrumptious alpine recipes are prepared in copper pans to this day?

Or the wines from the Carolingian cellar maturing in oak barrels? Or simply the medieval charm of the patrician house full of histories and decorated with sgraffiti and ornaments?

Location

In the mountains

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Park/garden, Family/child friendly, Art & culture
1 | 2

History

Around the year 1199 a building complex with a chapel, refectory and a hospice was built upon the foundation of even older ruins. After this time and for several further centuries, the Polo family, descended from Venice, to reside here- their name thus mutating into Ca-Polo and thenCapol.
read more

They held positions of trust in the respective regencies (Repubblica Veneta, Prince-Bishopric of Chur, House of Habsburg), worked as economists (secular provosts) at the nearby Benedictine monastery of St. John in Müstair, and bought pedestal offices in Valtellina at auction. They carried out numerous official business activities, which also shaped the history of the house. In the eastern extension, Augustinian monks looked after a hospice with a chapel and refectory. The north wing was equipped with an extended barn. 1481 Emperor Friederich III raised the Capols to the status of “Counts”. 1506 his son Maximilian I Rex resided in the Chasa de Capol. 1677 an extension of the parlors in stone pine was build. 1728 is the year of the birth of the gallant composer Petrus Sebastianus de Capol. 1774 after the village fire, a special half-hipped roof was constructed. 1838 sadly this branch of the Count's family de Capol becomes extinct. The house is then left to itself and deteriorates. 1917 the extended barn in the north wing collapsesunder the weight of exceptional snow fall during the winter.The roof is then repaired by the military staying on the premises during the border occupation. From 1950 onwards, after around 120 years of vacancy, the house is brought back to life with a lot of heart and soul. Today, the Chasa de Capolcontinues to gently and sustainably develope. The spirit of the Capols, the Augustinian monks, the mules, the knights and minstrels can still be felt.

Hier erlebt man Zauberhaftes, ohne magische Pilze zu haben

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 4

Experience sleeping in a castle

5 charming and individually decorated rooms with en-suite bathroom. The rooms are available in combination with our special arrangment that includes a special evening meal. Enjoy our spacious hotel garden with newly rennovated pool with a view on the mountain peakes. Relax and enjoy nature.
1 | 2

Gastronomy

Home made, local and of frehsley prepared. We cook all meals in a traditional manner using our old heavy copper pans on fire. Enjoy the KnightsTavern - in the "Stüva" - in the Marco Polo Bar in front of a crackling wood fire. At our bar we look forward to serving you apéritifs, wine and selected coffe. A comfortable Davidoff Cigar-lounge is situated ajectent to the bar. Our dining room is opened daily for dinner service as of 7pm.

Region

1 | 2

Biosfera Val Müstair

Beauty and intact. Magnificent flower meadows and ancient larch and stone pine forests. Peaks, pass crossings and high-altitude paths, in winter a snow-covered fairytale world. Charming and authentic. Welcome to the Biosfera Val Müstair Nature Park!

Contact & Arrival

Arrival

With the Rhaetian Railway to Zernez, then with the PostBus through the Swiss National Park over the Ofen-Pass to Sta. Maria cumün. Almost all courses go to Mals and thus also to the South Tyrolean Münstertal. In Mals there is a connection to the Vinschgerbahn to Meran or via bus to Reschenpass and Landeck. By car, the routes are the same as by public transport. Landquart - Klosters - Vereina Tunnel car transport or Flüela Pass - Zernez - Ofen Pass. On the other side, the access routes via Landeck and Reschenpass as well as via Meran are available. Finally, car drivers have a third travel option in summer: over the Stelvio and Umbrail passes - uniquely beautiful.

Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1651 | 7536 Sta. Maria-Val Müstair (GR)

Chasa de Capol

Einkehr und Wohnen in einem 800 Jahre alten Ritterhaus.
«Hier erlebt man Zauberhaftes, ohne magische Pilze zu haben», notierte LSD-Entdecker Albert Hofmann ins Gästebuch. War es die Küche, in der bis heute in Kupferpfannen alpenländische Rezepte zubereitet werden?
Mehr entdecken
«Hier erlebt man Zauberhaftes, ohne magische Pilze zu haben», notierte LSD-Entdecker Albert Hofmann ins Gästebuch. War es die Küche, in der bis heute in Kupferpfannen alpenländische Rezepte zubereitet werden?
Oder die im Eichenfass reifende Weine aus dem karolingischen Keller? Oder einfach den mittelalterlichen Charme des mit Sgraffiti und Ornamenten geschmückten Patrizierhauses voller Geschichte(n)?

Lage

In den Bergen

Öffnungszeiten

ganzjährig

Hoteltyp

Park/Garten, Familien-/Kinderfreundlich, Kunst & Kultur
1 | 2

Geschichte

Teil eines bestehenden Baus wird abgetragen, davon erhalten sind tiefgreifende Fundamentmauern. Ab 1199 entsteht ein Gebäudekomplex mit Hauskapelle, Refektorium und ein Hospiz. Seither residiert auf mehrere Jahrhunderte das aus Venedig abstammende Geschlecht Polo, mutiert in Ca-Polo, Capol (Hausmacht des Polo).
weiterlesen
Sie bekleideten Vertrauenspositionen der jeweiligen Regentschaften (Repubblica Veneta, Fürstbistum Chur, Haus Habsburg), wirkten als Wirtschafter (weltliche Pröpste) des unweit gelegenen Benediktinerinnen-Klosters St. Johann in Müstair, ersteigerten Podestaten-Ämter in der Valtellina. Sie erledigten zahlreiche Amtsgeschäfte, welche zugleich die Geschichte des Hauses prägten. Im östlichen Anbau betreuten Augustiner-Mönche einen Hospizbetrieb mit Kapelle und Refektorium. Der Nord-Trakt war ausgestattet mit der Ökonomie. 1481 erhebt Kaiser Friederich III die Capols in den Grafenstand. 1506 weilt dessen Sohn Maximilian I Rex in der Chasa de Capol. 1677 Ausbau der Stuben in Arvenholz. 1728 ist das Geburtsjahr des galanten Komponisten Petrus Sebastianus de Capol. 1774 nach dem Dorfbrand, Aufbau von Krüppelwalmdächern. Im Jahre 1838 erlosch dieser Stamm der gräflichen Familie de Capol. Das Haus ist sich selbst überlassen. 1917 Einsturz des Ökonomietraktes verursacht durch aussergewöhnliche Schneelast und Dachreparatur durch das während der Grenzbesetzung hier weilende Militär. Ab 1950 nach rund 120-jährigem Leerstehen wird das Ritterhaus mit viel Herzblut und Verzicht zu neuem Leben erweckt. Heute entwickelt sich die Chasa de Capol sanft und nachhaltig. Der Geist der Capols, der Augustinermönche, der Säumer, der Ritter und Minnesänger ist alleweil noch zu spüren.
Hier erlebt man Zauberhaftes, ohne magische Pilze zu haben

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 4

Ritterhaus (er)leben

5 charmante, individuell eingerichtete Zimmer mit Bad. Wir vergeben die Zimmer als Arrangement mit dem Dîner am Abend. Ein grosser Hotelgarten und ein neuer Pool mit Aussicht zu den Berggipfeln laden zum verweilen ein.
1 | 2

Gastronomie

Feuer und Kupferglanz. Selbstgemacht, lokal, frisch. Aus schweren Kupferpfannen - nach alter Manier - auf Feuer authentisch und traditionsbewusst zubereitet. Gehabt Euch Wohl: im Rittersaal – in der Stüva – in der Bar Marco Polo am Cheminée. Die Bar bietet sich an für Aperitifs, Wein und Café. Eine gemütliche Davidoff-Lounge ist der Bar angelehnt. Das Restaurant ist jeweils abends geöffnet, das Dîner beginnt um 19 Uhr. Geboten wird abwechselnd ein schönes 3 bis 4-Gang Dîner.

Region

1 | 2

Biosfera Val Müstair

Schönheit und Unversehrtheit. Prächtige Blumenwiesen nebst uralte Lärchen- und Arvenwäldern. Gipfel, Passübergänge und Höhenwege, im Winter verschneite Märchenwelt. Charmant und authentisch. Willkommen im Naturpark Biosfera Val Müstair!

Kontakt & Anreise

Anreise

Mit der Rhätischen Bahn bis Zernez, weiter mit dem PostAuto durch den Schweiz. Nationalpark über den Ofenpass bis Sta. Maria cumün. Fast alle Kurse fahren bis Mals und damit auch ins Südtiroler Münstertal. In Mals besteht Anschluss an die Vinschgerbahn nach Meran oder an den Bus Richtung Reschenpass und Landeck. Mit dem Auto sind die Routen dieselben wie mit dem ÖV. Landquart – Klosters –Autoverlad Vereinatunnel oder Flüelapass – Zernez – Ofenpass. Auf der Gegenseite stehen die Anreisewege über Landeck und Reschenpass sowie über Meran zur Verfügung. Schliesslich haben Autofahrer im Sommer noch eine dritte Reisemöglichkeit: Über die Pässe Stilfser-Joch und Umbrail – einzigartig schön.

Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall