Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1906 | 4438 Langenbruck (BL)

Hotel Erica

Nostalgic hotel in the magnificent landscape of the Jura Mountains
Surrounded by the hills of the Jura Mountains and lots of greenery, Hotel Erica, built in 1906, invites you to relax and unwind. All in the tradition of the former spa town of Langenbruck BL. The house with its 16 single and double rooms was extensively renovated in 2020 and radiates great tranquillity in its simplicity. Let yourself be seduced by the charm of the "Erica" - in the cosy „oven room“, in the spacious dining hall with beautiful views or outside on the panoramic terrace.
Discover more
Surrounded by the hills of the Jura Mountains and lots of greenery, Hotel Erica, built in 1906, invites you to relax and unwind. All in the tradition of the former spa town of Langenbruck BL. The house with its 16 single and double rooms was extensively renovated in 2020 and radiates great tranquillity in its simplicity. Let yourself be seduced by the charm of the "Erica" - in the cosy „oven room“, in the spacious dining hall with beautiful views or outside on the panoramic terrace.

Location

In the country

Opening Hours

Mid-March-October, December-January

Type

Seminar/business, Active/sport

Host

Hotel Erica has always been a family business. It is with great pleasure that the sisters Julia and Kathrin Fritsche continue this tradition as the new owners since 2020.
1 | 4

History

The spa town of Langenbruck was experiencing its heyday when Rosalie (née Rosine Dettwiler) and Emil Müller built the Hotel Erica in 1906. The plans came from the unknown Basel architect Johann Nägelin. A year later, the doors of the then Pension Erika opened for the first time. Guests who spent several weeks at a time in the Oberbaselbieter spa town were not uncommon.
read more

They benefited - as it says in undated hotel brochures - from the "pure and fragrant mountain air" "away from the road and dust". Later, the hotel also established itself as a winter sports hotel with a ski jumping hill nearby and, from 1951, the first ski lift in northwestern Switzerland, built by Emil Müller Junior. The son of the hotel's founder went down in history as a film-maker who captured the events in and around Langenbruck with an eight-millimetre camera.


In 1965, the house underwent a modernisation. An extension on the east side created space for a new entrance area and the lift, which still reliably transports guests and luggage today. At the same time, some of the rooms received running water. Even though the Erica has kept up with the times, much has remained the same. In the BIB building inventory, historian Claudio Affolter describes the building as "the only hotel building from the heyday of the spa town of Langenbruck". The imposing spa house and the numerous guesthouses have long been history.


In terms of style, the "Erica" can be classified between neo-baroque and art nouveau. The building has a romantic design with a mansard hipped roof, central risalit and tail gable, oriel, terrace and cross gable. Inside, the simple blue tiled „Kachelofen“ and the „Office“ with its dining lift from 1950 catch the eye. The pitch pine floor in the dining room has also seen a lot. Where the doors used to open punctually for the spa guests' evening meal and close again immediately, hikers and seminar guests now dine.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 4

Rooms

The three single rooms and 13 double rooms have been renovated in 2020, in a simple but cosy style. The glue-free beds made of solid ash wood and the Hüsler mattresses ensure plenty of comfort and a good night's sleep. All floors are made of untreated ash and are therefore ideally suited for allergy sufferers. Three rooms with connecting doors are particularly suitable for families.
1 | 4

Gastronomy

In summer on the terrace, in winter in the stylish dining hall (Jura-Saal) or the cosy oven room, guests can expect fresh and simple cuisine with seasonal variety in the evening. Homemade cakes are served in the afternoon.

Region

Region

Langenbruck (730 m.a.s.l.) is the highest municipality in the canton of Baselland and an ideal starting point for hikes and bike tours over the hills of the Upper Basel region. A solar-powered toboggan run offers variety for families. Sights include the Schönthal Monastery dating from 1145 with its sculpture trail.

Contact & Arrival

Contact

Hotel Erica
Erikaweg 7, 4438 Langenbruck (BL)

+41 62 390 11 17
info@hotelerica.ch
www.hotelerica.ch

Arrival

Public transport: From the Zurich, Bern, Lucerne region, take the train via Olten and/or Oensingen and then the OeBB (Oensingen-Balsthal-Bahn) to Balsthal. There is a bus connection from the station to Langenbruck, Dorf (direction Waldenburg). From Basel and the surrounding area, take the train to Liestal, then the Waldenburgerbahn to Waldenburg and the bus to Langenbruck, Dorf )(direction Balsthal).

By car: From the Mittelland you reach Langenbruck via the motorway exit Egerkingen. The winding road leads via Bärenwil to Langenbruck. Alternatively, you can reach Langenbruck via Hägendorf (Tüfelsschlucht) or from Balsthal (motorway exit Oensingen). From the cantons of Basel-Stadt and Baselland the Hotel Erica is connected by main road via Liestal and Waldenburg or via Eptingen.

Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1906 | 4438 Langenbruck (BL)

Hotel Erica

Nostalgisches Jugendstil-Haus in prächtiger Jura-Landschaft
Umgeben von Jura-Hügeln und inmitten von Grün lädt das 1906 erbaute Hotel Erica zum Erholen und Entspannen ein. Ganz in der Tradition des früheren Kurorts Langenbruck BL. Das Haus mit seinen 16 Einzel- und Doppelzimmern wurde 2020 umfassend renoviert und strahlt in seiner Schlichtheit eine grosse Ruhe aus. Lassen Sie sich vom Charme des „Erica“ verführen - im heimeligen Ofenzimmer, im grosszügigen Jura-Saal mit Ausblick oder draussen auf der Aussichtsterrasse.
Mehr entdecken
Umgeben von Jura-Hügeln und inmitten von Grün lädt das 1906 erbaute Hotel Erica zum Erholen und Entspannen ein. Ganz in der Tradition des früheren Kurorts Langenbruck BL. Das Haus mit seinen 16 Einzel- und Doppelzimmern wurde 2020 umfassend renoviert und strahlt in seiner Schlichtheit eine grosse Ruhe aus. Lassen Sie sich vom Charme des „Erica“ verführen - im heimeligen Ofenzimmer, im grosszügigen Jura-Saal mit Ausblick oder draussen auf der Aussichtsterrasse.

Lage

Auf dem Land

Öffnungszeiten

Mitte März–Oktober, Dezember–Januar

Hoteltyp

Seminar/Business, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski)

Gastgeber

Das Hotel Erica war immer ein Familienbetrieb. Mit Freude führen die Schwestern Julia und Kathrin Fritsche als neue Besitzerinnen diese Tradition seit 2020 fort.
1 | 4

Geschichte

Der Kurort Langenbruck erlebte gerade seine Blütezeit, als Rosalie (geb. Rosine Dettwiler) und Emil Müller 1906 das Hotel Erica erbauten. Die Pläne dafür kamen vom unbekannten Basler Architekt Johann Nägelin. Ein Jahr darauf öffneten sich die Türen der damaligen Pension Erika zum ersten Mal. Gäste, die gleich mehrere Wochen in Oberbaselbieter Kurort verbrachten, waren zu dieser Zeit keine Seltenheit.
weiterlesen

Sie profitierten - so steht es in undatierten Hotelbroschüren - von der „reinen und würzigen Höhenluft“ „abseits von Strasse und Staub“. Später etablierte sich das Haus auch als Wintersport-Hotel mit nahegelegener Sprungschanze und ab 1951 mit dem ersten Skilift der Nordwestschweiz, erbaut durch Emil Müller Junior. Der Sohn des Hotelgründers ging als Filmer in die Geschichte ein, der das Geschehen in und um Langenbruck mit einer Acht-Millimeter Kamera einfing.

1965 erfuhr das Haus eine Modernisierung. Ein Anbau an der Ostseite schuf Platz für einen neuen Eingangsbereich und den Lift, der auch heute noch zuverlässig Gäste und Gepäck befördert. Gleichzeitig erhielt ein Teil der Zimmer fliessend Wasser. Auch wenn das Erica so mit der Zeit ging, blieb vieles beim Alten. So würdigt Historiker Claudio Affolter im Bauinventar BIB das Gebäude als «einziger Hotelbau aus der Blütezeit des Luftkurortes Langenbruck». Denn längst Geschichte sind das imposante Kurhaus und die zahlreichen Pensionen.

Stilistisch lässt sich das „Erica“ zwischen Neubarock und Jugendstil einordnen. Der Bau ist romantisierend gestaltet mit Mansardwalmdach, Mittelrisalit und Schweifgiebel, Erker, Terrasse und Quergiebel. Im Innern ziehen der schlichte blaue Kachelofen und das Office mit dem Speiselift von 1950 die Blicke auf sich. Ebenfalls schon viel gesehen hat der Boden aus Pitch Pine im Speisesaal. Wo früher die Türen fürs Abendessen der Kurgäste pünktlich auf- und sogleich wieder zugingen, essen heute Wanderer und Seminargäste.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 4

Zimmer

Das Hotel Erica verfügt über drei Einzelzimmer und 13 Doppelzimmer – alle 2020 renoviert, schlicht, aber gemütlich. Die leimfreien Betten aus Eschen-Massivholz und die Hüsler-Matratzen sorgen für viel Komfort und guten Schlaf. Alle Zimmerböden sind aus unbehandelter Esche und deshalb für Allergiker bestens geeignet. Drei Zimmer mit Verbindungstür richten sich besonders an Familien.
1 | 4

Gastronomie

Im Sommer auf der Terrasse, im Winter im stilvollen Jura-Saal oder im heimeligen Ofenzimmer erwartet die Gäste am Abend eine frische und einfache Küche mit saisonaler Abwechslung. Hausgemachte Kuchen runden am Nachmittag das kleine, feine Angebot ab.

Region

Region

Langenbruck (730 m.ü.M) ist die höchstgelegene Gemeinde des Kantons Baselland und idealer Ausgangspunkt für Wanderungen und Velotouren über die Hügel des Oberbaselbiets. Eine Solar-Rodelbahn bietet Abwechslung für Familien. Zu den Sehenswürdigkeiten zählt das Kloster Schönthal von 1145 mit Skulpturenweg.

Kontakt & Anreise

Kontakt

Hotel Erica
Erikaweg 7, 4438 Langenbruck (BL)

+41 62 390 11 17
info@hotelerica.ch
www.hotelerica.ch

Anreise

ÖV: Aus der Region Zürich, Bern, Luzern gehts im Zug via Olten und/oder Oensingen und anschliessend mit OeBB (Oensingen–Balsthal-Bahn) nach Balsthal. Vom Bahnhof besteht Postauto-Anschluss zur Haltestelle Langenbruck, Dorf (Richtung Waldenburg). Aus Basel und Umgebung fährt der Zug nach Liestal. Dort gehts weiter mit der Waldenburgerbahn nach Waldenburg und per Postauto nach Langenbruck (Haltestelle Dorf, Richtung Balsthal).

Auto: Aus dem Mittelland erreichen Sie Langenbruck über die Autobahn-Ausfahrt Egerkingen. Die kurvenreiche Strasse führt via Bärenwil nach Langenbruck. Alternativ erreichen Sie Langenbruck auch über Hägendorf (Tüfelsschlucht) oder fast ohne Kurven aus Balsthal (Autobahnausfahrt Oensingen). Aus den Kantonen Basel-Stadt und Baselland führt der Weg zum Hotel Erica zum Beispiel über die Hauptstrasse via Liestal und Waldenburg oder über den Autobahn-Anschluss Eptingen.

Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall