Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1482 | 7556 Ramosch (GR)

Hof Zuort

"Visit us, we have nothing"....
Unique. Authentic. Timeless. One of the oldest Swiss Historic Hotels combines the remote tranquility and untouched beauty of the Lower Engadine with hospitality and comfort of old times.
Discover more
Unique. Authentic. Timeless. One of the oldest Swiss Historic Hotels combines the remote tranquility and untouched beauty of the Lower Engadine with hospitality and comfort of old times.

Zuort is a historic hamlet in the upper Val Sinestra. After five kilometres of path through shady forest, you step into the clearing: peace and silence and, at times, the bright chimes of the chapel. No artificial light, nothing but a starry sky at night – what a remarkable rarity.

The inn and stable, chalet and chapel have been preserved as an ensemble in form and function, and today the farm is the quietest Swiss Historic Hotel. The rustically furnished tavern and guest rooms are located in the original inn as well as in a chalet built over a hundred years ago. The restaurant serves regional specialties in the "Stube", on the sheltered veranda or on the sunny terrace. The sauna in the "dragon house" offers archaic well-being.

Simple living at a high level: daily hospitality, well-kept accommodation and self-sufficient farming have always been basic in Zuort. The natural energy of this place is impressive.

Location

In the country, In the mountains

Opening Hours

June – October / December – April

Type

Seminar/business, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly

Host

Since 2010, the Zuort farm and its grounds belong to the St. Moritz medical doctor and philanthropist Peter Robert Berry IV, who also runs the Berry Museum in St. Moritz. Since May 2024, a family of restaurateurs from South Tyrol, who have called the Engadin their home for many years, Sarah Scarperi & Reinhard Psenner with their son Daniel, have been running the Hof Zuort, who appreciate the Romansh culture and adorn it with South Tyrolean hospitality.
1 | 5

History

Hof Zuort is first mentioned in a document in 1482 as a hereditary fief of the village of Sent. It lies on the prehistoric alpine mule track from the Lower Engadine over the Fimber Pass to Austria. As late as 1942, Hof Zuort was a Swiss Customs post – and it has always been a mountain farm at 1711 metres above sea level.
read more

The more recent history of the hamlet of Zuort was greatly influenced by the Dutch conductor and composer Willem Mengelberg. Inspired by his admired friend Gustav Mahler, he had a chalet built in 1911, designed by him and richly decorated by Swiss carvers. In 1920, he bought the farm and the land of the estate. In addition, around 1924, he built a chapel in block construction with a carillon - a distinct Dutch speciality. It features 15 bells from the Rüetschi bell foundry in Aarau, which are operated via a keyboard and, since 2022, mechatronically.

With Mengelberg's death in 1951, the estate passed to the Willem-Mengelberg-Foundation, which operated the farm as an inn and the chalet as an artist's summer residence. During Mengelberg's lifetime and after his death in 1951, the carillon was played in the summer by Ellie Heemskerk until 1984, who for many years was the first violinist in the Concertgebouw orchestra.

In 2010, Peter Robert Berry IV, MD, acquired the hamlet of Zuort. Since 2012, the farm and the Chasa Mengelberg have achieved the prestigious status of Swiss Historic Hotel. It is the declared goal of the philanthropist owner that this historic hamlet with its buildings and 16 hectares of land remains a sustainably managed estate, open to the public.

The cultural past is enjoying a renaissance in Zuort. The buildings and infrastructure have been carefully renovated, and the most recent project is the restoration of the historic carillon by the very old bell foundry Rüetschi. The chimes have been tuned, fitted with magnetic hammers and control-electronics. In addition, the carillon was mechatronically upgraded so that it can be controlled via internet and also played directly like an electric piano. Various melodies – partly compositions by Mengelberg himself, but also works by other composers and a children's song from Vnà – have been programmed. A creative vernissage is planned for early next summer in Zuort.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 4

Rooms

It's best to lie in foreign feathers, the comforting gaze meeting nothing but the landscape, starry sky or fir shadows on moonlit meadows. The inn and chalet offer four historic double rooms, two rustic four-bed rooms, one single room and – on personal request – two suites in the chalet. The rooms are spacious and offer classic comfort. For some rooms, facilities are not ensuite.
1 | 4

Gastronomy

The kitchen tempts you with regional Swiss and Austrian specialties: Pizokels and Capuns, dumplings and Kaiserschmarrn. Homemade cakes and the popular Grisons platters are on the daily menu, game specialties according to season.

Region

1 | 5

Region

The Lower Engadine in the triangle of Switzerland, Austria and Italy is one of the most beautiful natural and cultural landscapes. Idyllic villages line the Inn valley; mountains, forests and meadows border it, a large part of which belongs to the Swiss National Park.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Hof Zuort
Postfach 19, 7556 Ramosch (GR)

+41 81 866 31 53
info@zuort.ch
www.zuort.ch

Arrival

Hof Zuort is located in the rear Val Sinestra, a side valley of the Lower Engadin close to Scuol. It can be reached on foot from Vnà, Ramosch and Sent; you walk for about an hour. There is a pick-up service by telephone arrangement.

You can reach Ramosch / Vnà as follows:

Public transport
by train to Scuol-Tarasp, by post bus from Scuol-Tarasp to Ramosch and from Ramosch to Vnà.

By car
on the cantonal road to Ramosch, there follow the signs to Vnà, where you will find a public car park (luggage transport on request).

Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1482 | 7556 Ramosch (GR)

Hof Zuort

«Besuchen Sie uns, wir haben nichts»...
Einmalig. Authentisch. Zeitlos. Eines der ältesten Swiss Historic Hotels verbindet eindrückliche Ruhe und unberührte Schönheit der Val Sinestra im Unterengadin mit Komfort und Service wie zu Kaisers Zeiten.
Mehr entdecken
Einmalig. Authentisch. Zeitlos. Eines der ältesten Swiss Historic Hotels verbindet eindrückliche Ruhe und unberührte Schönheit der Val Sinestra im Unterengadin mit Komfort und Service wie zu Kaisers Zeiten.

Zuort ist ein historischer Weiler im oberen Val Sinestra. Nach fünf Kilometer Weg durch schattigen Wald tritt man auf die Lichtung: Ruhe und Stille und zeitweise das helle Glockenspiel der Kapelle. Kein künstliches Licht stört nachts den Sternenhimmel.

Gasthof und Stall, Chalet und Kapelle sind als Ensemble in Gestalt und Funktion erhalten, heute ist der Hof das ruhigste Swiss Historic Hotel Graubündens. Historisch möblierte Stuben und Gästezimmer befinden sich im ursprünglichen Gasthaus sowie in einem Chalet, das vor über hundert Jahren erbaut worden ist. Das Restaurant bewirtet mit regionalen Köstlichkeiten in der Stube, auf der geschützten Veranda oder auf der Sonnenterrasse. In der Sauna im «Drachenhaus» geniesst man urtümliches Wohlbefinden.

Einfaches Leben auf hohem Niveau: Tägliche Gastfreundschaft, gepflegte Unterkunft und eine selbstversorgende Landwirtschaft sind seit Menschengedenken in Zuort Programm. Die stille Energie dieses Kraft-Ortes ist eindrücklich.

Lage

Auf dem Land, In den Bergen

Öffnungszeiten

Juni – Oktober / Dezember – April

Hoteltyp

Seminar/Business, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Park/Garten, Familien-/Kinderfreundlich

Gastgeber

Der Hof Zuort mit seinem Umschwung gehört seit 2010 dem St. Moritzer Arzt und Philanthropen Dr. med. Peter Robert Berry IV, der auch das Berry Museum in St. Moritz betreibt. Seit Mai 2024 führt eine Gastronomen-Familie aus Südtirol, welche seit vielen Jahren das Engadin ihr zu Hause nennt, Sarah Scarperi & Reinhard Psenner, mit seinem Sohn Daniel, welche die Romanische Kultur schätzen und diese mit Südtiroler Gastfreundschaft schmücken, den Hof Zuort.
1 | 5

Geschichte

Der Hof Zuort wird erstmals in einer Urkunde 1482 als Erblehen der Gemeinde Sent erwähnt. Er liegt am urgeschichtlich transalpinen Saumweg vom Unterengadin über den Fimberpass ins österreichische Paznaun, der bis in die Neuzeit viel begangen wurde. Noch in der ersten Hälfte des letzten Jahrhunderts war Hof Zuort Schweizerisches Zollamt – und immer ein Berghof auf 1711 Metern Höhe.
weiterlesen

Die neuere Geschichte des Weilers Zuort wurde massgeblich vom niederländischen Dirigenten und Komponisten Willem Mengelberg geprägt. Inspiriert von Gustav Mahler in Toblach, liess er 1911 zunächst ein Chalet errichten, von ihm entworfen und von Schweizer Schnitzern reich dekoriert. 1920 kaufte er den Hof mit Landwirtschaft dazu. Zusätzlich errichtete er um 1924 eine Kapelle im Blockbau mit einem Glockenspiel, einem sogenannten Carillon – eine ausgesprochene Spezialität der Holländer. Es verfügt über 15 Glocken der Glockengiesserei Rüetschi Aarau, die über eine Klaviatur und seit 2022 auch mechatronisch bedient werden.

Mit dem Tod Mengelbergs 1951 ging das Anwesen an die Willem-Mengelberg-Stiftung über, die den Hof als Gasthaus und die Chasa als Künstlerresidenz betrieb. Zu Lebzeiten Mengelbergs und nach seinem Tod 1951wurde das Carillon bis 1984 im Sommer von Ellie Heemskerk gespielt, lange Jahre erste Geigerin im Concertgebouw Orkest unter Mengelberg.

2010 erwarb Dr. med. Peter Robert Berry IV den Weiler Zuort. Seit 2012 werden der Hof und die Chasa Mengelberg als Swiss Historic Hotel betrieben. Es ist erklärtes Ziel des derzeitigen Eigentümers, dass der historische Lehenshof mit seinen Gebäuden und 16 Hektar Land ein sinnvoll verwaltetes, öffentlich nutzbares Anwesen bleibt.

Wiederbelebt ist auch der kulturelle Ansatz. Die musikalische Vergangenheit lebt in Zuort wieder auf. Die Gebäude und die Infrastruktur wurden sorgfältig renoviert, als jüngstes Projekt wurde das historische Carillon erneut durch die FA Rüetschi restauriert, gestimmt, mit Magnethämmern und einer Steuerelektronik versehen. Das Glockenspiel funktioniert nun mechatronisch, so dass es sowohl via Internet gesteuert als auch mit einer e-Klaviatur vor Ort gespielt werden kann. Verschiedene Melodien – teils Kompositionen von Mengelberg selbst, aber auch Werke anderer Komponisten sowie ein Kinderlied aus Vnà – sind bereits einprogrammiert. Zum Beginn des Sommers 2024 sind auf Zuort das Richtfest und eine Vernissage geplant.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 4

Zimmer

In fremden Federn liegt sich’s besonders gut, während der Blick nur Landschaft, Sternenhimmel oder Tannenschatten auf mondglitzernden Auen trifft. Gasthof und Chalet bieten vier historische Doppelzimmer, zwei rustikale Vierbettzimmer, ein Einzelzimmer sowie – auf persönliche Anfrage – zwei Suiten im Chalet. Die Zimmer sind geräumig und bieten angenehmen Komfort. In einigen Zimmern liegen Bad und WC auf der Etage.
1 | 4

Gastronomie

Die Küche lockt mit regionalen Köstlichkeiten aus der Schweizer und österreichischen Küche: Pizokels und Capuns, Knödel und Kaiserschmarrn. Hausgemachte Kuchen und die beliebten Bündner Platten stehen täglich auf der Karte, Wildspezialitäten nach Saison.

Region

1 | 5

Region

Das Unterengadin im Dreiländereck Schweiz, Österreich, Italien gehört zu den schönsten Natur- und Kulturlandschaften. Idyllische Dörfer säumen das Inntal; Berge, Wälder und Wiesen begrenzen es seitlich, ein grosser Teil davon gehört zum Schweizer Nationalpark, in dem die Natur unberührt gedeihen kann.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Hof Zuort
Postfach 19, 7556 Ramosch (GR)

+41 81 866 31 53
info@zuort.ch
www.zuort.ch

Anreise

Der Hof Zuort liegt im hinteren Val Sinestra, einem Seitental des Unterengadins in der Nähe von Scuol. Er ist zu Fuss von Vnà, Ramosch und Sent aus erreichbar; man geht etwa eine Stunde. Nach telefonischer Vereinbarung gibt es einen Abholservice.

Ramosch / Vnà erreichen Sie wie folgt:

Mit dem öffentlichen Verkehr
per Bahn bis Scuol, per Postauto von Scuol Bahnhof bis Ramosch und Vnà.

Mit dem Auto
auf der Kantonsstrasse bis Ramosch, folgend den Schildern Richtung Vnà, mit öffentlichem Parkplatz (Gepäcktransport auf Anfrage).

Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall