Book hotel

 
Choose hotel
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
Blume Baden
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Gasthof Hirschen
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Adults
1 Adults
View all Hotels
Open gallery
Since 1557 | 9404 Rorschacherberg (SG)

Schloss Wartegg

Unique organic castle hotel in the large English park.
The castle was built around 1557 and has experienced a chequered history over the years. For a time it provided a refuge for Austria's last Empress Zita.
Discover more
The castle was built around 1557 and has experienced a chequered history over the years. For a time it provided a refuge for Austria's last Empress Zita.

Today, the castle with its historic nature park is home to a holiday and seminar hotel with a special atmosphere. The warm hospitality, the wide view of the park and Lake Constance, as well as the light atmosphere in the 25 rooms are essential qualities.

Location

In the country, By the water

Hotel classification

3 Stars Superior

Opening Hours

all year

Type

Banquets/Weddings, Seminar/business, Wellness/spa, Active/sport, Park/garden, Family/child friendly, Art & culture, ,

Host

Many guests come to our organic castle hotel in eastern Switzerland not only because of the wonderful location on Lake Constance in the midst of unique nature, the beautiful rooms, the English park or the fine cuisine of our organic restaurant - they especially appreciate the personal atmosphere in our hotel. We want our guests to feel at home, as if they were staying with good friends. You will feel it when you are served your coffee with a friendly smile in the early morning.
1 | 5

History

Schloss Wartegg in its present appearance is a multi-part, representative stone building with characteristic stepped gables and a striking tower. The first castle was built in 1557 by Kaspar Blarer von Wartensee, the bishop's bailiff in Arbon, on the site of a former estate. In the course of an eventful history, new lords of the castle moved into Wartegg again and again.
read more

In 1860, the estate came into the possession of the Duchess and Regent Louise of Bourbon-Parma, who added extensions to the main building to the east and south and laid out an extensive English garden. The prestigious complex with a view of Lake Constance also served as accommodation for numerous noble guests and eventually as an exile, such as Zita of Bourbon-Parma, who was married to the last Austrian emperor. She found refuge in Schloss Wartegg with her children for a few months after the end of the Empire in 1919. In 1928, the entire complex was acquired by the German industrialist Dr Gustav Mez, who subjected the castle to extensive renovation. After he moved out, the house stood empty for many years, which in some cases caused great damage to the historic fabric of the building. In 1994, the property came into the possession of the current owners, who, with the support of the preservation of historical monuments, carefully converted the complex and its rooms into a contemporary hotel business. The damage to the building fabric, some of which was extensive, necessitated numerous far-reaching interventions, but it was still possible to preserve a number of historic components of the main building. A unique feature is the bathing oval built in 1928, which is still available to hotel guests today as a Turkish bath. The Wartegg Hotel has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2005.

Rooms & Gastronomy

1 | 5

Rooms

The view over the English park towards Lake Constance or into the Appenzell hills characterises your time at Hotel Schloss Wartegg. Our 25 single and double rooms all have a light atmosphere, high-quality natural materials and soothing natural mattresses (Hüsler-Nest) for your health. All rooms are equipped with window table or separate table, free of minibar and of course absolutely smoke-free. Our prices include overnight stay incl. breakfast buffet in traditional organic certified quality.
1 | 5

Organic restaurant at the highest level

Herbs, vegetables, berries and flowers are grown on 2500 m2 in our own biodynamic castle and ProSpecieRara variety garden. For us, "organic" is not just any certificate, but meaningful enjoyment from nature. In between, coffee with homemade cakes, homemade ice cream and sorbet, as well as selected organic teas. A highlight of our organic restaurant is the inviting garden terrace with atmospheric views of our English Park and Lake Constance.

Region

1 | 3

Region

Our organic hotel in eastern Switzerland is just as popular with those seeking relaxation as it is with cyclists. Because Schloss Wartegg is a cycle path hotel. Due to its close proximity to Lake Constance, Wartegg Castle is also ideal for swimming holidays. Whether cultural enjoyment, boat trips on Lake Constance, swimming and bathing in the "Hörnlibuck" bay, bicycle tours, leisurely hikes or sporty mountain tours or simply rest and relaxation – Hotel Schloss Wartegg offers the best conditions.

Contact & Arrival

Online Booking
 
2 Adults
1 Adults

Contact

Schloss Wartegg
Von Blarer Weg 1, 9404 Rorschacherberg (SG)

+41 71 858 62 62
schloss@wartegg.ch
www.wartegg.ch

Arrival

Car

  • Motorway A1
    (St.Gallen / St.Margrethen)
  • Exit Rheineck
    Direction Rorschach. Staad town sign. Altenrhein airfield roundabout - straight on to the end of Staad. 5 min. from Altenrhein airfield roundabout.
  • Rorschacherberg
    (follow the brown signs 'Schloss Wartegg').

There are plenty of free parking spaces available.
E-filling station with 100% green electricity naturemade star! (chargeable).

Train

Half-hourly from Zurich (1 hour 40 min.) and hourly from Chur (change in St.Gallen or St.Margrethen). Walk from Staad station (5 minutes) or take a taxi from Rorschach station.

Rorschach - Heiden railway
Sandbüchel station (10 min. walk).

Regional bus connections
Rorschacherberg-Wilen stop or Staad-Schönenbach stop.

Awards & Memberships

award-gault-millau-gold
13 Points
award-guide-michelin-gold
Green Star
Gift Voucher

You will receive the voucher directly as a PDF and can print it out immediately.

Order gift voucher
Subscribe Newsletter

We will inform you regularly about special offers of Swiss Historic Hotels.

Subscribe
Social Media

Share your best moments with #swisshistorichotels and inspire others.

To the Social Wall

Hotel buchen

 
Hotel wählen
Château Salavaux
Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Marktgasse Hotel
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Falken
Hotel Terrasse am See
Gasthof Gyrenbad
Schloss Schadau
Jugendstil-Hotel Paxmontana
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Flims
Hotel Fex
Klosterhotel St. Petersinsel
Romantik Hotel Gasthof Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Bären
Berghotel Schatzalp
Palazzo Gamboni
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Hotel Stern
Grand Hotel Bella Tola & St. Luc
Grandhotel Giessbach
Hotel Villa Carona
Hotel Ofenhorn
Hotel Chesa Salis
Hotel Krafft
BLUME. Baden Hotel & Restaurant
Culinarium Alpinum
Grand Hôtel & Kurhaus
Hotel Alte Herberge Weiss Kreuz
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel Baseltor
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Hotel Waldhaus
Schloss Wartegg
Hof Zuort
Hotel Albrici
Auberge du Mouton
Hirschen Stammheim
Landvogthaus Historisches Erlebnishotel
Hotel Regina
Hôtel Masson
Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Splendide Royal
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Hotel Waldrand Pochtenalp
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Hotel Kreuz
Alpinhotel Grimsel Hospiz
Meisser Resort
Kurhaus Flühli
Hotel Stern & Post
Kurhaus Bergün
Hotel Monte Verità
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene
Übersicht
Bildergalerie öffnen
Seit 1557 | 9404 Rorschacherberg (SG)

Schloss Wartegg

Einzigartiges Bio-Schlosshotel im grossen Englischen Park.
Das Schloss wurde um 1557 erbaut und durchlebte über Jahre eine wechselvolle Geschichte. Zeitweilig bot es Österreichs letzter Kaiserin Zita ein Refugium.
Mehr entdecken
Das Schloss wurde um 1557 erbaut und durchlebte über Jahre eine wechselvolle Geschichte. Zeitweilig bot es Österreichs letzter Kaiserin Zita ein Refugium.
Heute beherbergt das Schloss mit dem historischen Naturpark ein Ferien- und Seminarhotel mit einer besonderen Atmosphäre. Die herzliche Gastfreundschaft, die weite Sicht in den Park und auf den Bodensee, wie auch die lichte Stimmung in den 25 Zimmern sind wesentliche Qualitäten.

Lage

Auf dem Land, Am Wasser

Klassifikation

3 Sterne Superior

Öffnungszeiten

ganzjährig

Hoteltyp

Bankett/Hochzeiten, Seminar/Business, Wellness/Spa, Aktiv/Sport (Wandern/Bike, Ski), Park/Garten, Familien-/Kinderfreundlich, Kunst & Kultur, ,

Gastgeber

Viele Gäste kommen in unser Bio-Schlosshotel in der Ostschweiz nicht nur wegen der wunderbaren Lage am Bodensee inmitten einmaliger Natur, den schönen Zimmern, des Englischen Parks oder der feinen Küche unseres Bio-Restaurants – sie schätzen vor allem die persönliche Atmosphäre in unserem Hotel am Bodensee. Wir möchten, dass sich unsere Gäste wohlfühlen, wie bei guten Freunden. Sie werden es spüren, wenn Sie schon am frühen Morgen den Kaffee mit einem freundlichen Lächeln serviert bekommen.
1 | 5

Geschichte

Das Schloss Wartegg ist in seiner heutigen Erscheinung ein mehrteiliger, repräsentativer Steinbau mit charakteristischen Treppengiebeln und einem markanten Turm. Erbaut wurde das erste Schloss 1557 von Kaspar Blarer von Wartensee, dem bischöflichen Vogt in Arbon, auf dem Gebiet eines ehemaligen Gutshofes. Im Laufe einer wechselvollen Geschichte zogen auf Wartegg immer wieder neue Schlossherren ein.
weiterlesen
1860 kam die Anlage in den Besitz der Herzogin und Regentin Louise von Bourbon-Parma, die das Hauptgebäude mit Erweiterungen nach Osten und Süden versah und einen weitläufigen englischen Garten anlegte. Die repräsentative Anlage mit Blick auf den Bodensee diente auch zahlreichen adeligen Gästen als Unterkunft und schliesslich als Exil, wie beispielsweise Zita von Bourbon-Parma, die mit dem letzten österreichischen Kaiser verheiratet war. Sie fand nach dem Ende des Kaiserreichs 1919 mit ihren Kindern für einige Monate Zuflucht im Schloss Wartegg. 1928 wurde die ganze Anlage durch den deutschen Industriellen Dr. Gustav Mez erworben, der das Schloss einer umfangreichen Renovierung unterzog. Nach seinem Auszug stand das Haus lange Jahre leer, was der historischen Bausubstanz teilweise grossen Schaden zufügte. 1994 kam die Anlage in den Besitz der heutigen Eigentümerschaft, welche die Anlage und ihre Räumlichkeiten mit Unterstützung der Denkmalpflege behutsam zu einem zeitgenössischen Hotelbetrieb umgestaltete. Die teilweise grossen Schäden an der Bausubstanz bedingten dabei zahlreiche tiefgreifende Eingriffe, dennoch konnten etliche historische Bauteile des Hauptgebäudes erhalten werden. Einzigartig ist das 1928 eingebaute Bade-Oval, das den Hotelgästen heute noch als türkisches Bad zur Verfügung steht. Seit 2005 ist das Hotel Wartegg Mitglied von Swiss Historic Hotels.

Zimmer & Gastronomie

1 | 5

Zimmer

Der Ausblick über die Englische Parkanlage zum Bodensee hin oder in die Appenzeller Hügel prägt Ihre Zeit im Schlosshotel Wartegg. Unsere 25 Einzel- und Doppelzimmer verfügen alle über eine lichte Atmosphäre, hochwertige Naturmaterialien und wohltuende Naturmatratzen (Hüsler-Nest) für Ihre Gesundheit. Alle Zimmer sind mit Fenstertisch oder separatem Tisch ausgestattet, frei von Minibar und selbstverständlich absolut rauchfrei.
1 | 5

Bio-Restaurant auf höchstem Niveau

Im eigenen, biodynamischen Schloss- und ProSpecieRara-Sortengarten werden auf 2500 m2 Kräuter, Gemüse, Beeren und Blumen angebaut. «Bio» ist für uns nicht irgendein Zertifikat, sondern sinnvoller Genuss aus der Natur. Dazwischen Kaffee mit hausgemachten Kuchen, selbstgemachten Glacé und Sorbet, sowie ausgesuchte Bio-Tees. Ein Highlight unseres Bio-Restaurants ist die einladende Gartenterrasse mit stimmungsvollem Blick auf unseren Englischen Park und den Bodensee.

Region

1 | 3

Region

Bei Erholungssuchenden ist unser Bio-Hotel ebenso beliebt wie beispielsweise bei Velofahrern. Denn Schloss Wartegg ist ein Radweg-Hotel. Durch die unmittelbare Nähe zum Bodensee ist das Schloss Wartegg auch ideal für Badeferien. Ob Kulturgenuss, Schiffsausflüge auf dem Bodensee, Schwimmen und Baden in der Bucht «Hörnlibuck», Velotouren, gemütliche Wanderungen oder sportliche Bergtouren oder einfach nur Ruhe und Erholung – das Schlosshotel Wartegg bietet die besten Voraussetzungen.

Kontakt & Anreise

Online Booking
 
2 Erwachsene
1 Erwachsene

Kontakt

Schloss Wartegg
Von Blarer Weg 1, 9404 Rorschacherberg (SG)

+41 71 858 62 62
schloss@wartegg.ch
www.wartegg.ch

Anreise

Auto

  • Autobahn A1
    (St.Gallen / St.Margrethen)
  • Ausfahrt Rheineck
    Richtung Rorschach. Ortstafel Staad. Kreisel Flugplatz Altenrhein – geradeaus bis Ortsende Staad. 5 Min. ab Kreisel Flugplatz Altenrhein.
  • Rorschacherberg
    (den braunen Wegweisern «Schloss Wartegg» folgen)

Parkplätze stehen ausreichend kostenlos zur Verfügung.
E-Tankstelle mit 100% Ökostrom naturemade star! (kostenpflichtig).


Zug

Halbstündlich ab Zürich (1 Std. 40 Min.) und stündlich ab Chur (umsteigen in St.Gallen oder St.Margrethen). Fussweg ab Bahnhof Staad (5 Minuten) oder Taxi Bahnhof Rorschach.

Rorschach – Heiden-Bahn:
Station Sandbüchel (10 Gehmin.)

Regionale Busverbindungen:
Haltestelle Rorschacherberg-Wilen oder Haltestelle Staad-Schönenbach

Auszeichnungen & Mitgliedschaften

award-gault-millau-gold
13 Punkte
award-guide-michelin-gold
Grüner Stern
Gutschein

Den Gutschein erhalten Sie direkt als PDF und können diesen sofort ausdrucken.

Gutschein bestellen
Newsletter

Wir informieren Sie regelmässig über die Angebote der Swiss Historic Hotels.

Jetzt abonnieren
Social Media

Teilen Sie Ihre schönsten Momente mit #swisshistorichotels und inspirieren Sie andere.

Zur Social Wall