Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1677 | 7000 Chur (GR)

Hotel Stern

A hotel where tradition counts, with a romantic atmosphere, a hotel with personality, the top hotel in the capital of the canton of Graubünden.
Discover more
A hotel where tradition counts, with a romantic atmosphere, a hotel with personality, the top hotel in the capital of the canton of Graubünden.

For more than 300 years, this traditional hotel, located in the center of Chur, has provided excellent regional food and wine. Enjoy fine fare in the unique ambience ot the splendid pine-clad restaurant.

Location

In the city

Hotel classification

4 Stars

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Art & culture, , Icomos Award

Host

Adrian K. Müller

History

The Stern in Chur may possibly date all the way back to an inn which stood at the same spot on today's Reichsgasse in the old town. On an old view of Chur from 1548, we can make out an oblong building, probably the self-same inn for merchants, lansquenets and pilgrims.
read more

The core of the current building has been dated at 1677; at that time, the hotel was known as the Gast­haus zum Stern and it even had its own stables for merchants who stopped off there on their way south. A series of owners left their marks on the building; from 1882 to 1969, it was managed by the Taverna family from Davos. During this period, the building was redecorated in the Graubünden Heimat-style typical of the time. The Veltliner Weinstuben zum Stern, the restaurant on the main floor, deserves special ­mention. It was designed by Chur architects Schäfer and Risch, has Arolla pine paneling, carved lighting fixtures and a round slate-topped table from 1912. The four-story main building in Late-Classical style stands on a base of ashlar stone and is fitted with a hipped and a ­saddle roof. A connecting wing links up with the 9th century Regula Church, which is directly adjacent to the Stern. In the back wing, there is a large room from 1907 with bay windows and a balcony resting on pillars, which was used as a Masonic Temple in the past. Many paintings left to the Stern by the well-known Grau­bün­den painter Alois Carigiet (1902-1985), a friend of the Pfister hotelier family, are still on display. Another special feature is the decorative Art Nouveau stained glass panel in the stairwell by Zurich artist Karl ­Wehrli. The Stern has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2006. In 2010 Icomos gave the Chur hotel a special award for carefully preserving and maintaining the interior furnishings of the Veltliner Weinstube zum Stern restaurant".

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 2

Rooms

The Hotel Stern Chur -swiss historic- offers various categories in different sizes and facilities.

Restaurant Veltliner Weinstube z. Stern

Enjoy the unique atmosphere in the magnificent Bündner Stube and let us spoil you with culinary delights! The Stern enjoys an excellent reputation as a restaurant where Grisons dishes are offered according to traditional recipes. Whether Capuns, Maluns, Bizochels, veal liver Dolce brusco or Churer Ratsherrenteller, all these delicacies are always available in the best quality. In addition, of course, traditional cuisine also has its firm place.

Region

Region

Chur is the ideal starting point for a trip with the Bernina Express to Poschiavo or with the Glacier Express to Zermatt.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Hotel Stern
Reichsgasse 11, 7000 Chur (GR)

+41 81 258 57 57
info@stern-chur.ch
www.stern-chur.ch

Arrival

Arrival by train
From the train station walk along Bahnhofstrasse until you reach Postplatz, there turn left until you reach the traffic circle with the trees. Turn right (Reichsgasse) and after about 20 meters you are in front of the Romantik Hotel Stern.

Arrival by car
Coming from Zurich, take the exit Chur Nord, then always along the main road (Masanserstrasse), about 2 km, towards the center. At the traffic circle with the trees straight ahead. After about 20 m you will find the Hotel Stern Chur - swiss historic.

Awards

award-gault-millau-gold
13 Points
award-guide-michelin-gold
listed but no stars
award-icomos-gold
Special price furniture 2010
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1677 | 7000 Chur (GR)

Hotel Stern

Ein Haus mit gelebter Tradition, familiär ausgerichtet, mit romantischer Atmosphäre, ein Hotel mit inneren Werten, die erste Adresse in Chur, der Hauptstadt des Kantons.
Mehr entdecken
Ein Haus mit gelebter Tradition, familiär ausgerichtet, mit romantischer Atmosphäre, ein Hotel mit inneren Werten, die erste Adresse in Chur, der Hauptstadt des Kantons.
Seit über 300 Jahren bietet dieses traditionsreiche, direkt im Zentrum von Chur gelegene Hotel herausragende Küche und Weine aus Graubünden. Geniessen Sie die einmalige Stimmung in den prachtvollen Stuben und lassen Sie sich dabei kulinarisch verwöhnen.

Lage

In der Stadt

Klassifikation

4 Sterne

Öffnungszeiten

ganzjährig

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Kunst & Kultur, , Icomos Auszeichnung

Gastgeber

Adrian K. Müller

Geschichte

Die Ursprünge des Hotel Stern in Chur gehen möglicher­weise auf ein Wirtshaus zurück, das sich an gleicher Stelle an der heutigen Reichsgasse in der Altstadt befand. Auf einer alten Ansicht von Chur aus dem Jahr 1548 ist ein längliches Gebäude auszumachen, bei dem es sich wahrscheinlich um ebenjenes Gasthaus handelt, in dem Kaufleute, Landsknechte und Pilger einkehrten.
weiterlesen
Die heutige Bausubstanz wird im Kern auf das Jahr 1677 datiert, wobei das Haus damals als Gasthaus zum Stern bekannt war und sogar eigene Stallungen besass für die Handelsleute, die auf dem Weg in den Süden dort einkehrten. Wechselnde Besitzer prägten das Gebäude, von 1882 bis 1969 bewirtschaftete die Davoser Familie Taverna das Hotel. In dieser Zeit wurde das Gebäude im zeittypischen Bündner Heimatstil umgebaut. Besonders zu erwähnen ist das Restaurant Veltliner Weinstuben zum Stern im Parterre, gestaltet von den Churer Architekten Schäfer und Risch, mit Arventäfer, geschnitztem Leuchter und rundem Schiefertisch von 1912. Der viergeschossige Haupttrakt im spätklassizistischen Stil steht auf einem Sockelgeschoss in Putzquaderwerk und trägt ein Walm- und Satteldach. Ein Verbindungstrakt bildet den Übergang zur Regulakirche, die aus dem 9. Jahrhundert stammt und unmittelbar an das Hotel Stern angrenzt. Im angegliederten Haus des Hinterhofs befindet sich ein gros­ser Raum von 1907 mit Erker und auf Pilastern umlaufendem Gebälk, der historisch als Freimaurertempel genutzt wurde. Auch heute sind noch zahlreiche Gemälde zu betrachten, die der bekannte Bündner Maler Alois Carigiet (1902-1985) als Freund der Hotelierfamilie Pfister im Hotel Stern hinterliess. Eine weitere Besonderheit bildet die dekorative Jugend­stil-Glasmalerei des Zürcher Kunsthandwerkers Karl Wehrli im Treppenhaus. Seit 2006 ist das Hotel Stern Mitglied bei Swiss Historic Hotels. 2010 erhielt das Churer Gasthaus von Icomos eine besondere Auszeichnung «für die Erhaltung und Pflege der 1913 erstellten Innenausstattung des Restaurants Veltliner Weinstube zum Stern». (FF)

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 2

Zimmer

Das Hotel Stern Chur -swiss historic- bietet verschiedenste Kategorien in unterschiedlichen Grössen und Ausstattungen an.

Restaurant Veltliner Weinstube z. Stern

Geniessen Sie die einmalige Atmosphäre in der prachtvollen Bündner Stube und lassen Sie sich dabei kulinarisch verwöhnen! Der Stern geniesst einen ausgezeichneten Ruf als Gaststätte, in der Bündner Gerichte nach überlieferten Rezepten angeboten werden. Ob Capuns, Maluns, Bizochels, Kalbsleber Dolce brusco oder Churer Ratsherrenteller, alle diese Köstlichkeiten sind stets in bester Qualität erhältlich. Daneben hat natürlich auch die traditionelle Küche ihren festen Platz.

Region

Region

Chur ist der ideale Ausgangspunkt für eine Fahrt mit dem Bernina Express nach Poschiavo oder mit dem Glacier Express nach Zermatt.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Hotel Stern
Reichsgasse 11, 7000 Chur (GR)

+41 81 258 57 57
info@stern-chur.ch
www.stern-chur.ch

Anreise

Ankunft mit dem Zug
Vom Bahnhof zu Fuss der Bahnhofstrasse entlang bis zum Postplatz, dort nach links bis zum Kreisel mit den Bäumen. Nach rechts (Reichsgasse) und nach ca. 20 Meter stehen Sie vor dem Romantik Hotel Stern.

Ankunft mit dem PKW
Von Zürich kommend nehmen Sie die Ausfahrt Chur Nord, dann immer der Hauptstrasse (Masanserstrasse) entlang, ca. 2 km, Richtung Zentrum. Beim Kreisel mit den Bäumen geradeaus. Nach ca. 20 m finden Sie das Hotel Stern Chur – swiss historic.

Auszeichnungen

award-gault-millau-gold
13 Punkte
award-guide-michelin-gold
gelistet aber keine Sterne
award-icomos-gold
Spezialpreis Mobiliar 2010
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall