Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1895 | 3825 Mürren (BE)

Hotel Regina

The Regina, a living tradition.
The simple art nouveau hotel stands as a place for culture and relaxing for locals and guests in the middle of the car-free village of Mürren. It has a unique view on the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. Long-time guests bought the house in the summer of 2014 and thus saved it from closure.
Discover more
The simple art nouveau hotel stands as a place for culture and relaxing for locals and guests in the middle of the car-free village of Mürren. It has a unique view on the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. Long-time guests bought the house in the summer of 2014 and thus saved it from closure.

Since 1895 the 'Pension Beau-Site', since 1909 under the name 'Hotel Regina' is opened in seasonal operation. From 2014 on it is managed as a cultural hotel. In the Art Deco Hotel building culture and cultural events with a local reference are visibly implemented. Local craftsmen linked with regular 'building weekends with volunteers' and committed cultural workers stand behind the hotel.

With the garden project the regional supply of the guests can be supported. Among other things we are cultivating again the Lauterbrunner potato.

Our guests enjoy the view from the terrace, 1650 meters above sea level, on the mighty mountain range of Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau, separated only by the narrow Lauterbrunnen valley. The magnificent dining room, the sun terrace, the spacious veranda and part of the rooms allow this breathtaking view of the mountain panorama of the Jungfrau region.

The rooms (50) are simple, often furnished with furniture from the early days, spacious showers are located on all floors, some rooms have their own private bathroom.

Location

In the mountains

Opening Hours

June to October December to April

Type

Active/sport, Family/child friendly, Art & culture

Host

Our host is Daniela Zunzer. With her team she runs the business and accompanies our cultural events.
1 | 4

History

Shortly after the Walser mountain village of Mürren was made accessible by the Lauterbrunnen-Mürren railroad in 1891, the house was opened in 1895 as the Pension Beau-Site with 21 rooms. It is thus representative for the building boom in the Swiss hotel industry shortly before the turn of the century. In its almost 130-year history, the Regina witnessed the introduction of winter tourism in Mürren, which becomes a cradle of alpine skiing.
read more

The first Swiss Ski World Championship took place in Mürren in 1931.

The original compact three-story wooden building combined both modern and traditional stylistic elements in its design language, was covered with plain shingles and featured a massive base floor. With the new owner came another upper floor, a three-axis addition on the west side with a hall, a mansard hipped roof, and a new name 'Regina Hotel Beau-Site'. Between 1911 and 1914/16, the garden on the mountain side of the building gave way to the entrance extension that still exists today.

Mürren, as well as the Regina itself, housed between 1916 and 1918 interned soldiers from the entire British Commonwealth. Also thanks to the positive experiences of the interned British, Mürren can continue its development after the war. Well-known guests such as Lady Greta Raeburn, a member of the Ladies Ski Club and of Mürren's high society, stayed at the Regina at this time. Since 1929, the first Swiss ski world champion, Rösli Streiff, regularly stayed at the Regina. During the Second World War, French and Italian soldiers are interned in the hotel. The years after 1945 represent another period of prosperity. The Regina is an established center for events (e.g. Inferno Ball 1948, Federal Celebration of Mürren 1949). In 1955, Mürren and in particular the Hotel Regina become a hotspot of international politics. There, on July 25, West German Chancellor Adenauer addresses a press conference on the conclusion of the Geneva Conference, which deals, among other things, with German reunification. The late 1950s and 1960s present difficulties for the hotel. After the sale of the hotel to two Basel families, the status of the hotel is temporarily abandoned and the Regina is run as a vacation home. In 2014, the house is purchased by the 'Hotel Regina Mürren A.G.'

It aims to save the hotel from closure, to preserve the historical heritage and to make the Regina once again a cultural center and place to stay in Mürren. The Regina has been a member of the Swiss Historic Hotels since 2015.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

The rooms are gently renovated, in some cases less soundproffed and often furnished with original furniture. The 50 rooms are each equipped with a historic lavabo, and nine rooms have private baths. Public showers for the others rooms are available on each floor. South-facing rooms have views of the Eiger and Jungfrau massif, while north-facing rooms face the village.
1 | 2

Gastronomy

Cheese from Gimmelen and Meiringen (also yogurt), bread from the local bakery von Allmen in Lauterbrunnen, jams (for example. beetroot vanilla) and Birchermüsli our cook is making himself. A young cow from the farmer in Mürren provides plenty of meat for dinner. In summer we serve salad, vegetables and spices from the Regina garden, as far as possible. We also plant potatoes again. W are cooking vegetarian dishes anyway, and also vegan food is always available, please ask us.

Region

1 | 2

Region

The original Walser village, Mürren, is located in the Jungfrau region, at 1650m and has a snow-sure ski area. In summer it is suitable for hiking and high mountain tours. The green route of the Via Alpina passes in front of the Hotel Regina. The via Berna runs through Isenfluh.
Image copyright:
© Atelier Schweizer Vollmer

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Hotel Regina
Borthalden 1058, 3825 Mürren (BE)

+41 33 855 42 42
info@reginamuerren.ch
www.reginamuerren.ch

Arrival

Mürren is car-free and therefore we are happy if you arrive by public transport. There are two possibilities from Lauterbrunnen. On the one hand with the Mürrenbahn via Grütschalp to Mürren, whereby the first part is a cable car. From Grütschalp, the train travels along the slope and allows you to see the other side of the valley.

On the other hand, the bus goes to Schilthornbahn. From there the cable car goes via Gimmelwald to Mürren.

In Stechelberg there is a parking lot for car drivers.

Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1895 | 3825 Mürren (BE)

Hotel Regina

Das Regina, eine lebendige Tradition.
Das einfache Jugendstilhotel steht als Kultur- und Verweilort für Einheimische und Gäste mitten im autofreien Dorf Mürren mit einmaligem Blick auf Eiger, Mönch und Jungfrau. Langjährige Gäste kauften das Haus im Sommer 2014 und bewahrten es damit vor der Schliessung.
Mehr entdecken
Das einfache Jugendstilhotel steht als Kultur- und Verweilort für Einheimische und Gäste mitten im autofreien Dorf Mürren mit einmaligem Blick auf Eiger, Mönch und Jungfrau. Langjährige Gäste kauften das Haus im Sommer 2014 und bewahrten es damit vor der Schliessung.

Seit 1895 wird die «Pension Beau-Site», ab 1909 das «Hotel Regina» im Saisonbetrieb geöffnet und ab 2014 als Kulturhotel geführt. Im Art Deco Hotel sind Baukultur und Kulturveranstaltungen, mit möglichst örtlichem Bezug, sichtbar umgesetzt. Örtliche Handwerker verknüpft mit regelmässig durchgeführten ‹Bauwochenenden mit Freiwilligen› und engagierte Kulturschaffende stehen dahinter.

Mit dem Garten-Projekt, in dem u.a. die Lauterbrunner Kartoffel wieder angebaut wird, kann die regionale Versorgung der Gäste unterstützt werden.

Unsere Gäste geniessen die Aussicht von einer Bergterrasse, 1650 Meter über Meer, auf die mächtige Bergkette von Eiger, Mönch und Jungfrau, lediglich getrennt durch das enge Lauterbrunnental. Der prächtige Speisesaal, die Sonnenterrasse, die grosszügige Veranda sowie ein Teil der Zimmer ermöglichen diese atemberaubende Sicht auf das Bergpanorama der Jungfrau-Region.

Die Zimmer (50) sind einfach, oft mit Möbeln aus der Anfangszeit ausgestattet, grosszügige Duschen befinden sich auf allen Etagen, einige Zimmer verfügen über ein eigenes Bad.

Lage

In den Bergen

Öffnungszeiten

Juni – Oktober / Dezember – April

Hoteltyp

Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Familien-/Kinderfreundlich, Kunst & Kultur

Gastgeber

Unsere Gastgeberin ist Yasmina Abdelilah. Mit ihrem Team führt sie den Betrieb und begleitet unsere Kulturveranstaltungen.
1 | 4

Geschichte

Kurz nachdem das Walser Berdorf Mürren 1891 durch die Lauterbrunnen-Mürren-Bahn verkehrstechnisch erschlossen wurde, wird 1895 das Haus als Pension Beau-Site mit 21 Zimmern eröffnet. Es steht somit stellvertretend für den Bau-Boom in der Schweizer Hotellerie kurz vor der Jahrhundertwende.
weiterlesen

In seiner fast 130-jährigen Geschichte erlebt das Regina die Einführung des Wintertourismus in Mürren, welches zu einer Wiege des alpinen Skisports wird. Die erste Schweizer Skiweltmeisterschaft fand 1931 in Mürren statt.

Der ursprünglich kompakte dreigeschossige Holzbau vereinte in seiner Formensprache sowohl moderne, als auch traditionelle Stilelemente, war mit schlichten Schindeln versehen und wies ein massives Sockelgeschoss auf. Mit dem neuen Besitzer kamen ein weiteres Obergeschoss, ein dreiachsiger Anbau auf der Westseite mit einem Saal, ein Mansart-Walmdach und ein neuer Name ‹Regina Hotel Beau-Site› hinzu. Zwischen 1911 und 1914/16 wich der Garten auf der Bergseite des Gebäudes dem heute noch bestehenden Entrée-Anbau.

Mürren wie auch das Regina selber beherbergen 1916-1918 internierte Soldaten aus dem gesamten British Commonwealth. Auch dank den positiven Erlebnissen der internierten Briten kann Mürren nach dem Krieg seine Entwicklung weiterverfolgen. Im Regina logieren zu dieser Zeit bekannte Gäste wie Lady Greta Raeburn, Mitglied des Ladys Ski Club und der Mürrener High Society. Seit 1929 wohnte die erste Schweizer Skiweltmeisterin, Rösli Streiff, regelmässig im Regina. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg werden französische und italienische Soldaten im Hotel interniert. Die Jahre nach 1945 stellen eine weitere Blütezeit dar. Das Regina ist ein etabliertes Zentrum für Veranstaltungen (bspw. Infernoball 1948, Bundesfeier von Mürren 1949). 1955 wird Mürren und insbesondere das Hotel Regina zwischenzeitlich zu einem Hotspot internationaler Politik. Dort nimmt am 25. Juli der westdeutsche Bundeskanzler Adenauer an einer Pressekonferenz Stellung zum Abschluss der Genfer Konferenz, welche u.a. eine deutsche Wiedervereinigung behandelt. Die späten 1950er und 1960er Jahre stellen das Haus vor Schwierigkeiten. Nach dem Verkauf des Hotels an zwei Basler Familien wird der Status des Hotels vorübergehend aufgegeben und das Regina als Ferienheim geführt. 2014 erfolgt der Kauf des Hauses durch die ‘Hotel Regina Mürren A.G.’ Diese hat zum Ziel, das Hotel vor der Schliessung zu retten, das historische Erbe zu bewahren und das Regina wieder zu einem kulturellen Zentrum und Verweilort Mürrens zu machen. Seit 2015 ist das Regina Mitglied bei den Swiss Historic Hotels.

Zimmer

1 | 5

Zimmer

Die Zimmer sind sanft saniert, auch ringhörig und oft mit ursprünglichem Mobiliar eingerichtet. Die 50 Zimmer sind jeweils mit einem historischen Lavabo ausgestattet, neun Zimmer verfügen über ein eigenes Bad. Für die weiteren Zimmer stehen auf jedem Geschoss öffentliche Duschen zur Verfügung. Von den Südzimmern geht der Blick auf den Eiger und das Jungfraumassiv, die Nordzimmer sind ins Dorf gerichtet.

Region

1 | 2

Region

Das ursprüngliche Walserdorf, Mürren, liegt in der Jungfrauregion, auf 1650m und verfügt über ein schneesicheres Skigebiet. Im Sommer eignet es sich für Wanderungen und Hochgebirgstouren. Die grüne Strecke der Via Alpina führt vor dem Hotel Regina vorbei. Die via Berna verläuft durch Isenfluh.
Bildrechte:
© Atelier Schweizer Vollmer

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Hotel Regina
Borthalden 1058, 3825 Mürren (BE)

+41 33 855 42 42
info@reginamuerren.ch
www.reginamuerren.ch

Anreise

Mürren ist autofrei und deshalb freuen wir uns, wenn sie mit dem öV anreisen. Dazu bestehen ab Lauterbrunnen zwei Möglichkeiten. Einerseits mit der Mürrenbahn über Grütschalp nach Mürren, wobei der erste Teil eine Seilbahnbahn ist. Von Grüschalp fährt der Zug dem Hang entlang und ermöglicht den Blick auf die andere Talseite.

Andererseits fährt das Postauto zur Schilthornbahn. Von dort geht die Seilbahn über Gimmelwald nach Mürren.

In Stechelberg besteht für Autofahrende ein Parkplatz.

Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall