Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1753 | 3718 Kandersteg (BE)

Landgasthof Ruedihus

Rustic yet stylish - a fitting description of Ruedihus, the country inn located in Kandersteg in the Bernese Oberland.
Discover more

Somewhat more bucolic but nonetheless stylish, the Ruedihus country inn in Kandersteg dates back to 1753. This guesthouse is unique in terms of its historic guest rooms, with their period furniture and state-of-the-art luxury facilities, together with its historic herb garden.

Location

In the mountains

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Park/garden, Icomos Award

Host

Patric and Family Maeder Legend image: Lisa Kunz Rene, Anne, Patric Maeder Riana Meye

History

In 1753 country squire Peter Germann had today's Ruedihus built. It served as his residence and at the same time as an inn and a place to change mules for travelers going over the Gemmi Pass. Its current name probably goes back to Rudolf Reichen, who acquired the house in 1850 and was nicknamed 'rich Ruedi'.
read more

The farmhouse, built in the typical regional style with an attached barn under the eaves, is a masterful ­example of 18th century Bernese Oberland carpentry skills. The main façade, protruding by a beam's width, is very richly decorated with carved and painted moldings, decorative forms and inscriptions and two painted medallions on the tympanum. The rows of windows with their typical bull's eye panes have been preserved in their original size. The historic furnishings of the interior are also particularly rich. The doors to the rooms are decorated with paintings and their lintels have a Baroque profile. A number of historic beds and painted buffets and chests enrich the valuable interior. Following a 1908 fire, the back part of the house had to be rebuilt. At the time, the building temporarily served as a school for the children of the Italians who were constructing the Lötschberg railway. After the construction work was completed, the Ruedihus became an inn again. In 1990, the current owner acquired the house, and since then has renovated it carefully and with great expertise, taking into ­account its historic and cultural significance. Regional meals are served in the skillfully restored restaurant, and you can spend the night as in past generations in one of the guestrooms with historic furnishings. The historic ornamental garden with valuable herbs has been integrated into the overall complex in striking ­fashion. Icomos gave the Ruedihus a special award in 2000 for its careful restoration of an important country inn. Ruedihus became a founding member of Swiss ­Historic Hotels in 2004.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

Romantic and comfortable rooms and suites with shower/toilet, some with bathtub but without TV and minibar. The Spa Doldenhorn (200m opposite), built according to ecological principles, is free for guests of the Ruedihus.
1 | 5

Gastronomy

The cuisine is traditional Swiss: Despite all the finesse and creativity, it remains simple, natural and original. In the Egger and Stettlerstube, the Ruedihus kitchen will delight you with traditional dishes of the Bernese Oberland. How about a "Suure Mocke" or a "Schnifu Buurehamme"? In the Wystube of the Landgasthof Ruedihus, cheese lovers will be delighted. Fondue and raclette are served in a picturesque setting.

Region

Region

Kandersteg is located in the Bernese Oberland at an altitude of 1200m, a real paradise for hikers in summer. In winter it is the Eldorado for Nordic skiing. Our highlights: Oeschinensee and Blausee, Gemmi Pass, Gasterntal, various mountain cable cars and recreational sports facilities.

Awards

award-icomos-gold
Special mention 2000
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1753 | 3718 Kandersteg (BE)

Landgasthof Ruedihus

Rustikal, aber nicht minder stilvoll, präsentiert sich der 1753 als Privathaus erbaute Landgasthof Ruedihus in Kandersteg im Berner Oberland.
Ab 1990 wurde das Gebäude umsichtig und behutsam renoviert.
Mehr entdecken
Ab 1990 wurde das Gebäude umsichtig und behutsam renoviert.
Einmalig sind die historische Gaststube (die Qualität der Küche ist ausgesucht!), die mit alten Möbeln und modernem Komfort ausgestattet. Grosser Wellnessbereich im gegenüberliegenden Waldhotel Doldenhorn.

Lage

In den Bergen

Öffnungszeiten

ganzjährig

Hoteltyp

Park/Garten, Icomos Auszeichnung

Gastgeber

Patric und Familie Maeder Legende Bild: Lisa Kunz Rene, Anne, Patric Maeder Riana Meye

Geschichte

1753 liess der damalige Landsvenner Peter Germann das heutige Ruedihus erbauen. Es diente ihm als Wohnung und zugleich als Maultier-Wechselstation für Reisende über die Gemmi und damit auch als Gaststätte. Der heutige Name des Hauses muss wohl von Rudolf Reichen stammen, der den Besitz um 1850 erwarb und im Volksmund «ds rich Ruedi» genannt wurde.
weiterlesen
Das in der typischen regionalen Bauweise gestaltete Bauernhaus mit einem traufseitig an den Wohnteil angebauten Stall gehört zu den bedeutendsten Leistungen der Berner Oberländer Zimmermannskunst im 18. Jahrhundert. Die um Balkenbreite leicht vorkragende Hauptfassade ist mit geschnitzten und bemalten Gesimsen, Zierformen sowie Inschriften und zwei gemalten Medaillons im Giebelfeld ausserordentlich reich verziert. Die Reihenfenster mit ihren typischen Butzenscheiben sind in ihrer originalen Grösse erhalten. Besonders reich erscheint auch die historische Ausstattung der Innenräume. Die Zimmertüren sind mit Malereien verziert und ihre Türstürze besitzen ein barockes Profil. Zahlreiche historische Betten sowie bemalte Buffets und Truhen bereichern das wertvolle Interieur. Nach einem Brand 1908 musste der hintere Teil des Hauses neu aufgebaut werden. Damals diente das Haus vorübergehend als Schule für die Kinder der am Bau der Lötschbergbahn beteiligten Italiener. Nach Abschluss der Bauarbeiten wurde das Ruedihus als Pension betrieben. 1990 kam es in den Besitz der heutigen Eigentümerschaft, die es seither umsichtig und mit viel Sachverstand für die geschichtliche und kulturelle Bedeutung erneuert. In den behutsam renovierten Gaststuben werden regionale Speisen serviert, in den mit historischem Mobiliar ausgestatteten Gästezimmern kann nach alter Väter Sitte übernachtet werden. Beeindruckend ist zudem der Einbezug eines historischen Ziergartens mit wertvollen Kräutern in die Gesamtanlage. Im Jahr 2000 erhielt das Ruedihus von Icomos eine besondere Auszeichnung für die umsichtige Restaurierung des bedeutenden Landgasthofs. Seit der Gründung 2004 ist der Gasthof Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Zimmer

Romatisch, komfortabel eingereichtete Zimmer und Juniorsuiten mit Dusche/WC, zum Teile mit Bad jedoch ohne TV und Minibar. Das Doldenhorn Spa (gegenüberligend 200 m), gebaut nach ökologischen Grundsätzen ist für die Gäste des Landgasthof Ruedihus kostenlos.
1 | 5

Gastronomie

So wie das heimelige Ambiente unserer Restaurants im Ruedihus ist auch die Küche, ein Stück gelebte Schweizer Tradition: Bei aller Finesse und Kreativität dennoch einfach, natürlich und ursprünglich. In der Egger- und Stettlerstube verwöhnt Sie die Ruedihus-Küche mit traditionellen Schweizer Gerichten aus dem Berner Oberland. Wie wär’s mal wieder mit einem »Suure Mocke« oder einem «Schnifu Buurehamme»? In der Wystube des Landgasthof Ruedihus geraten Käsefreunde in Extase.

Region

Region

Kandersteg liegt im Berner Oberland auf 1200m und bietet einen fantastischen Blick auf das Blümlisalpmassiv. Der ruhige Ferienort hat mit all seinen Holzchalets seinen Dorfcharakter bewahrt und ist im Sommer ein ausgesprochenes Wanderparadies.

Auszeichnungen

award-icomos-gold
Besondere Auszeichnung 2000
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall