Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1906 | 7482 Bergün (GR)

Kurhaus Bergün

Family friendly art nouveau gem in Bergün – a great journey through time at a modest price.
Located in the pristine landscape of the Albula valley, today this former wellness hotel is a unique combination of hotel and apartments. In 2002 its guests bought it as a public limited company, and it has since been renovated step by step. Under new management since 2009 with Maya Schlup and Christof Steiner.
Discover more
Located in the pristine landscape of the Albula valley, today this former wellness hotel is a unique combination of hotel and apartments. In 2002 its guests bought it as a public limited company, and it has since been renovated step by step. Under new management since 2009 with Maya Schlup and Christof Steiner.

Spacious architecture, very family friendly. Creative restaurant "La Peida" (Romansh for "The Muse"). Impressive art nouveau building dating from 1906. Breathtaking ballroom, well-preserved lounges and an original canteen kitchen from yesteryear for team events and banquets with a difference. This unique hotel won an award for its unusual collection of art nouveau lighting fixtures. Careful renovations and the preservation of details have maintained the authentic, historic charm.

Location

In the mountains

Opening Hours

May to October / December to April

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, Icomos Award

Host

Maya and Christof Steiner are the managing directors since 2009. Together with their young and dynamic team they run the Kurhaus with much attention to detail and a commitment to hospitality that comes from the heart.

History

Construction of a new Kurhaus in Bergün began shortly after the opening of the Albula railway line in 1903. The hotel, designed by Zurich architect Jost-Franz Huwyler-Boller (1874-1930), opened in 1906 with many modern conveniences and notable Art-Nouveau interiors.
read more

Early advertisements held out the prospect of central heating, electric lights, elevator, bathrooms, large dining room, several large terraces facing south, elegant vestibule, ladies' salon, spacious restaurants, bar, billiard, reading and writing rooms and a darkroom. The hoped-for success did not materialize, even after a winter season was added in 1911. A fire in 1949 and a lack of funds for renovations in the years after that, when it was a family hostel, meant its continued decline. In 2002, long-term regular guests set up Kurhaus Bergün Inc., which acquired the building and its surroundings. Since then the building has been carefully modernized and restored in several stages in line with established principles for the preservation of historic buildings. The wealth of original Art-Nouveau furnishings preserved in their historic condition, particularly in the interiors on the main floor, is unique in Switzerland. The architectural highlight of the entire hotel is the spacious 1906 ballroom. With the pale but resplendent blue of its rose heaven, original windows and wall coverings and historic ceiling and wall chandeliers, it is one of the most valuable intact rooms of the Art-Nouveau period. The most recent preservation efforts were fittingly recognized in 2007, when Icomos gave the Kurhaus a special award for preserving a valuable Art-Nouveau interior", and in 2012, when the hotel was named Historic Hotel of the Year. The Kurhaus Bergün has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2010.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

In the Kurhaus Bergün a relaxing and restful stay in the mountains of Graubünden is certain. In addition to the stylishly renovated Art Nouveau rooms, vacation apartments are also offered here, so the vacations can be spent individually according to the needs.
1 | 5

Gastronomy

A young and honest Alpine Cuisine is celebrated in the Kurhaus Bergün. Cooked with seasonal and fresh products and whenever possible with direct reference to Bergün or the Albula valley/Parc Ela. The beverage selection, especially the wine list, is regionally based and like all other products carefully chosen. In addition, mainly considering organic food and beverages.

Region

1 | 5

Bravuogn & Val d‘Alvra

Bergün, is a picturesque village with typical Engdin farmhouses, on an altitude of 1400 metres. Small, authentic, and surrounded by a wonderful scenery, Bergün is situated at the foot of the Albula pass, on the spectacular railway line that runs, and belongs to the list of UNESCO World Heritage sites.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Kurhaus Bergün
Veja Grusaida 9, 7482 Bergün (GR)

+41 81 407 22 22
info@kurhausberguen.ch
www.kurhausberguen.ch

Arrival

Bergün is well connected to the public transport, and the road to Bergün is open year-round.

Arriving by train

The train takes 2.5 hours from Zurich and about 4 hours from Basel and Berne. There is a direct line from Chur to Bergün by the Rhaetian Railway every hour. The Kurhaus Bergün is in a 5-minute walking distance from the train station; baggage carts are available for your luggage.

Journey map
SBB Timetable

By car it takes 2 hours from Zurich, via Chur (Graubünden) A13 to Thusis, then via Tiefencastel and Filisur to Bergün.

Awards

award-icomos-gold
Historic hotel of the year 2012,
HHE Historic Countryside Hotel Award 2017
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1906 | 7482 Bergün (GR)

Kurhaus Bergün

Familienfreundliche Jugendstilperle in Bergün - die grosse Zeitreise zum kleinen Preis.
Imposantes Jugendstilgebäude mit grosszügiger Architektur aus dem Jahr 1906. Das ehemalige Kurhaus wurde 2002 von seinen Gästen gekauft und seither Schritt für Schritt renoviert. Heute ist das Haus ein einzigartiger Mix aus Hotel und Ferienwohnungen mit einem sehr familienfreundlichen Konzept.
Mehr entdecken
Imposantes Jugendstilgebäude mit grosszügiger Architektur aus dem Jahr 1906. Das ehemalige Kurhaus wurde 2002 von seinen Gästen gekauft und seither Schritt für Schritt renoviert. Heute ist das Haus ein einzigartiger Mix aus Hotel und Ferienwohnungen mit einem sehr familienfreundlichen Konzept.
Kreative Alpin-Küche mit Blick über den Horizont sowohl im Restaurant ,«La Peida» wie auch im Bankett-Bereich. Atemberaubender Festsaal, bestens erhaltene Gesellschaftsräume und eine originale Grossküche von anno dazumal für Team-Events und Bankette mit dem gewissen Etwas. Historischer, authentischer Charme dank erhaltener Details und sanfter Renovation. Das einmalige Haus im oberen Albulatal wurde von ICOMOS zum «historischen Hotel des Jahres 2012» ausgezeichnet. Bergün: idealer Ausgangspunkt für Winter- und Sommerabenteuer (Schlitteln, Skifahren, Wandern, Pässefahrten, Kultur, UNESCO-Welterbe-Bahnreisen).

Lage

In den Bergen

Öffnungszeiten

Mai bis Oktober / Dezember bis April

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Park/Garten, Familien-/Kinderfreundlich, Kunst & Kultur, Icomos Auszeichnung

Gastgeber

Maya & Christof Steiner sind seit 2009 die Gastgeber vor Ort und führen zusammen mit ihrem jungen Team das Kurhaus mit Liebe zum Detail und gelebter Gastfreundschaft.

Geschichte

Kurz nach der Eröffnung der Albula-Bahnlinie 1903 begann der Bau eines neuen Kurhauses in Bergün. Das mit beachtlichem Komfort und bemerkenswertem Jugendstilinterieur nach Plänen des Zürcher Architekten Jost-Franz Huwyler-Boller (1874-1930) erbaute Hotel konnte 1906 eröffnet werden.
weiterlesen
Zentralheizung, elektrisches Licht, Lift, Badezimmer, grosser Speisesaal, mehrere grosse Terrassen gegen Süden, elegantes Vestibül, Damensalon, geräumige Restaurant­lokalitäten, Bar, Billard-, Lese- und Schreibzimmer sowie Dunkelkammer waren die Trümpfe des Hauses in der frühen Werbung. Der erhoffte Erfolg blieb aber aus, daran konnte auch die zusätzliche Winteröffnung ab 1911 nichts ändern. Ein Grossbrand 1949 und fehlende Finanzen für den lau­fenden Unterhalt in der Zeit danach als Familienherberge führten zum kontinuierlichen Niedergang. 2002 grün­deten langjährige Stammgäste die Kurhaus Bergün AG, die das Gebäude samt Umschwung erwarb. In mehreren Etappen wurde das Gebäude seither im denkmalpflegerischen Sinne konsequent entstaubt und restauriert. Einzigartig in der Schweiz ist die heute noch vorhandene Dichte an originalen Ausstattungen aus dem Jugendstil, insbesondere in den Innenräumen des Erdgeschosses, die im historischen Zustand erhalten sind. Als gestalterischer Höhepunkt der ganzen Anlage wirkt auch heute noch der grosse Festsaal von 1906. Mit dem leuchtenden Hellblau des Rosenhimmels, den Originalfenstern und Wandverkleidungen sowie den historischen Decken- und Wandleuchten gehört dieser Saal zu den wertvollsten erhaltenen Sälen aus der Zeit des Jugendstils. Die neusten ­Erhaltungsmassnahmen im denkmalpflegerischen Sinne fanden grosse ­Anerkennung: 2007 erhielt das Kurhaus von Icomos eine besondere Auszeichnung «für die Erhaltung des wertvollen Jugendstilinterieurs» und 2012 durfte das Haus den Titel Historisches ­Hotel des Jahres tragen. Seit 2010 ist das Hotel Kurhaus Bergün Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels. (RF)

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Zimmer

Im Kurhaus Bergün kann ein entspannter und erholsamer Aufenthalt in der Bündner Bergwelt genossen werden. Nebst den stilvoll renovierten Jugendstilzimmern, werden hier auch Ferienwohnungen angeboten.
1 | 5

Gastronomie

Eine junge, ehrliche, alpenländische Küche mit täglich frischen und saisonalen Lebensmitteln wird im Kurhaus Bergün zelebriert. Wenn immer möglich, wird mit direktem Bezug zu Bergün und der Region Albulatal/Parc Ela gekocht: halt eben richtig «feinheimisch!»

Region

1 | 5

Bravuogn & Val d‘Alvra

Das malerische Dorf Bergün mit seinen typischen Bündnerhäusern liegt idyllisch auf 1400 müM am Fusse des Albulapasses und an der UNESCO-Welterbe-Bahnlinie, im Herzen Graubündens. Klein und fein, authentisch und echt, in einer intakten Natur – das ganze Jahr über eine Reise wert!

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Kurhaus Bergün
Veja Grusaida 9, 7482 Bergün (GR)

+41 81 407 22 22
info@kurhausberguen.ch
www.kurhausberguen.ch

Anreise

Bergün kann mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln wie auch mit dem Auto ganzjährig gut und bequem erreicht werden: Mit den Schweizerischen Bundesbahnen (SBB) und der Rhätischen Bahn (RhB) ist das Bergdorf in 2.5 Stunden von Zürich und in knapp 4 Stunden von Basel und Bern zu erreichen. Vom Bahnhof ist man zu Fuss in Minuten im Kurhaus Bergün.

Anreiseplan
SBB Fahrplan

Mit dem Auto ist man in 2 Stunden von Zürich, via Chur (Graubünden) A13 bis Thusis, dann via Tiefencastel und Filisur in Bergün.

Link zum Routenplaner
Link zu den Strassenzuständen

Auszeichnungen

award-icomos-gold
Historisches Hotel des Jahres 2012
HHE Historic Countryside Hotel Award 2017
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall