Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1752 | 3465 Dürrenroth (BE)

Romantik Hotel Bären

Where the traditional meets the modern... today's Bären combines historic and contemporary hospitality to provide an unforgettable experience.
The country inn Bären includes the guesthouse Kreuz, the lovingly furnished hotel and the Bären, our restaurant with rustic, cozy rooms and the wellness house with the small, fine Bären wellness. Discover and enjoy the quiet location in the Emmental – away from the hustle and bustle of the city and long-held customs in the middle of the hills.
Discover more
The country inn Bären includes the guesthouse Kreuz, the lovingly furnished hotel and the Bären, our restaurant with rustic, cozy rooms and the wellness house with the small, fine Bären wellness. Discover and enjoy the quiet location in the Emmental – away from the hustle and bustle of the city and long-held customs in the middle of the hills.

Whether for your dream wedding or banquet or for a demanding seminar or just for a few days of relaxation, the Bären is the ideal location to hold your event! Enjoy our high-quality cuisine; simply sit back and relax. A peaceful setting in the beautiful Emmental valley 700 m above sea level. The unique and unmistakable Emmental environment invites you to leave your cares behind. We are at the ideal starting point for walks, hikes and bike tours.

Location

In the country

Hotel classification

3 Stars

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Wellness/spa, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly,

Host

The long cherished dream of owning a hotel came true on the 1st of March 2009, we are the hosts of the Bären Dürrenroth. Our goal: Everyone is welcome to feel comfortable and to absorb the cosy atmosphere, which is not only characteristic for the place since hundreds of years but is still alive and noticeable on the whole premises.

History

The Bären in Dürrenroth was built in 1752 to replace a tavern that had stood there since the 16th century. The imposing wood post-and-beam construction with steep hipped roof and the parsonage and church form a notable ensemble of national importance in the townscape.
read more

The façades covered with wood shingles and painted with oil paint are made to look like a stone building along with their segmental arch windows and artistically designed Late-Baroque-style pilaster strips. The wrought iron inn sign with its imposing hook (1752) is remarkable. The large Belle Époque banquet hall in the addition at the back is unique among country inns. In 1998, the building was skillfully restored in cooperation with the historic preservation office. In 2000, the Bären restaurant was named Historic Restaurant of the Year. Across the street stands the former Kreuz, a Late-Baroque wood post-and-beam construction with a splendid mansard-hipped roof. This half-timbered building with its wooden corner pilaster strips and imitation joints also looks like a sandstone building - considered a sign of wealth at the time. Like the Bären, the new Kreuz of 1806 replaced an older tavern from the 16th century. A kind of cloisters within the building, Kreuzgang in German, gave the hotel its name and is also worth a visit. It is closed off by four identical oak doors to the north, south, west and east, with the north-south axis oriented straight towards the main entrance of the church. The Kreuz was completely renovated in 2000/01 with support of the historic preservation office. The Land­gasthof Bären (with the Kreuz) has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2009. From the stagecoach period until the opening of the railway line in 1908, the two inns were important horse-changing stations on the Lucerne-Bern line. The coaches were even able to drive right into the 1820 'Kreuzstock' building to unload passengers. The stables are part of the guest house that belongs to the Bären.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 3

Rooms

Dedicate yourself to the charm of one of our seven different suites and recover from the stresses of daily routines with a massage or simply relax in the hot tub or in front of the fireplace. In the guesthouse Kreuz we have 10 standard rooms as well as 10 corner rooms. All of them are furnished with a mixture of contemporary and artistic elements as well as with historic furniture, providing a high standard of comfort. Next to the guesthouse, in the former stables, we have 4 budget double rooms.
1 | 5

Gastronomy

Our Chief is as committed to tradition as he is to the region. He knows that good things are often very close at hand, but he does not close himselves off to the diversity that makes cooking a never-ending story. Regionality, seasonality and a pinch of creativity and modernity should be tasty and enjoyable for you. All this makes your stay here in the "Bären" a culinary experience - just in keeping with the triad of hospitality, enjoyment and history.

Region

1 | 4

Region

The gentle hilly landscape of the Emmental holds endless things for you to discover. A beautiful e-bike route through the surrounding area, a hike up the Napf or even making cheese yourself in the Affoltern show dairy in Emmental. There is a lot to see.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Romantik Hotel Bären
Dorfstrasse 17, 3465 Dürrenroth (BE)

+41 62 959 00 88
info@baeren-duerrenroth.ch
www.baeren-duerrenroth.ch

Arrival

Arrival by public transport

Bern - Dürrenroth
Take the train from Bern in the direction of Langenthal. Then you continue by train to Huttwil. From Huttwil station you have an hourly bus to Dürrenroth. The bus stop Dürrenroth, Dorf is located directly in front of the Bären.

Zurich - Dürrenroth
From Zurich, take the train via Olten to Langenthal, where you change to the train that takes you to Huttwil. The bus will take you from Huttwil, train station to Dürrenroth, village, every hour.

Arrival by car

Bern - Dürrenroth
Take the A1 freeway from Bern in the direction of Zurich and leave the freeway at the Kirchberg exit in the direction of Burgdorf. Continue through the Emmental valley via Affoltern i. E. and Häusernmoos to Dürrenroth.

Zurich - Dürrenroth
From Zurich you take the freeway in the direction of Bern and leave the freeway in Dagmarsellen in the direction of Huttwil. You continue to Huttwil and then turn off Dürrenroth.

Awards & Memberships

award-gault-millau-gold
13 Points
award-icomos-gold
Historic Restaurant of the year 2000
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1752 | 3465 Dürrenroth (BE)

Romantik Hotel Bären

Wo Tradition modern ist... der heutige Bären verbindet historisches und zeitgemässe Gastlichkeit zu einem genussvollen Erlebnis für Sie.
Der Landgasthof Bären umfasst das Gästehaus Kreuz, das liebevoll eingerichtete Hotel und den Bären, unser Restaurant mit rustikalen, gemütlichen Räumlichkeiten sowie das Wellnesshaus mit dem kleinen, feinen Bären-Wellness. Entdecken und geniessen Sie im Emmental die ruhige Lage – abseits der Stadthektik und langerhaltene Brauchtümer mitten in den Hügellandschaften.
Mehr entdecken
Der Landgasthof Bären umfasst das Gästehaus Kreuz, das liebevoll eingerichtete Hotel und den Bären, unser Restaurant mit rustikalen, gemütlichen Räumlichkeiten sowie das Wellnesshaus mit dem kleinen, feinen Bären-Wellness. Entdecken und geniessen Sie im Emmental die ruhige Lage – abseits der Stadthektik und langerhaltene Brauchtümer mitten in den Hügellandschaften.
Sei es nun für Ihre Traumhochzeit oder Ihr Bankett, für das Seminar welches viel abverlangt oder einfach für ein paar entspannende Tage, der Bären ist ideal für Ihren Wunschanlass! Durch unsere qualitativ-hochstehende Küche können Sie bei uns einfach geniessen. Ruhig gelegen im wunderschönen Emmental 700 m.ü.M. Die einzigartige und typisch emmentalerische Umgebung lässt den Alltag vergessen. Für Spaziergänge, Wanderungen und Biketouren haben Sie bei uns den idealen Ausganspunkt.

Lage

Auf dem Land

Klassifikation

3 Sterne

Öffnungszeiten

ganzjährig

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Wellness/Spa, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Park/Garten, Familien-/Kinderfreundlich,

Gastgeber

Der gehegte Traum vom eigenen Hotel wurde für uns am 1. März 2009 sind wir die Gastgeber im Bären Dürrenroth. Unser Ziel: Jeder sei willkommen, soll sich wohl fühlen und die heimelige Atmosphäre aufnehmen, die seit hunderten von Jahren den Ort prägt und nach wie vor in den Räumen erleb- und spürbar ist!

Geschichte

Das Hotel Bären in Dürrenroth entstand 1752 als Ersatz einer seit dem 16. Jahrhundert nachgewiesenen Taverne. Der imposante Holz-Ständerbau mit steilem Walmdach bildet zusammen mit dem Pfarrhaus und der Kirche ein bemerkenswertes Ensemble von nationaler Bedeutung im Ortsbild.
weiterlesen

Die mit Holzschindeln bedeckten und mit Ölfarbe gestrichenen Fassaden imitieren mit ihren Stichbogenfenstern und kunstvoll gestalteten Lisenen in spätbarocker Manier einen Steinbau. Wertvoll erscheint das schmiedeeiserne Wirtshausschild (Biedermeier) mit imposantem Aushänger aus der Bauzeit, einmalig im Bereich der ländlichen Wirtshäuser ist der grosse Festsaal aus der Belle Epoque im rückseitigen Anbau. Das Gebäude wurde 1998 in Zusammenarbeit mit der Denkmalpflege fachgerecht restauriert. Im Jahr 2000 durfte das Restaurant Bären den Titel Historisches Restaurant des Jahres tragen. Auf der gegenüberliegenden Strassenseite findet sich das ehemalige Hotel Kreuz, ein spätbarocker Ständerbau mit einem prachtvollen Mansard-Walmdach. Auch dieser Fachwerkbau erhielt mit hölzernen Ecklisenen und imitierten Fugen das Aussehen eines Sandsteinbaus, der damals als Zeichen von Reichtum galt. Der Neubau von 1806 ersetzte, wie sein Gegenüber, eine ältere Taverne aus dem 16. Jahrhundert. Sehenswert ist der namengebende Kreuzgang im Innern des Gebäudes, welcher durch vier identische Eichentüren in den vier Himmels­richtungen abgeschlossen wird, wobei die Ausrichtung der Nord-Süd-Achse geradewegs zum Kirchenportal weist. Das Kreuz wurde in den Jahren 2000/01 mit Unterstützung der Denkmalpflege komplett renoviert, seither gehört es als Hotelgebäude zum Hotel Bären. Seit 2009 ist der Landgasthof Bären (zusammen mit dem Kreuz) Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels. Die beiden Gasthäuser gehörten in der Postkutschenzeit bis zur Eröffnung der Eisenbahn 1908 zu einer bedeutenden Pferdewechselstation auf der Strecke Luzern-Bern. Im sogenannten Kreuzstock von 1820 ­konnten die Kutschen sogar ins Haus hineinfahren und im Trockenen entladen werden. Heute sind die Stallungen Teil des zum Bären gehörenden Gästehauses.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 3

Zimmer

Geben Sie sich dem Charme unserer 7 verschiedenen Suiten hin und entspannen Sie sich im Whirlpool, vor dem Cheminée oder bei einer Massage vom Alltag. Im Gästehaus Kreuz befinden sich insgesamt 10 Klassik- und 10 Eckzimmer. Sie sind mit modernen, künstlerischen Elementen sowie historischen Möbeln eingerichtet und verfügen über einen gehobenen Komfort. Neben dem Gästehaus Kreuz, in den ehemaligen Stallungen der Postkutschenstation, befinden sich insgesamt vier einfache Doppelzimmer.
1 | 5

Gastronomie

Unser Küchenchef ist der Tradition ebenso verbunden wie der Region und weiss, dass das Gute oft sehr naheliegt, er verschliesst sich aber nicht der Vielfalt, die das Kochen zu einer unendlichen Geschichte werden lässt. Regionalität, Saisonalität und je eine Prise Kreativität und Moderne sollen für Sie genussvoll schmeckbar sein und das Hiersein im «Bären» zu einem kulinarischen Erlebnis machen – eben passend zum Dreiklang aus Gastlichkeit, Genuss und Geschichte.

Region

1 | 4

Region

Unscheinbar eingebettet in die sanften Hügellandschaften des Emmentals hält Dürrenroth für Sie unendlich viel zu entdecken bereit. Eine wunderschöne E-Bikeroute durch die Umgebung, eine Wanderung auf den Napf oder etwa selber Käsezubereiten in der Schaukäserei Affoltern im Emmental.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Romantik Hotel Bären
Dorfstrasse 17, 3465 Dürrenroth (BE)

+41 62 959 00 88
info@baeren-duerrenroth.ch
www.baeren-duerrenroth.ch

Anreise

Anreise mit dem öffentlichen Verkehr

Bern – Dürrenroth
Mit der Bahn fahren Sie ab Bern in Richtung Langenthal. Im Anschluss fahren Sie mit dem Zug weiter bis nach Huttwil. Ab dem Bahnhof Huttwil haben Sie stündlich einen Bus nach Dürrenroth. Die Bushaltestelle Dürrenroth, Dorf befindet sich unmittelbar vor dem Bären.

Zürich – Dürrenroth
Ab Zürich fahren Sie mit der Bahn via Olten nach Langenthal, wo Sie in den Zug umsteigen, der Sie nach Huttwil bringt. Der Bus bringt Sie stündlich von Huttwil, Bahnhof nach Dürrenroth, Dorf.

Anreise mit dem Auto

Bern – Dürrenroth
Auf der Autobahn A1 fahren Sie von Bern in Richtung Zürich und verlassen die Autobahn bei der Ausfahrt Kirchberg in Richtung Burgdorf. Weiter geht die Fahrt durch das Emmental via Affoltern i. E. und Häusernmoos nach Dürrenroth.

Zürich – Dürrenroth
Von Zürich fahren Sie auf der Autobahn in Richtung Bern und verlassen die Autobahn in Dagmarsellen in Richtung Huttwil. Sie fahren weiter nach Huttwil und biegen dann Dürrenroth ab.

Auszeichnungen & Mitgliedschaften

award-gault-millau-gold
13 Punkte
award-icomos-gold
Historisches Restaurant des Jahres 2000
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall