Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol

  • Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol, Sta. Maria/Val Müstair
    Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol
  • Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol, Sta. Maria/Val Müstair
    Bar Marco Polo
  • Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol, Sta. Maria/Val Müstair
    Reception
  • Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol, Sta. Maria/Val Müstair
    Rittersaal
  • Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol, Sta. Maria/Val Müstair
    Stueva
  • Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol, Sta. Maria/Val Müstair
    Verdi Spiegel
  • Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol, Sta. Maria/Val Müstair
    Weinkeller
  • Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol, Sta. Maria/Val Müstair
    Zimmer
  • Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol, Sta. Maria/Val Müstair
    Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol
  • Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol, Sta. Maria/Val Müstair
    Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol
Book online
Map

Stop off at the manor house whether traveling with or without a specific destination in mind.

The former Propstei of the Benedictine abbey St. Johann in Müstair with the 1199 attached hospice and the former seat of the Count de Capol form today‘s hotel "Chasa de Capol", an Etape Gourmande with a very hospitable atmosphere. The 10 individually designed and designated rooms can best be described by the quotation of the actress Barbara Scheel "Each room is a story room". Albert Hoffmann, the inventor of LSD, noted in the guest book: "Here you experience magic moments without having to eat hallucinogenic mushrooms beforehand."

Geschichte Ritterhaus Chasa de Capol

History since 1651

Today’s hotel, the Chasa de Capol, was first documented as a hospice with a refectory and private chapel in 1199. For several centuries it was the residence of the Venetian Polo family, who were made counts by Emperor Frederick III in 1481. For a long time, the power base of the Polos (Cà Polo, Capol) lay in their position as representatives of the various lords of the lands (Repubblica Veneta, Prince Bishopric of Chur, House of Habsburg), and they also acted as the administrators (secular provosts) of the nearby Benedictine Convent of St. John in Müstair. Augustine monks ran a hospice in the eastern tract, while the farm operations were located in the northern tract. During an extensive expansion in 1677, several rooms which still exist were added in Arolla pine. After a fire in the village in 1774, the roof of the building was redesigned. In 1838, the de Capol family of counts died out. The building increasingly fell into ruin and was only temporarily patched up. In 1954, the current owners purchased the property, initiating a new era in the life of the former manor with its medieval roots. Skillful renovations and careful additions created the current hotel which has its own theater including an orchestra pit. The preserved Carolingian cellar vault and window recesses, the great hall with Early Gothic window frames, the 1651 Capol-Imeldi family alliance coat of arms and numerous Arolla-pine-paneled rooms and tiled stoves deserve special mention. The 500-year old former hospice kitchen and the private chapel with its medieval ribbed vault are unique. The local dishes cooked by the owners in copper pans in the old kitchen are among the highlights of this historic hotel. The Chasa de Capol has been a member of Swiss Historic Hotels since 2006. (RF)

Ramun & Elvira Schweizer
  • Host
  • Ramun & Elvira Schweizer
  • Hotel type
  • Manor house - stop off and stay awhile
  • Hotel facilities
  • 9 rooms, restaurant, garden restaurant & hotel park, bar, wine cellar, in-house theater
  • Hotel classification
  • Price range
  • CHF 100–200 / EUR 96–192
  • Open
  • all year
View all Hotels